We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Might be Better than Restaurant for Food”

Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Oneroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Visit Cable Bay to enjoy the complete 'vineyard experience', with fine food in the elegant and luxurious Dining Room or small plates from our outdoor kitchen with wood-fire oven in the casual and contemporary Verandah. Our Cellar Door is also open daily for you to taste and learn about our award-winning wines. The Dining Room - open for lunch: Tues-Sun and for dinner: Tues-Sat The Verandah - open daily from 11am until late. The Cellar Door - open daily 11am-5pm
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bar Might be Better than Restaurant for Food”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We tried both the Fine Dining Restaurant and the Bar for lunch on two separate days. While the restaurant was good (we had the hare ravioli and the beef main) the Bar's sliders (50% beef and 50% bacon) and the truffle french fries with aioli were excellent! If you are going to eat at Cable Bay, I would recommend skipping the more expensive fine dining and just do the amazing sliders and fries! They may be the best thing we have eaten in New Zealand.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K-RVA-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    264
    88
    32
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over rated - much better places & views elsewhere.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I only have one good experience to share. The view was good, not very good or excellent just good. Around NZ there are hundreds of equal & better views available.
I found the host arrogant & aloof. They have a strange ritual that I had not come across before (in NZ or any other part of the world) they keep your credit card until you pay. Not just an in-print or record (like when you check into a hotel) but the card. No explanation provided. I asked for it back & the "barman/waiter" got arrogant as if it was his property. I'm not sure if this practice is legal? I'm not sure what security they provide for your card while it is being held or what compensation they offer if it is stolen or used by a staff member as he was just plainly rude & in need of good dose of customer service relations & training.
The food was average, small portions at large prices & the tea was served "cool"
It doesn't matter like the other 70% of customers who say nothing - I will not return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanC1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“The best wine and food combo have ever had”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is without doubt one of the best places I have been.

The wine is insanely good and the food is incredible. There is a reason this is in the top 10 restaurants in new zealand!

Had a bottle of the Chardonnay and a cheese board. So so good!

Yes you will pay around $100 for this but it is worth every single penny. I am a backpacker so was a bit against spending this amount, but it is worth it. Trust me!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevepinnell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
566 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“perfect and "chic"ambiance”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we had missed dinner the night before. We stayed over for brunch. A delicious tapas menu made ​​in new zealand and very good wines by the glass. The service is pleasant. the location and views are superb. The terrace and garden are spectacular. Very fashionable seen clients

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cocktails at sunset on the lawn...”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just a short walk to get there from the Oneroa shops. We only felt like having a coffee but once we arrived and saw the stunning sea views, we decided that cocktails were the order of the day! We sipped on these whilst watching the sun go down from the comfort of the beanbag chairs on the lawn! We also munched on the Crispy Duck Sharing Platter which was yummy!!! Highly recommended as a destination during your exploration of Waiheke!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MariatheMunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant also viewed

 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing