We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue for a group weekend away”
Review of BlackWater Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castletownroche
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BlackWater Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

For the weekend of the 7th to the 9th of September I organised for a group of 43 work colleagues to go and stay in Blackwater castle. Because we had such a large group we booked the castle and the accompanying apartments which can accomodate 62 people in total.

We had a exceptional time. The owners Patrick and Sheila make a conscious effort to ensure that it feels like your home while you are staying there. In the weeks leading up to our booking they were extremely accomodating with all of our queries from the mundane to the more difficult.

Blackwater Castle enjoys a number of unique features ranging from its location perched on a scenic hill surrounded by the river Blackwater on 3 sides, the tree lined avenue leading up from the village to the Adventure Centre which is located in the courtyard of the castle.

I have no hesitation recommending it as a homely get away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila O, Owner at BlackWater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thanks for your kind words - we might see you back here in September with "the next generation"! Greetings from the Castle, Sheila and PAtrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We wanted a unique wedding venue and stumbled upon Blackwater Castle. We got the Castle and the nearby apartments to ourselves for 4 days and had the best weekend ever. All of our guest were thrilled with the experiences especially the 40 or so we lodged on the grounds. Patrick and his wife were great - they told us the history of the buildings, brought all the guests on a tour and were willing to help out with any problems we encountered. If you are looking for a place where you are in charge pick this one for an event no one will forget!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grandturismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila O, Owner at BlackWater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thanks indeed, we let couples do their own thing here, each wedding is completely different as a result! REgards, Sheila and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

After looking at about every castle in Ireland and seeing the ridiculous prices I thought that me and my wife will not get to spend a night in an Irish castle. I accidentally stumbled upon the Blackwater Castle and was pleasantly surprised when they only wanted 60 euro p/p. We decided to stay here based on the price and because it wasn't a giant Castle that was newly renovated and basically just a big hotel.

The town of Castletowneroche definitely adds to the castles location. It is a very small town with barely any tourists and only a handful of pubs and stores which definitely makes it have that authentic small town Irish vibe to it.

The castle itself is wonderful, it is situated on top of a hill overlooking a ravine and river. And the grounds are big which makes for good exploring. The castle itself is also great for exploring, there is the tower which you can climb to the top and get some great pictures, the hidden well which you climb some 160 steps down into the ground with only a flashlight. It's kind of like a museum where you are not told where you can or cannot go. The castle definitely looks old and you will notice this more once you go inside, but it adds allot to the experience.

When we checked in we were the only people at the castle so we got a chance to explore the whole building and the owner Patrick took us upstairs and showed us all the bedrooms and asked which one we wanted. This was great, I wish every B&B did this. All bedrooms were big and clean with spacious bathrooms, all with tub and shower. The breakfast was prepared by the owner and was very good.

I would definitely recommend this castle to anyone that doesn't want to pay an arm and a leg for a castle stay in Ireland. The castle is not as Grand as some, but you will get more personalized service, quieter atmosphere and you will experience Irish history more closely then just staying at the other huge "Castle" hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roblox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila O, Owner at BlackWater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thanks indeed, you hit the nail on the head there, Blackwater Castle is the real deal, not just a modern building tacked on to a ruin! We look forward to having you back again soon, Sheila and Patrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I visited this castle with my mother and father,unaware that I would be able to see it properly as I thought it was not open to the public. We were greeted very warmly by the owners and invited to climb the tower and we were given a history of the keep. I have a keen interest in castles and I must say I found my visit to be informative and thoroughly enjoyable. The grounds are tranquil and the scenery is breathtaking. Accommodation is also available and although I did not avail of it on this occasion,I will be sure to return as I found the owners to be great hosts and the area to be serene and picturesque. This is a hidden gem that deserves to be explored in all its glory.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila O, Owner at BlackWater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thanks Sam - make sure you return to stay next time! Regards, Sheila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I am a huge history buff and stayed here recently on a trip with my husband. We stayed in the actual castle. The building and grounds were a delight to explore and the owner was also a pleasure. Highly recommended stop for people on a trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethH_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila O, Owner at BlackWater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thanks for your kind words - always a pleasure to talk to fellow history nuts about the Castle! Sheila .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We recently camped with our Scout Group in the orchard at Blackwater Castle,Castletownroche.Patrick and his family gave us a very warm welcome and every assistance we needed.The orchard is highly suitable for standing camps or lightweight camping as part of an expedition.We did a backwoods/survival night and the extensive grounds and riverside woodlands are ideal for such activity.
There are a wide range of on-site adventure activities available including a fantastic zip-wire,zorbing.archery,High and low ropes,canoeing,rafting and tubeing to name a few.
The location in the lands of Blackwater castle is just fantastic and young people can be really face to face with nature at its best.
There is also a fantastic dining hall near the orchard in the courtyard suitable for Group Functions......probably our next visit.

Room Tip: We camped but there is a lovely selection of rooms in the castle/courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila O, Owner at BlackWater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Scouts are always welcome at Blackwater Castle as it is part of our philosophy here that young people form part of the community and benefit from seeing their heritage up close and personal. We also benefit from the valuable work done around the grounds by scouts and their dedicated leaders so we look forward to your return visit! And many thanks for your kind comments.

Regards,

Sheila & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I recently spent one night at Blackwater Castle, and we're so delighted that we did. The property offers two sections: a self-catering stone motel like accomodotion and then the historical house itself. We stayed in the historical part of the house, which is expansive, striking, and quirky. The owners have worked hard to preserve a building that combines a Norman Tower, an 12th century keep and chapel, and a traditional country manor house built between the two. Noted as one of the most haunted locations in Ireland, I'm happy to note that this is atmospheric but that we didn't meet anything that went bump in the night.

There's an on site extreme games center, fishing, and more that we didn't partake of due to the weather being a little "Irish." But we talked extensively with the owner who was interesting and passionate, and we learned a lot about the area. There is a striking priory not 10 minutes from the Castle that rivals the far more popular attractions in other parts of Ireland. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The price, at 60 euro pp, was also quite fair.

While we were there, we saw that they often host weddings and other gatherings. This would be an amazing location for a small destination wedding. The other thing that's worth mentioning again is the fact that Patrick and Sheila, the owners, really go out of their way to be excellent hosts. From sharing the history of the place to the high quality breakfasts to encouraging you to go out and explore the area, they are committed to ensuring you have a great time. This experience is what you hope you'll encounter every time you stay at a B&B.

In a nutshell, if you like history and you're looking for the authentic Irish experience, definitely stay here at least one night.

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend splurging and staying in the castle itself. It's a really unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kainon079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila O, Owner at BlackWater Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for your kind comments - we are always delighted to host people who truly appreciate the heritage of Blackwater CAstle.

Kind regards,

Sheila & Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletownroche
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Ballyvolane House
#1 of 2 in Fermoy
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlackWater Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlackWater Castle

Address: Castle Widenham, Mill Road | Castletownroche, Cork, Castletownroche, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castletownroche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Castletownroch...
Price Range: £45 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History, heritage, nature, and outdoor activities meet in a spectacular setting at Blackwater Castle, a twelfth century Castle on the banks of the River Awbeg surrounded by woodlands and a private river. Beautifully appointed suites, welcoming reception rooms, historical tours, and extensive activities from zip-lining to fly fishing are on offer at one of Ireland's more interesting and best preserved Castles for rent for an Irish Castle wedding, family reunion or private party. Courtyard accommodation can sleep 7 in family apartment and a further 40 in dormitory style accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing