We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Oneroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$61
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Visit Cable Bay to enjoy the complete 'vineyard experience', with fine food in the elegant and luxurious Dining Room or small plates from our outdoor kitchen with wood-fire oven in the casual and contemporary Verandah. Our Cellar Door is also open daily for you to taste and learn about our award-winning wines. The Dining Room - open for lunch: Tues-Sun and for dinner: Tues-Sat The Verandah - open daily from 11am until late. The Cellar Door - open daily 11am-5pm
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Handy to our accommodation. Ciabatta bread excellent. Main meals good. Cosy by the fire for coffee. Interesting outlook. Need to watch entry and exit on different roads.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    258
    88
    30
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wine & bean bag with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We dropped in on a beautiful clear day and ended up sitting on the bean bags on the front lawn overlooking the bay and having a red wine. It was so glorious we could have gone to sleep. The food and menu looked great however we cannot comment on the restaurant as we did not eat here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cable Bay - in a word, faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had a special family lunch at Cable Bay recently on a cold and wet winter’s day. We arrived to a very welcoming greeting from the duty manager/maître d’ Alan and were seated at a table near the floor to ceiling windows that had it been a fine day would have yielded a splendid view out over the water. Still a lovely fire provided much needed warmth and atmosphere and we were soon perusing the menu.
Menus in hand we then proceeded to scan the wonderful offerings. The fact that it was lunch time meant not a jot as I ran through entrees, mains and desserts – this was going to be the full monty.
To start we liked the look of everything so we decided to get one of each: Green olives, pickled garlic, rosemary, orange, fennel; Freshly Baked Ciabatta, EVOO, whipped butter, tapenade; Duck Liver Pâté, sherry jelly, almonds & brioche toast and Salted bluenose brandade, lemon peel, parsley & sour dough.
Despite the wind and rain outside we thought we were in heaven at this stage. A wonderful array of flavours and tastes and we hadn’t even got to the entrees!
More awful (in the nicest possible way) choices to make for the entrée. Variously we had the Cured salmon, crème fraiche, squid ink, cucumber, grapefruit, fennel; Braised game & carrot open ravioli; Roast artichoke, crayfish, shitake, bresaola (air-dried, salted beef), truffle jus and local oysters, chardonnay vinegar sorbet & lemon. I had the crayfish dish which was absolutely divine. Everyone else declared their choices exquisite.
Time for the mains. I went for the Free range pork, parsnip cream, braised quince, swiss chard, mustard was just sensational and perfectly matched with the Cable Bay Vineyards Syrah 2012. I really like parsnip and am rather partial to quince so there were so real bonuses with this dish.
Deb went for the Line caught fish, roast cauliflower, mussels, caper, lemon & nasturtium and it didn’t disappoint – moist as it should be (and often isn’t) and flavoursome.
The rest of the gang variously chose Beef fillet, braised shin, black garlic, charred onion, leek, brown butter potato; Merino lamb rump, green wheat, carrot, date, yoghurt & chestnut and the Spelt & potato gnocchi, walnut milk, grilled cos, broccoli, maple.
They all sounded wonderful, looked amazing and the tastes and flavours were sensational.
Given the special nature of the event, I had ordered in advance what turned out to be a gorgeous decadent chocolate cake which had the added bonus of being able to be cut to requested size.
We loved the whole Cable Bay dining experience. Wonderful and warm service – nothing was too much trouble. Unbelievably superb food. One of those “we’ll always remember” experiences. And full marks to Cable Bay for being so helpful in organising the celebratory cake. They made our big day very special. Thank you Alan, Josh and Liz.
Can’t wait to go back.
So if you’re looking for a superb outing, a day trip to Waiheke for lunch at the Cable Bay Winery & Restaurant could not be beaten. In a word - faultless

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geofflawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Exceptional service, amazing setting, great wine, good food. Highly recommend adding this to your itinerary if you're going to Waiheke. A bit pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Springtime in winter - heavenly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A 40 minute ferry ride from Auckland across to Waiheke Island after a two hour walk taking in breath-taking views of the island we came upon one of the many wineries,on the island and wandered in. Fine dining in beautiful surroundings with attentive friendly staff. I have never tasted pork so tender and the accompanying glass of their own Syrah wine was nectar. You will not be disappointed. A lovely way to enjoy a Sunday at the end of winter beginning of spring.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant also viewed

 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cable Bay Vineyards Winery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing