We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wine and food combo have ever had”

Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Oneroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Visit Cable Bay to enjoy the complete 'vineyard experience', with fine food in the elegant and luxurious Dining Room or sharing plates from our outdoor kitchen with wood-fire oven in the casual and contemporary Verandah. Our Cellar Door is also open daily (11am - 5pm) for you to taste and learn about our award-winning wines. The Dining Room - open for lunch: Tues-Sun and for dinner: Tues-Sat. Note: The Dining Room is closed for the month of August 2017 and will re-open on Thursday 31st August. The Verandah is open daily from 11am until late.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The best wine and food combo have ever had”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is without doubt one of the best places I have been.

The wine is insanely good and the food is incredible. There is a reason this is in the top 10 restaurants in new zealand!

Had a bottle of the Chardonnay and a cheese board. So so good!

Yes you will pay around $100 for this but it is worth every single penny. I am a backpacker so was a bit against spending this amount, but it is worth it. Trust me!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevepinnell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    267
    90
    33
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“perfect and "chic"ambiance”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we had missed dinner the night before. We stayed over for brunch. A delicious tapas menu made ​​in new zealand and very good wines by the glass. The service is pleasant. the location and views are superb. The terrace and garden are spectacular. Very fashionable seen clients

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cocktails at sunset on the lawn...”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just a short walk to get there from the Oneroa shops. We only felt like having a coffee but once we arrived and saw the stunning sea views, we decided that cocktails were the order of the day! We sipped on these whilst watching the sun go down from the comfort of the beanbag chairs on the lawn! We also munched on the Crispy Duck Sharing Platter which was yummy!!! Highly recommended as a destination during your exploration of Waiheke!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MariatheMunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Terrific Views, good food”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

With a terrific view of the waters and Auckland off in the distance, this winery offers small plates complimented with a nice selection of wines. Expect to be underwhelmed by portion size if you've worked up an appetite. Get a number of sides to complement your meal. Nonetheless, the food was very good. The bean bags outside on the lawn overlooking the bay are a nice touch.

Helpful?
Thank Duomo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Views to die for”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Fabulous atmosphere - great views - stayed for dinner and it was the most exquisite meal ever. Thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful. The huge fire that we sat around predinner was very welcoming and homely. Staff well trained - all in all an absolute pleasure and will be back. Agree with previous review - the rose topnotch

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant also viewed

 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing