We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our wedding weekend with family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School & Capel Pentwyn
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our wedding weekend with family”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Old school and Capel Pentwyn over the weekend of our wedding so that all our family could be together. The properties really are stunningly beautiful and the location was ideal for us as we had our reception at the inn at penallt. Everything you need is there so you just need t do some food shopping beforehand. The accomodation suited everyone from small children, teenagers parents and grandparents! The kids also enjoyed the park next door. For us it will always be a really special place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyspoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our second stay at this wonderful old School House, full of character with a lovely garden in the back providing some splendid views. The owners have included some very nice touches to make your stay that extra special and the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Penalt is a quiet sleepy village allowing you to unwind in the beautiful Monmouthshire countryside. Some excellent local walks, close to the Forest of Dean and for those more adventurous not too far from the Brecon Beacons. Monmouth town is about 15 mins away, allowing you to stock up easily on culinary delights. The Old School has internet access for those like us (2 sons at university busy with their studies) that have to stay in touch with the outside world. Loved our Easter break. Already planning trip 3 in 2015 (or earlier if we can). Thanks to Ros and Alistair.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReliableOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the Old School at the end of March as a group of 6 adults and one child for my Dad's 60th Birthday. The accommodation exceeded all our expectations. If anything the photos on the website doesn't do this place justice. It really is a fantastic house and extremely well equipped with everything a family would need for their stay. Plus, it had the added bonus of a pub just a few hundred yards away! Even though there wasn't a shop in the village, Monmouth is only a 10 minute drive with a M&S Food and Waitrose in the town. It's a great base for exploring the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley. Anyone thinking of visiting the area should stay at The Old School or Capel Pentwyn, you will not be disappointed. I will definitely return. Thank you, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff_Carter_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed in both The Old School and Capel Pentwyn on several occasions. The cottages are really stunning and the owners have thought of everything visitors might need to make their stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We've always had a wonderful welcome with fresh flowers (and Christmas trees and decorations) provided and provisions to get us started with teas, coffees and snacks etc.. The owners are really helpful and ready to show you around and explain the appliances and so on. They're always at the end of the telephone to answer any queries too. The cottages are spotless and extremely well equipped and the furnishings are of the highest quality. Outside, the gardens provide a lovely place to relax, the views are beautiful, there's a great pub/restaurant down the road (now in The Good Food Guide), and many walks on the doorstep. There are lots of interesting places to visit nearby and the area is completely unspoilt; without mass tourism to take away the peace and quiet. All in all, these cottages have been a "home from home" for us and I'm always sad to leave at the end of our stay. Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

what a lush property! i so want to move in and live here! its perfect, renovated to a high spec, really warm and cosy! cute log burner, pity you cant see the logs burning tho! really comfortable and so well equipped with top notch equipment, cutlery and crockery! always hot water with a lovely big bath! a super holiday let but dont tell everyone or i wont be able to book it again when i next want to come! great walks from the door step didnt have to go out in the car! and our little dog loved it! thanks so much had a lovely relaxing time! and your kitchen is super well equipped im jealous!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in Capel Pentwyn and we cannot recommend it highly enough. The restoration of this chapel is outstanding - we loved the stained glass windows, the bespoke woodwork and the pre-raphaelite feel to the decor. The place was also clean and comfortable and felt very luxurious.
There are two double/twin bedrooms and a single bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor (suitable for those with access difficulties). There is a patio and garden with great views. There all all mod cons available and a good range of kitchen equipment.
The owners are very friendly and welcoming.
The Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean are wonderful places to explore with a lot to see and do and the pretty village of Penallt has a great pub nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in the Old School house in February and had a wonderful weekend. The photos on the website do not do the house justice, it completely surpassed our expectations. The owners showed us around, and were really helpful. We also had a lovely welcome hamper on our arrival. There were some lovely walks on your doorstep and in the local area (ross on wye only a short drive away) and a lovely pub/restaurant within a couple of minutes walk. The food looked lovely, but I would recommend booking as we could not get a table.

There was a wonderful garden with great views and a fantastic open plan living area for everyone to spend time together. All rooms were ensuite and immaculate. Thank you for such a wonderful stay. We couldn't recommend highly enough!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GunnettUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penallt
3.4 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
671 reviews
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monmouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Penallt
The Inn at Penallt
#1 of 1 in Penallt
167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inglewood House
Inglewood House
#1 of 2 in Redbrook
29 reviews
5.0 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School & Capel Pentwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School & Capel Pentwyn

Property: The Old School & Capel Pentwyn
Address: 1 Green Pastures | Green Pastures, Penallt NP25 4SB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Penallt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Penallt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning conversion of 19th-century village school and Arts & Crafts period chapel into wheelchair and pet friendly luxury accommodation. Sleeps 6 & 5 respectively in 3 en-suite bedrooms in each cottage. Both properties Graded 5* by Visit Wales and price includes all those little extras that make a difference to a good holiday and a great holiday, like free logs for the wood burner and fresh flowers with a tea tray on arrival. Superbly equipped including free WiFi so all you need to bring is food and drink.Located in a Welsh hilltop village overlooking the beautiful meandering River Wye and Royal Forest of Dean and set with immaculate gardens and terraces. It is surrounded by forest walks and trails and the award winning village pub - The Inn at Penallt - only 200m away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old School & Capel Pentwyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing