We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation solution for our familly with 3 children under 10YO”
Review of Dunloe View Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunloe View Hostel
Toufflers, France
1 review
“Excellent accomodation solution for our familly with 3 children under 10YO”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent a very good time at this hostel. John and his father are very nice and welcoming people.
We and our children felt as good as at home with in addition, the pleasure to discover friendly travellers, benefit of enjoyable farm animals in a marvellous environnement near Killarney...I hope that we will have the opportunity to come back for a longer period.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaetan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
47
36
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lovely hostel in a absolutely surreal location.. So perfect for cycling the Gap of Dunloe & exploring Killarney National Park & beautiful surrounding areas. The owner, John, was so helpful and generous, really made our stay special! The rooms were spotless, comfortable & warm. The kitchen and common area were very spacious and well stocked with cooking facilities & games.
I loved everything about Dunloe View Hostel, I will definitely be back to stay again!
Thank you John!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kreuztal, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hostel is very cosy and clean with a very friendly host. The breakfast had not a huge choice but it was o.k.
Our room was a bit clammy, this was not so good. But we liked the stay in this hostel very much and we would like to come back.

Room Tip: Room on the left side was a bit clammy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you very much for the review and for staying with us.

Thank you for the very good rating and your comments in regards the cleanliness and friendliness of the hostel.

We do appreciate any feedback people have and take it on board.

In regards the selection at breakfast for a hostel and for the price we do feel it is a good variety.

We make our own home-made bread and marmalade which is available as well as eggs from our chickens. There is also weetabix, cornflakes, toast, jam, tea and filtered coffee available.

Thank you for the feedback in regards the clamminess of the bed room. It is the first time someone has mentioned this to us so we will look into this.

Would be great to have you and your family return to us.

Regards

John

(Hostel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Staying at the Dunloe View Hostel is like finding a second home. We were greeted very friendly by the owner who showed us around. The hostel is located a bit outside of Killarney with view over the mountains of the national park and has a very nice outside area including chicken, the cutest goat of Ireland and a rabbit. In the morning we had free breakfast with homemade bread and eggs right from outside the door! The rooms are very cosy and offer enough space for all the stuff you carry around and also each bed has a seperate light. Also you can find a very nice lounge which reminded us of the living room at home with a fire place, TV and a big DVD collection.

The hostelowner is always very helpful and also likes to spend time with his quests. He gives very good tips what to do in Killarney and in the whole area in general and always makes sure everyone is okay.

Though it is not directly in the city, we can totally recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for the glowing review you have given us.

It was great to have you stay and glad you enjoyed it so much.

Thanks also for the photos you took and uploaded as it is always good for guests to have a look at what the hostel looks from a travellers point of view.

Would be great to have you return in the future.

Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hostel was easy to find, with parking outside, the room and facilities were absolutely fine. we found the beds comfortable and the breakfast was adequate (not a huge choice). The best thing was the advice & information freely given by our host John, he was very welcoming and friendly. The 7 day weather forecast on a chalkboard in the hall was also a useful addition. It's a very good location to explore from, we visited the Gap of Dunloe, Muckross House & Falls & the Dingle Peninsular.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for the review of our hostel and your kind comments.

We appreciate your feedback in regards the breakfast but with a hostel compared to a bed and breakfast this would usually be an added bonus and we do feel our breakfast gives quite a good choice.

For breakfast we have corn flakes, weetabix, toast, home-made bread,white bread, home-made marmalade and jam as well as eggs from our chickens.

We also have free tea and coffee which can be used throughout someones stay.

It is great you enjoyed our chalkboard with our 7 day forecast and our location to be able to see some great locations such as Gap of Dunloe , Muckross and Dingle Peninsula

Until next time

John ( Manager at Dunloe View Hostel )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

- Top hostel, not too big and very cosy. Great value for money.
- real blankets!!! :-)
- very functional kitchen and great spread for breakfast options
- amazing owner who is well traveled and knows how a hostel should be run, takes no shortcuts and incredibly friendly and helpful
- room was a bit cold due to some temporary timing issues with the thermostat, but owner happily gave us a heater to use.
- location is close to Killarney, perfect as it sits on the ring of Kerry. Close to the gap of dunloe, my favourite spot in the region.
- you would really need a car to get there, but there are some buses that connect it from killarney.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realtuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for staying and reviewing us.

It is great that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I do apologise for the issue with the heating on your stay. As you have written we quickly rectified the issue and also gave you a second heater. We installed new thermostats for energy saving and unfortunately the timer didnt work on this occasion.

You are right in your comments on our location being close to the beautiful Gap of Dunloe which we advise all our guests to have a look at and walk as well through it.

The majority of our guests would have cars but there is also the option of public bus which passes the hostel 4 times a day.

Hope to see you in the future.

Regards

John Moriarty
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Really nice hostel to stay in!
It is located 15 minutes from Killarney. The bus driver dropped us of right at the hostel.
The hostel is clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped.
There is a cosy living room, with a fireplace and a large amount of DVDs.
You can rent bikes.
The breakfast was really nice, with fresh bread and eggs from their own chicken.
The host and his father were really friendly. They made us feel very welcomed.
I would definitely recommend this hostel for staying in Killarney!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Manager at Dunloe View Hostel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your great review and for choosing to stay with us.

We have some very friendly bus drivers who will drop you outside the hostel once asked by our guests.

The hostel was our family home so we always like to make people feel welcome and the fire in our sitting room is really appreciated on a cold night in winter.

Thank you for the recommendation and hope to have you back in Ireland in the future.

Regards

John Moriarty
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fossa
2.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,169 reviews
2.1 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
33 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,200 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunloe View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunloe View Hostel

Property: Dunloe View Hostel
Address: Gortacollopa, Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Fossa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Fossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunloe View Hostel is a newly refurbished hostel 7 km from Killarney town. We are situated in a farmland setting with stunning views of the McGillyCuddy Reeks. Onsite we have chickens, pigs, goats and a vegetable garden which provides the hostel with fresh produce, available for purchase to our guests. The hostel is owned and managed by the Moriarty family, who have many years of experience in catering for tourists. The family atmosphere and personal attention will ensure that your stay at Dunloe View Hostel is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Dunloe View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing