We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place - charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chateau de Grand Rullecourt
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Chateau Rullecourt is wonderful. It felt like we were staying in Patrice and Chantal's home rather than a hotel. Chantal gave us a tour of the chateau and told us a lot of the family history which was very interesting. Our room was big and beautiful. Just as I had hoped. The bathroom is basic and clean. (We had stayed in another chateau which was very grand but our room was tiny.) Breakfast was coffee/tea, croissants and spreads. We drove to nearby Avesnes-le-Comte for dinner after which we strolled around the small village of Grand Rullecourt. We shared a bottle of our champagne with Chantal (unfortunately Patrice was out) and she was very entertaining.
The new roof was going on and Chantal said they would put our name on one of the tiles as we had help fund it! Staying here was an experience I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was my second visit to the chateau and we were welcomed by M and Mme de Saulieu like old friends. It is such a beautiful place and the rooms are astonishing. Actually, the rooms was three rooms; a vast, regal bedroom, a dressing room and a bathroom. Everything is done in such impeccable taste and in keeping with the style of the building. M de Saulieu gave us a personal tour of the whole building and it was fascinating to hear all about the building's history and the history of the two families, from the time of Louis XIV and even before. There have been a few brushes with the English in the past 500 years, but they remain firm Anglophiles. There are lots of stories of their ancestors meeting a sticky end under the guillotine during the revolution and fascinating family archives, documenting various events of the 20th Century. Make sure you arrive in time for the tour and to see the building in daylight; this is a stay you won't forget and you'll want to make it a regular visit! If you speak even elementary French, so much the better!

Room Tip: It never seems to be that busy, so you'll be guaranteed a lovely room. It's like staying wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peejaySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at this chateau for 2 nights and arrived on the first afternoon, with a welcome greeting from the Countessa de Saulieu who showed us to our room. We were a family of 4 and had adjoining rooms which were spacious. The Beds were old and not very comfortable and the children did not sleep well due to this, the bathroom was very dated, but overall the rooms were clean.

Unfortunately the breakfasts which we were very much looking forward to was coffee from a thermos and very cheap croissants, that was it. Extremely disappointing as we were expecting a thoroughly traditional French Breakfast.

Overall the Chateau looks extremely tired outside and the 2 occupants clearly have a hard time making ends meet, as the Countessa remarked that our payment would go towards a badly needed replacement of the entire roof !!.

We were recommended this Chateau based upon other Tripadvisor reviews, which in reality fell short of our not too high expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJColeCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at this bed and breakfast during our visit to Vimy Ridge and some of the surrounding memorials. Although a bit away from Arras, it was an easy drive in our rental car. The Chateau oozed history and was a charming place to stay. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable and our hosts were delightful. They talked about the history of their family and the struggles involved with renovating such a large building. Staying here was well worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bcbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I've never posted a review to TripAdvisor before but I couldn't let the experience of Chateau de Grand Rullecourt go unrecorded. It's a very singular event. I also think that the earlier negative comments deserve an answer.

We arrived without reservations having called an hour earlier. We were welcomed by Patrice and Chantal de Saulieu, the owners who, now retired, live here all year round. 25 years of refurbishment and renovation have given them a home they're deservedly proud of. It's a vast sprawling building decorated with family history. Chantal was delighted with her enormous new plasma television screen recently installed in the main salon specially for the Royal wedding and Patrice thought nothing of putting a dish out on the huge lawn to get a better signal. My traveling companion was somewhat nervous of the accommodations but was finally installed in the downstairs red room, I was on the upper floor. We were the only guests. 90 euros a night each including breakfast.

Here's the thing, if you want five star hotel with a bar, restaurant, room service, 24-hour reception, free wifi and TV then go elsewhere. If you want to spend a night in a 450 year old chateau with the owners pottering around being charming and helpful and enthusiastic, come here. It's a quite remarkable find. There's something strange and slightly disturbing about a b+b in a chateau. It's eccentric, charming, beautiful and memorable. Patrice and Chantal are big characters, full of life and stories and energy so if you don't mind coming back to find them wrapped in blankets in front of their big new TV giggling in front of a french soap opera and quaffing brandy as you stumble into your bedroom then this is the place for you. Just don't expect frette linen, big fluffy towels and five star bathrooms. There's plenty of peeling paint and a little dust here and there but it only adds to the effect.

The overwhelming experience of the place is of two remarkable characters who are happy to share their extraordinary house and show you as much history as you can take. We went on a tour of the vast cellars beneath the chateau (amazing!), played Beethoven on the antique piano (in tune!), visited the museum at one end of the house (a little small but crammed with artifacts) and saw the Catholic chapel at the other end of the house (Patrice seems to have Irish ancestry). The outbuildings, stables and gardens are delightful.

Every now and then one of our hosts would appear proudly with something new to show us - a family atlas from 1659 appears in Patrice's hands and he insisted we sit down in the main dining room to study it, a large triptych of the family mounted onto a devotional screen of the virgin Mary was described in enthusiastic detail, a book of early colour plates of the village of Grand Rullecourt was opened and celebrated with passion.

Patrice will show you how he's restoring the stucco in the grand hall while Chantal will spontaneously sit down at her boudoir piano and hammer out a piece of Bach. It's not for everyone but it has character in spades and it is a remarkable tour de force of personality. Don't come here and complain about the details, come and relish the idiosyncrasies of one of the more remarkable b+b's in the region run by two charming hosts who just can't do enough to make your visit memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boywithkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Just back from a one night stay in this amazing place. When you turn into the gravel drive and see the Chateau in front of you is it simply breath taking. We were a family group of 9 travelling together with age ranges from 8 months to 75 years and we all loved this place. I booked on the strength of the reviews on this site, Chantal answered all my emails very promptly and as they do not have the facility to take card payments the booking was made on trust alone.

We stayed in the gate house which suited our needs better and was slightly cheaper than the main chateau. The gatehouse has 3 double rooms and a ground floor family suite with interconnecting rooms. The price is 60 euros for a double and to stay in the chateau it is 90 euros. We had breakfast in the main chateau and use of the grounds etc.

Chantal and her husband went of of their way to help us on arrival, they have a cot bed and highchair for use if you are travelling with a baby like us. We arrived at 7pm and she quickly sorted a restaurant reservation in a nearby town for us all. The breakfast is in a the main chateau in a very grand dining room and all the guests eat together which was nice to get tips and experiences from fellow travellers. The breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, toast and croissants all in plentiful supply.

Avoid this place if you want WIFI, TV, and all the mod cons, this is a step back in time to life at a more leisurly pace but the bathrooms were spotless, loads of hot water and the bed is the most comfortable I have slept in away from home.

My only criticism is that it would be nice to have tea and coffee making facilties in the rooms as when you are up early with small children it can seem a long way till breakfast for that first cup of tea. I have no doubt that if we had mentioned this to Chantal whilst we were there she would have provided them for us.

A very welcome change to faceless chain hotels and cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbaone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Friendly and welcoming hosts, gorgeous, huge chateau style rooms that despite the cold and snow around, kept us warm and very happy. an experience i would readily repeat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N-Kilbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Chateau de Grand Rullecourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Grand Rullecourt

Address: 3 Place du Chateau, 62810 Grand-Rullecourt, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Grand-Rullecourt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand-Rullecourt
Price Range: £61 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau de Grand-Rullecourt was bought in 1985 by Chantal and Patrice de Saulieu. With a lot of passion and love they spent the past 25 years saving a masterpiece from falling into ruin.They are really enjoying sharing their HOME and their passion with people from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Chateau de Grand Rullecourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Grand Rullecourt Hotel Grand-Rullecourt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing