We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home...no better than home!”
Review of Dunloe View Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunloe View Hostel
Fukuoka, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just like home...no better than home!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Warm hospitality, comfy beds, crisp sheets, steaming hot showers, fresh eggs, homemade bread, interesting conversation, excellent facilities, garden with picnic tables...what more could you want? Loved my time here, just wish it was longer. Quite popular so I wasn't able to extend a second or third night. Plan ahead and book enough nights.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We would have loved for you to have stayed longer with us but unfortunately we were booked up.
Thanks you for all the kind comments about our hostel.
We try to always give our best to our visitors to our area and glad you felt it.

John Moriarty
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
47
36
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Here are three words that can describe the dunloe view hostel. ‘SUPERIOUR’ ‘EXCEPTIONAL’ & ‘OUTSTANDING’. These types of words can only ever follow after asking about The Dunloe View Hostel. I have stayed in other hostels, but they were never up to the excellent standard in every way to The Dunloe View Hostel. The manager John was extremely welcoming & would help you in any way possible. It was very comfortable, extremely clean, spacious, & so relaxing. I can definitely say that the next time I am in Killarney I will be staying at The Dunloe Hostel without a shadow of a doubt! No matter where I will stay, I can never see it living up to The Dunloe View Hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli-Harr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for the review and we are very pleased you loved the hostel so much.
As this is our home we only think it is right to give all our guests a warm welcome and do out best to accommodate them.
We might not have all the facilities of some accommodation but we feel like once we help our guests while they are on holidays they appreciate this and I am glad you did.
Until next time.

John Moriarty
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We loved this hostel. Not too far from Killarney town centre. John welcomed us straight in and showed us around the lovely farm home. Our room was very comfortable and warm, hot showers, very quiet. The fireplace in the lounge was great to come back to after a day exploring Killarney. The big home kitchen was a great facility and very useful with all the essential utensils/appliances. Very clean and spacious place. John's advice about things to do in the area, restaurants, pubs, live music, supermarkets etc was very handy. There was a small farm out the back complete with chickens, rabbit, goat and a veggie garden. We were provided with fresh eggs to cook for breakfast every morning which was a delight. We spent two nights here and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyFreeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
While we are 8km from the centre of Killarney there are many positives to staying in the country.
Everyone loves the fire which we put on during winter evenings and we are glad you enjoyed it as well.
We love cooking here so the big home style kitchen is a must and all our guests really enjoy it.
We are always sad to see out guests leave but you must leave to return some day.
Until next time

John Moriarty
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Staying at the Dunloe View Hostel was a great experience. Hospitality by the owner and his family was unmatched during my time in Ireland and Europe. John went out of his way to help me during my stay, with good suggestions for things to do, providing breakfast and fresh eggs from his chickens each day, and even gave me a lift to a planned hike. Although located a little ways from Killarney, the hostel is an awesome place to stay and is highly recommended. The room and living area were always kept clean. The kitchen contained everything needed to cook at the hostel with abundant counter and cooking space, and did not feel cramped when many people were using it. The living room has a fireplace to use as well as a television and movies. Laundry was available too at a good price. If you are traveling to Killarney, stay at this hostel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjflo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hostel and staying with us.
We like to keep things clean and we do out best with all our rooms to keep the standard high.
Our movie collection is very much loved by our guests and offers a selection if you want to relax in the sitting room.
Hope to see you in the future back at Dunloe View.

John Moriarty
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in Dunloe view hostel in an en-suite twin room. It was very nice, very clean and comfortable. John is such a friendly host, he helps out with very good information and service what to see and do in the area. We can really recommend staying with John in his "homestyle" hostel. We simply had a good time there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sca2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thanks for the review and for booking with us.

Your description of our hostel as homestyle is exactly what we want our hostel to be and really appreciate your comments and recommendation of the hostel to others.

Hope to welcome you back with us again in the future.

John Moriarty
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Deutschland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is really the best hostel I have ever stayed. The owner, John, is such a friendly and open-minded young man and helped us a lot when we asked him where to go and what to see in and around Killarney! All parts of the hostel are very clean and just lovely. There's a great living room with a cozy fire place, a big kitchen and a very nice dining room. All the rooms, also the bedrooms and bathrooms are nice and clean. The breakfast is also very special: they serve eggs from their own chickens :) The garden of the hostel is beautiful and the area around it is fascinating. I really love this hostel and would go back there anytime. Highly recommendable!!
Thanks, John, for the great time we had!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_Erinn1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments in regards our hostel.

We always like to give our guests as much information as possible in what to see in our beautiful area of Killarney.

The fresh eggs from our chickens are very much appreciated by our guests and we are glad you also enjoyed these.

Hope to have you back in the future.

John ( Manager at Dunloe View Hostel )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

John the owner deserves all the praise he gets for his place. He provides a warm, cosy, fun, friendly hostel experience from his own house. If you're looking for a party place then this is not the location but if it's a home away from home, you've come to the right place.

You need a car to access this properly since it's a few kilometres outside the town itself but it is well worth it. Situated on a cute little farm including chickens and a goat. It's very clean, with the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on in a hostel. Everything you need is included such as breakfast (farm fresh), excellent Wi-Fi, car parking, towels, linen etc. A log fire is kept up in the living room at all times which adds to the charm.

John provides excellent advice and tips on things to do around the area and he'll happily book things for you if you like. If you feel like staying in, the house is perfect for watching a movie (by the log fire) or just relaxing in the garden. The large dining room really allows hostel guests to mix and share dinners which is great for meeting people.

If you're in Killarney, this is the place to be. Good luck getting a booking in the peak season because I think this place is going to be a hot commodity to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for the review of our hostel.

It was great you enjoyed the warm, cosy, fun, friendly hostel experience we try to provide all our guests.

While most of our guests do have a car which we would recommend there is also a public bus that passes the hostel 3 times a day.

We are small and for especially the busy months of June July and August it is good to book in advance.

Until next time

John ( Manager at Dunloe View Hostel )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
2.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.1 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
41 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunloe View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunloe View Hostel

Property: Dunloe View Hostel
Address: Gortacollopa, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunloe View Hostel is a newly refurbished hostel 7 km from Killarney town. We are situated in a farmland setting with stunning views of the McGillyCuddy Reeks. Onsite we have chickens, pigs, goats and a vegetable garden which provides the hostel with fresh produce, available for purchase to our guests. The hostel is owned and managed by the Moriarty family, who have many years of experience in catering for tourists. The family atmosphere and personal attention will ensure that your stay at Dunloe View Hostel is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dunloe View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing