We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahitahi Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Mount Cook View Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
US$117
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
90
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbruce bayfox glacierwhitebaitother guestswonderful hostsnew zealandgreat cookhome cookedmount cookcatfishdelicious dinnersouth islandone nightwished we could have stayed longerwarm hospitalityfranz josef glacierthree rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2008

We stayed one night with Jackie and John as part of a three week trip round New Zealand. We stayed in the family apartment which was extremely comfortable, clean and had everything you could need.

Jackie and John gave us a great welcome and joined us for dinner which was delicious, great to eat a home cooked meal with vegetables grown in the garden.

Breakfast was also a treat - particularly John's homemade hash browns!

Before we left John took us for a walk along the beach and shared his local knowledge with us - something you wouldn't get in a guidebook!

We only wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We have been to many B&Bs, hotels, motels, lodges and farm stays in New Zealand on our two trips each of a month. We really enjoyed our stay at the Mahitahi Lodge. Jackie and John are warm, welcoming, down to earth people with a beautiful home to share in a wonderful tucked away part of the country. The dinner was superb, followed by a lovely breakfast. Much of the food was grown at home, and all cooked at home and it was very much more flavoursome for it. Even a washing machine was available. We do hope we can return.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mjtlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2007

Excellent property without fault. Food-superb (tasted home caught whitebait, beautiful lamb etc etc). Wine and beer all top end; and company genuine yet engaging. Accomodation spotless, atmosphere relaxed-we will return! Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SusieLigar_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2007

We wanted good quality accommodation near to Fox Glacier and we are so glad we found Mahitahi Lodge at Bruce Bay. John and Jacqui have built an exceptional property adjacent to the sweeping empty sand of the bay. The guest rooms are modern and comfortable, there's even underfloor heating in the bathroom. Over dinner you can swap tales with other guests and find out more about Bruce Bay, population 6 and its annual bash in the Hall. John freely gave us local knowledge that our guide book didn't have. Dinner, with many ingredients from the lovingly tended garden, was a leisurely affair accompanied by wine of your choice. Pudding was home made of course and divine. This is all included in the price. Jacqui checked our food likes and dislikes in advance and John went out collecting mussels to our immense delight. We left after 2 nights thinking we really must go back.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yordas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilo43, Owner at Mahitahi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews