We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lein Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I have just spent 5 wonderful nights here. We ended up here because of a mix up with our original accommodations. Our disappointment with our original plans disappeared as soon as we pulled into the driveway. The hotel is situated on a quiet court overlooking a large lake. From the moment you checked in the atmosphere was surreal. Our bags were delivered to our beautiful room overlooking the surrounding pastures. While we unpacked, a pot of French pressed coffee was delivered to our room. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. Although it may be classified as a hotel, it has the ambiance of a cosy lodge. There are only about 20 rooms and they have a quaint bar and sitting area where you can enjoy a drink prior to dinner. (The prices are very reasonable). Your stay also includes breakfast each morning both cereal/fruit buffet as well as being able to order hot food from the menu. You can enjoy bacon & eggs, the Traditional Irish plate (you better be hungry ) or treat yourself to waffles with warm maple syrup or go all out with the scrambled eggs wrapped in smoke salmon! Our hosts were terrific, they went out of their way to make sure they new all of their guests. It didn't take long before they knew your preferences for coffee/tea etc and they would be waiting for you at you table. We ate dinner twice and we're not disappointed. The plates prepared by the chef were outstanding. With out a doubt this is one of the best travelling experiences I have had. Be like us do your homework, but you will be hard pressed tho find a more elegant experience than what our hosts gave us!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

this hotel is just outside of the touristy killarney. the staff was extremely helpful when we were deciding which routes to take to get to the Dingle and the Ring of Kerry , the room was large and very clean, and the view of the lake was just beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendann20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We used a travel agent for this trip, and this was selected for us. I looked it up on TA and it sounded too good to be true. Here I sit writing this review, in the Loch Lein Country House on our second of two nights, telling you it is really that good. Family owned and operated "mini hotel" with a BnB feel, overlooking a beautiful lake. The owners and family members check you in. They serve your breakfast (delicious). They serve you dinner if you opt for it (OPT for it!!!). I walked into my hotel room and felt I was the first person getting to use this room. The bathroom was spotless and gorgeous. The room was beautiful and large with bay windows. Everything so clean. Staff so professional, attentive, and friendly, with one goal, to serve and make the stay uniquely special. Mission accomplished, I say. I'm not much of a betting man, but if I was, I would bet a bunch of money that this will be the accommodation we give the highest marks to. It is by far the best so far, and, we have three pretty special accommodations scheduled over our final 4 days in Ireland.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Okieken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I recently stayed at the spacious yet compact Loch Lein Country house. The hotel is a hiden gem in killarneys beautiful countryside. It is a credit to Annette and Paul to how they keep it running to such a high level. The one thing I will notch them down on is the manner to which one of their staff members treated me throughout my stay which was just a little common to a hotel of this class. Overall I did enjoy my stay and would recommend it to associates.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary2Swanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Loch Lein for one night during our summer holiday in Ireland. The hotel is tucked away from the main road but easy to locate and a just short jaunt into Kilarney. Loch Lein is a lovely hotel with a very personalised feel and welcome from the owners and staff. The owners, Paul & Annette are very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and provided some great ideas for trips out in the local area. The rooms are large and comfortable and the lake view rooms are spectacular. It was lovely to sit in the room and look out of the huge window onto the beautiful calm lake vista. The food was superb ~ great steaks and delicious desserts.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a Lakeside view room - you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JimoHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spacious rooms, great views, heart-warming breakfast and lovely staff. We were sad tl leave Doolin andvthe rolling countryside until we were shown our room at Loc Lein. Only wish we could stay longer. If we come back to Ireland, we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zee576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After a long day of driving and sightseeing it was so refreshing to arrive here. Check in by Annette was so carefree and welcoming. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Nothing is a problem for Paul and Annette and their breakfast and evening meals are a delight. Two other staff members should be mentioned as well for their caring service. Patrick and Gerard. Overall we found this place to be absolutely delightful and congratulate and thank Paul and Annette for the manner in which they looked after us during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sutho57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
3.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,460 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,312 reviews
5.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lein Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lein Country House

Address: Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fossa
Price Range: £123 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Lein Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Loch Lein Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lein Country House Hotel Killarney
Loch Lein Country Hotel
Loch Lein Country Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing