We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a party place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hekerua Lodge Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hekerua Lodge Backpackers
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitely a party place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Nice bush setting. Managers don't live on site so be warned, the party goes all night. Room was hot with only a little window for ventilation. Room was above kitchen so was very noisy at all hours.Only one sink in kitchen which is difficult.

Room Tip: Not suitable for families.Pitch a tent if you are able to as this area is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    33
    18
    9
    13
See reviews for
5
17
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

On the idyllic island of Waiheke, this hostel is set in thick bush on walking trails. Despite its location, the hostel is served pretty well by bus routes and the nearest beach and shop is just 5-10 mins walk away, with the 'town' a further 5 minutes up the road.

Be warned though, if like me you are into pub culture you're going to be disappointed by Oneroa, as it doesn't have one. If you're desperate to get to the pub, I recommend Charlie Farley's on Onetangi Beach.

Otherwise, pop down to nearby Oneroa Beach, grab a pizza from Dragonfired and a 6-pack from the shop and take them back to the hostel.

Have read a few negative comments on here about the staff and management, but the lady I dealt with was really nice, friendly and helpful.

OK, that's the good stuff, now for the not so good. As the hostel is set in such deep woods, it's obviously harder to keep clean. Some of the shared facilities were a little grimy (though I've seen worse).

But the worst part was that on occasion, there was a disgusting stench coming from one area of the grounds which is presumably the cesspit. On one morning the smell permeated into our dorm and it was truly gross.

There's a campsite as part of the hostel with a lot of long-term residents working or seeking work, so socially the hostel is rather cliquey.

Oh, they have a pool & hot tub, though I never used them. On a warm day I'd rather get out on the walking trails and investigate this stunning island.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here with my partner after new years and booked the double room. I originally wanted the ensuite room but it was taken =( The room was alot smaller than I thought, with a double bed and two small side tables and nothing else. It was pretty hot through the whole day and evening in there so you'd need to crank open the little window. The one thing I didn't see on the reviews (which would've strongly swayed my decision on staying here) is the rooster that will crow at 5am every day for a few hours and wake you. That sucks. Other than that, pretty cool place with large outdoor area with BBQ, awesome pool, deck, and spa. The long-term guests at that time were friendly as well (thank god). The owner seemed nice.

Room Tip: I don't think there's much more in the ensuite room, so perhaps go with a double instead. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallaig, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I came to Hekerua Lodge whilst travelling with two friends, initially planning on staying just one week...I've now been here for over a month.

When you are checked in at the lodge by the wonderful, welcoming office team, they ask you if you know that you are now in paradise? And paradise is the only word.

Surrounded by the native bush which allows you not only privacy, but a view of New Zealand's diverse wildlife. See if you can spot a tui whilst enjoying a BBQ in the campground or out on one of the decks.

Not to be overlooked is the beautiful fresh water pool and spa where you can relax after a long day's walking, beaching or just enjoying life int he lodge.

The lodge is excellently situated; only a short distance from the beach and very close to transport links if you want to go exploring the Island.

The lodge's facilities are excellent and the whole place is very well maintained and clean. The staff are always on hand to help you out. Give advice or just have a chat!

You are really encouraged to sit around one of the big tables and get to know the people you are living with, whether they are just spending a night or are a "long termer".

If you come to Waiheke, you have to come to Hekerua Lodge!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WWWWWZWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My rating is based on the horrific customer service I encountered at Hekerua Lodge. I am entirely forgiving of things like dirty floors and messy common areas, but I cannot abide rudeness. There are rules plastered everywhere which you must abide or apparently the management regime will kick you out. I personally dislike reading threats when I'm making my breakfast. It really ruins the vibe. Also, I know this is a business but being hounded for money by three staff is just vulgar.

Having said all of that, if you don't care about being treated like scum, then this might be the budget option for you. The rooms are brightly lit and super clean and the verandah/bbq area is very nice.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Miro room upstairs. I was kept awake all night by doors slamming when people went in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiggy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I've just called them to ask about accomodation. The response was I was interrupted by them hanging up on me, because I only wanted to stay for one night. No really. It's not so hard to be polite. Or is it?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The rooms and common areas are beautifully clean with everything you need regarding kitchen appliances and utensils. The hostel is set in lovely native bush surroundings and has a great swimming pool/spa/barbeque area. These are the positives. Unfortunately, the night we stayed, the guy who ran the place was incredibly unprofessional. He turned up extremely intoxicated and proceeded to hassle the group that was staying there. He really needs to look at his management style. I'm all for people joining the party but if they're going to sleaze up to the girls and get aggressive it is not appreciated - especially if you're running the joint!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneroa
1.3 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.3 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hekerua Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hekerua Lodge Backpackers

Property: Hekerua Lodge Backpackers
Address: 11 Hekerua Road, Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island > Oneroa
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Oneroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small social backpackers on the magical Waiheke Island, the island of sun, wine and fun! Only 35min from downtown Auckland. Waiheke is so close, yet so far removed from the rat race of Auckland City - come and see why Waiheke was voted one of the worlds top island destinations in the world by many travel magazines. The Hekerua Lodge Backpackers is centrally located secluded on an acre of stunning New Zealand native bush, only 5 minutes walk form Little Oneroa Beach and another 10 to the shops We cater specially for the international youth travel market, a place to meet new people, laugh and dance in paradise, so if you wish to socialize and have fun then the Hekerua Lodge Backpackers is the place for you!! We offer a chilled spot to get away from it all and immerse yourself in island and backpacker life. We have no TV so relax on any of our sun decks, take a dip in our rock pool or just wash it all away in our spa pool. Get involved with all our fun activities in the camp-ground including volleyball, cricket, beersbie and yoga! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hekerua Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing