We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would have scored more highly but for the price”
Review of The Oyster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oyster Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Oneroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It would have scored more highly but for the price”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were recently guests at the Oyster Inn, staying three nights. The Inn is very conveniently located and the room we stayed in was tastefully decorated, comfortable and well-provisioned with all the essentials. The owners are very obliging and charming folk and the staff very well-intentioned, although sometimes a little lacking in follow-through/attention to detail. There were a few things that irked. First, the lack of staff follow-through on some requests; we were promised that certain things would be done and then they weren't requiring prompting from us, minor things, but nevertheless a bit annoying. Second, the website does not disclose that the rooms are on the south side of the building, having no views over Oneroa. We felt a little disappointed that our expectations in this regard were not met and this could have been avoided has this been clearer. Third, the restaurant kitchen is right next to the room we stayed in. This was not a problem until around 10.30pm when it seemed the practice was for the door off the kitchen dish washing area, which door opens onto a verandah right next to the windows of our room's bathroom, to be flung open thereby ensuring we heard every clang and bang as dishes were done, rubbish taken out and conversations held on the verandah. The noise only lasted an hour or so but it did prevent sleep and given the premium price being paid ($NZ450 per might), it did seem a little much. Fourth, despite the terms and conditions document we were issued with at the time of booking saying the balance was to be paid on departure, the Inn debited our credit card with the full amount seven days before we arrived. Paying in full for accommodation we were yet to enjoy was a little troubling given the terms of the 'contract' we agreed to on booking. If the Inn wants payment in advance, it should simply say so and consumers can make the choice. We were not given that courtesy but told something else. Finally, the price is, to be very frank, not good value for money. It is over-priced by around 30-40% in our view and while we enjoyed our stay, despite the above niggles, we won't be returning and this is really about price. It is also the main reason for the 'average' rating given overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

It is in the heart of MY home town, within walking distance from my home, and it is always a pleasure to pop in to the inn! They mix a fabulous negroni and the service and food is superb! If you happen to be on Waiheke Island you should visit The OYSTER INN.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAZZA1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in room 3, the smallest of the three. The room had amazing amounts of controllable natural light and a sensational range of Aesop amenities, we didn't want to leave. Clearly no expense had been spared in the build with all the mod cons. Perry and his team were the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse_YOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The most wonderfully crafted boutique inn. Delightful and charming decor, excellent food, ideal location and exemplary service. 6 members of our family stayed for 2 nights in July 2013 in the wonderfully decorated rooms and found a true home from home for every one of us. Despite ranging from 5 months to a more senior age, we were all looked after wonderfully and really did not want to leave. A special mention must go to Perry who took so much time and care to provide the kind of personal service that is rarely encountered these days. A better ambassador for this establishment would be impossible to find. Please spoil yourself and visit this haven for a meal or even better a short and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Fantastic boutique hotel and restaurant. The service really is a standout - casual and relaxed yet very attentive. As always, the food was really really good. A well thought out menu which has something for everyone.

Room Tip: We have a 6 mth old baby and we stayed in the smallest room (room 3) and even with a port a cot ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in early June. Andrew, Jonathan, and the staff made us feel welcomed and as if we were staying at their home. Everyone was friendly and always went out of their way to ensure we were having a good visit. (When I bought my newspaper each morning, I was invited into the restaurant for coffee and conversation while the staff prepared the kitchen and dining room.)

Our room was spotless, spacious, and quiet. It had a very "relaxing" feel.

I should also note that the transfer to and from the ferry was flawless, and breakfast was delicious (made better by the view!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanMac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The Oyster Inn. Well, it would be wouldn't it? It's by the beach! It's got stripes on its bus! Like a deck chair! It's got portholes on doors! Safe to say the cliche book is thrashed to death on this one-probably because everyone loves a cliche. The plus though is its actually much better than it looks.......it's not great, but its good. The food in particular-the chef may well be a little touchy ( we were told that " he won't do a boiled egg" -as requested by our two year old at breakfast- which considering we were one of two tables occupied seemed a little, shall we say, precious) but he/she can knock out some decent grub . I know, I know-reviewers are supposed to know all about the chefs-frankly I couldn't care less who is banging the pans as long as the food is worth the shekel-and it was. The menu is nicely contained-at least for dinner. At breakfast it's a bit minimalist and as stated, appears to be adhered to with a humourless zeal-so apparently the chef is serious-too serious for this reviewer at this location. Its not El Bulli. Anyways-the rooms-like the dinner menu were "contained"-and again in a good way-had almost everything we needed, and some we didn't-like the pungent continental odour of a septic tank just beyond the window that clearly needed emptying. Still, it's an island offshore a bigger island-at least the sea is clean...In general the service was good , esp from the younger co-owner, but the young restaurant staff were a more mixed bag-one with an unnerving habit of looking at then completely ignoring two patrons in an otherwise empty dining room. maybe he was on a gap year. Or a gap day.
Oneroa itself is no great shakes-the best bits of Waiheke are a decent drive to the east-well away from the subdivided suburbia of what passes for a chic weekend escape for the aspirational Aucklander it seems. Who, coincidentally, make up most of the clientele and will I am sure, leave well satisfied, just as we did.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneroa
0.6 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
255 reviews
3.0 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Inn

Property: The Oyster Inn
Address: 124 Ocean View Road, Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island > Oneroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oneroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Oyster Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Oyster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing