We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vege choice and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Solar Eating House

Solar Eating House
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Oneroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cool, Stylish Cafe and Restaurant at the top of Oneroa with fantastic breakfasts and amazing sea views. Oneroa's only garden bar overlooking the Hauraki Gulf. Huge outdoor areas, family friendly fun room and real outside castle.
Auckland,
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good vege choice and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Love this place for an evening reasonably priced and well presented meal. Friendly service, funky decor, never gets too loud. Will be back soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    53
    19
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice and friendly atmosphere. I had a healthy salad which was very tasty . I haven't tried dinner there but the lunch menu had lots of nice choices. Pleasant sitting out in the sun

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely place to have lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Husband recommends the local beer on tap!!
He had the pea and ham soup with ciabatta which he reported as lovely. I had the creamy mushrooms on ciabatta - really nicely done. Great view down to the beach and quick service. Would certainly go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unpretentious but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nice location at the top of the main street in Oneroa, we came across this place almost by accident, after scouring the village on our first day on Waiheke and after a long walk. We made a good choice. We ate outside and my caesar salad with duck was excellent, very fresh and with just the right amount of dressing. Desserts were also excellent, so we put back in calories what we had walked off. Didn't like the ordering process - pick your food from the menu, go up to the bar and pay, and wait for your meal with a number beside you. Then do the same every time you want something more. Doesn't detract from the quality oif the food though, and the wine. Good value for an island with quite high prices generally

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sweetfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced, disappointed ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The only good thing is the view. Public holiday surcharge, small portion, AVERAGE foods. Was told will be at least 30 minutes wait right after we paid when the cafe is not even busy or full house. There are plenty of other cafes out there that do lot better. (Customer dogs constantly barking in the restaurant and kids screaming make the experience even worst)

Not recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank 2xchefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solar Eating House also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Solar Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing