We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Killarney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem in Killarney”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spacious rooms, great views, heart-warming breakfast and lovely staff. We were sad tl leave Doolin andvthe rolling countryside until we were shown our room at Loc Lein. Only wish we could stay longer. If we come back to Ireland, we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zee576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    41
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
232
504
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After a long day of driving and sightseeing it was so refreshing to arrive here. Check in by Annette was so carefree and welcoming. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Nothing is a problem for Paul and Annette and their breakfast and evening meals are a delight. Two other staff members should be mentioned as well for their caring service. Patrick and Gerard. Overall we found this place to be absolutely delightful and congratulate and thank Paul and Annette for the manner in which they looked after us during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutho57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My Mom and I are just finishing up a 3 week trip to Ireland and I can honestly say this was the nicest place we stayed. Paul and Annette have created the most perfect haven. The property sits in a very tranquil setting overlooking the beautiful lake. Rooms were spacious and spotless, afternoon tea was always available by gracious Gerard, after a long day of sightseeing and the breakfast was great. (Sorry we missed the dinner) Killarney was a stones throw away and the Gap of Dunloe just around the corner! The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the right side of the building for the best views but could be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful property and location. Hosts were amazing and always available and eager to help with everything from getting you a drink, helping with the luggage or providing recommendations. Views of lake, islands and mountains were stunning. Great dinner but we didn't stay to check out breakfast as we slept in. Even though we were past the breakfast time however they still offered us breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry147257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place was wonderful, a decent sized and beautifully presented room. The Hotel itself is in an inspiring setting near the lake. The staff were wonderful and helpful. My husband was ill when we arrived and we needed to find a doctor. All arranged in a couple of minutes - so helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights we were there and the food was also wonderful and well presented. Breakfasts also great. Very reasonably priced for the quality I thought. Would recommend this to anyone for a base while exploring Killarney, Dingle Peninsula and the Rink of Kerry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our family of 14 descended on Annette and Paul our first night in Ireland. After exploring our way from Shannon to Killarney, we just wanted to relax. Girard was amazing as he helped us at their very quaint bar which we could relax at before we had their delicious dinner that night. (do not skip dessert!) It was great to walk to the lake and enjoy the beautiful scenery. We even had a rainbow! We stayed for 2 nights and I wished we could have stayed more! Do not miss breakfast. The food was delicious and they have take away cups for coffee. Annette, Paul and Girard were awesome. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: A view of the lake or a view of the sheep pasture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

A great experience here. Not too expensive, a beautiful view of the lake and a really great breakfast. The thing that sets this hotel apart however is the hospitality of all the staff. Very pleasant stay and highly recommended. A good base for exploring Killarney, Kerry Dingle areas.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank weliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,201 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Property: Loch Lein Country House
Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing