We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been more helpful!”
Review of Douglasha House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Douglasha House
Ranked #1 of 4 Fossa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could not have been more helpful!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

6 of us stayed with Joan, with 5 loads of washing to do. Not only did Joan put 2 of us into an apartment so we had access to a washing machine, but she also hung out a load for us, and got it in when rain threatened. Then my son turned up unexpectedly, whom we hadn't seen in months,& Joan wouldn't charge us for his bed. A well set out, very clean b&b with the biggest Irish breakfast. Thank you Joan!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
29
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed for three days, originally planned for one. Joan (the manager and cook) went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Great breakfast, literally anything we wanted. Perfect location for all that Kerry has to offer. Very comfortable room and bed. We would stay here again if we ever get back to Ireland

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicknReba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Some friends and I spent the weekend traveling through Ireland. We had driven from the Cliffs of Moher that afternoon (quite the haul down to Killarney) and didn't arrive until after 10 PM. Joan had stayed up, and we had the entire house to ourselves. She was a wonderful hostess and asked when we would like to have breakfast, and offered us coffee and tea on arrival. The next morning she prepared a lovely breakfast and provided us with meals and advice on how to spend our day. As with most people in Ireland, her English was perfect. The room was clean and super comfortable. Why stay in a hotel when you can stay for less money in someone's beautiful home?? It's right off "Ring of Kerry" road too! If and when I return to this part of Ireland, I'll definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Most important: i would go back!

This B&B is a joy to discover. In a large house, nicely redone, about 4 miles outside Killarney town. Look out the window and see fields of sheep on green grass, hills covered with heather in the distance, and (in winter at least!) snow covered peaks.

If you're a walker, the area is a joy to discover. If you like the idea of a nice dinner and music in Killarney, but don't want the crowds and noise, this is a best bet!

The parking is plentiful (not like IN Killarney!), the bed and shower were wonderful, and the breakfast was outstanding. Full Irish, cereals including a nice granola, breads, cheese, fruit.

The owners are friendly and welcoming.

I travel in Ireland and England a great deal and one more suggestion to you, dear reader: book your B&B directly through the phone to the place. 1) it's helpful for them to not have to pay the booking fee and 2) ex ped ia and others have caused massive problems for me with bookings dropped and canceled, with Ex specifically "showing us" that WE had canceled bookings when we had not.

Call this nice couple and stay at their B&B - you'll enjoy the R&R.

Vagabond Sue - Today in Ireland.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabond-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I had the most wonderful experience staying here. Joan was a wonderful and helpful hostess. She had all the information on the area and had some great suggestions. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The breakfast was AMAZING!!! Thank you, Joan!! If and when I go back to Killarney, I will try to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Had been with Joan in Douglasha last year, and on coming back to Killarney this year we definitely didn't want to go anywhere else. Joan is such a warm and friendly host, and just can't do enough for you. She is happy to provide you with any information you need about places to go, or places to eat, and seeks to ensure you just feel at home. Tea and coffee facilities are in the room which was great, along with milk in a mini-fridge, and Joan even provided a few biscuits too! Breakfast was delicious, and Joan's a great cook. Staying at Douglasha is definitely an experience you wouldn't want to miss out on!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

There's nothing bad to say about this place. The lady owner was extremely helpful with all information you might need! Rooms are clean/beds very comfortable and breakfast was nice and kept us going on the tour of Kerry.
So it's a definite YES to stay just off the man "ring of Kerry road"

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uti10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
0.7 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
2.9 mi away
Killarney Peaks
Killarney Peaks
#57 of 140 in Killarney
91 reviews
3.3 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#13 of 140 in Killarney
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#7 of 47 in Killarney
329 reviews
5.4 mi away
Farmstead Lodge B&B
Farmstead Lodge B&B
#79 of 140 in Killarney
19 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kathleens Country House
Kathleens Country House
#21 of 140 in Killarney
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglasha House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglasha House

Property: Douglasha House
Address: Dromin | Fossa, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglasha House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doughlasha Hs is a family run Bed and Breakfast 10 min drive from killarney town center.We have 7 ensuite rooms and a 1 bed Appartment.There is a mini kitchen and dining room with all utensils and a barbacue and outdoor seating for guest use.Each room come equipted with Tea Making Facilities,Saterlite Tv,Mini Fridges and information on the surrounding areas.There is free wifi also.There is a large parking area free of charge.There is a free shuttle transport from kerry airport for bookings more than 2 nights.Collection is also available from bus/train station.Tours can be arranged to RING OF KERRY,DINGLE or GAP OF DUNLOE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Douglasha House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing