We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite restaurant!!”

Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Oneroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Visit Cable Bay to enjoy the complete 'vineyard experience', with fine food in the elegant and luxurious Dining Room or small plates from our outdoor kitchen with wood-fire oven in the casual and contemporary Verandah. Our Cellar Door is also open daily for you to taste and learn about our award-winning wines. The Dining Room - open for lunch: Tues-Sun and for dinner: Tues-Sat The Verandah - open daily from 11am until late. The Cellar Door - open daily 11am-5pm
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My new favourite restaurant!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great service, the food was to die for and the wines exquisite, had another bottle out on the bean bags in the sun on the front lawn after lunch with a wonderful view of the harbor. A must return destination.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ngatai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    266
    90
    33
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“High class and decadence”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a great combination of experiences. I had a lovely lunch with my wife in the restaurant - always a great place to eat with a very sophisticated menu, and great staff and service to match. Then we had time to kill, as other friends were arriving on a later ferry, so we went outside, collapsed on a bean bag, and had some more wine while looking at the amazing views. It is great to have the choice of the flash restaurant, if you want that, or the great wine bar, that also serves food, if you want to be more casual. And of course, wherever you choose to eat and drink, you have the amazing views, and art, to look at

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very high quality experience”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a terrific experience at this venue. Not only was the food fabulous but the service was equally as good. We visited with someone who had specific allergies: this can often be a difficult experience in a fine dining restaurant but at Cable Bay they catered for all of us without any fuss whatsoever.
The restaurant is also a pleasant walking distance from both Oneroa town and the passenger ferry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russelljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If Waiheke is paradise, Cable Bay is its front porch. Pull up a chair on their gorgeous patio or a bean bag chair and take in the distant views of Auckland skyline, surrounding vineyards and just enjoy the slow pace of life. And a cheese plate! Then get seconds and make an afternoon of it. I loved the staff - and not just because our waitress happened to have spent time living in Asheville, NC, which was quite the surprise way out on Waiheke, but they were all jovial. Great wines too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Absolutely stunning location, sipping a glass of home grown chilled rose looking out over the bay its paradise! Friendly staff, beautiful food, all round one of the nicest ways to spend an afternoon ever!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookhamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant also viewed

 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing