We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Chateau de Palaja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Palaja
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Beautifully restored chateau...lovely spacious room with fabulous bathroom, stylish fixtures and fittings and big, comfortable double bed. Gorgeous grounds and nice discreet swimming pool. Free parking, good proximity to Carcassone (10 minute drive once you've worked out how to get to the public parking areas!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LahLah58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel - an oasis of calm outside of Carcassonne that I would recommend to anyone.

The Chateau itself is beautiful - simply furnished but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. I was a little nervous about what to expect before arrival because I was proposing to my girlfriend out there - but everything was perfect. It is a wonderfully romantic area and the restaurant next door - S Comme - is perfect as well. In fact, the food was very good and the waiter service was possibly the best I have ever experienced.

At the hotel, the breakfast is continental - but you can take it outside to a wonderful little shaded terrace area - and sit in peace.

If you are looking for a hotel outside of the city and only a short taxi or drive into town - this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in the MIrepoix room. The room was spacious and there was a spacious shower and bathtub in the bathroom. Catherine was most helpful and found a secure place for us to store our bicycles. I think the service at this hotel will get better and better as Catherine wants to be sure her guests are happy. There is no elevator so that this is not a place to stay if you have difficulty getting yourself or your luggage upstairs. The wifi did not work in our room unless we balanced our laptop on the window ledge. However, the wifi was fine in the garden and reception areas. There is a shower in the sauna room which we used after a day of biking after we had checked out, as late check out was not available. There is no ice if you want to make yourself a cocktail, but the mini market in the commercial center sells ice. The mini fridge does not have a freezer, but Catherine stored our bag of ice in her freezer. We did not have breakfast as we prefer to buy our own yoghurt and get an early start. The pool area is meant for families so if you want a quiet place to read or sun, there are chairs and tables in front of reception. The Chateau had a very relaxed atmosphere which was perfect for us. We also had one of the best meals of our trip at S'Comme, the restaurant on the premises.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TAHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Lovely old building and nice gardens where you can take breakfast, read in the shade, swim in the pool, play pétanque. There's a small gym with bike, rower and stepper as well as a sauna. Nice conference room, bikes to hire. Breakfasts are great, there's a very good smart restaurant next door, a simpler pizzeria in the village or all the restuarants you could want in Carcassonne. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orvietano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

we stayed for 3 nights, had a lovely room on the second floor, wifi worked perfectly, breakfast was nice and converted me back from tea to coffee. would we stay again and the answer is most definitely. perfectly situated for carcassonne, and infact we moved on and wished we had stayed at palaja

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cortintime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The owners, Catherine and Eric, deserve a lot of praise for the energy and enthusiasm they have put into this place. They are helpful and friendly at all times and more than willing to help with any guidance they can provide, restaurants, places to visit etc.

The hotel provides breakfast, which is simple but more than adequate. Immediately adjoining the hotel is an excellent restaurant who by the way must provide the finest crepe suzette in France.

All in all a very pleasant experience, just nicely away from the hustle and bustle of Carcassonne.

Room Tip: The bedroom floors are wooden, so the ones on the top floor have an obvious advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrubber077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

More of a large house than what I think of as a Chateau, but a lovely setting. We stayed in a junior suite, "Font Froid". I'd describe it as more of a large room with large ensuite than a suite, but would say the pictures on their website give a fair representation of the accommodation. It has 8 owners, and they spent 3.5 years renovating before opening 2 years ago. One of the owners seemed to do all the reception/guest work in our two nights there. She has good English and is very helpful with things to do in the area. Good, relaxing pool area with outstanding restaurant in a separate building next to the hotel, "S Comme". Strongly recommend you try it, was best food with outstanding service we had in France. Hotel has good breakfast and Wifi connection. If I had any negative it would be no English speaking channels on the TV, I like to see the news on BBC World, but maybe this is a good thing!

Room Tip: Don't think it matters, all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob-jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaja
0 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,619 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
330 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,452 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
810 reviews
0 mi away
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
#1 of 1 in Villalier
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Palaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Palaja

Address: 7 Barri del Castel, 11570 Palaja, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Palaja
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Price Range: £90 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Palaja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Boutique hotel"very nice. 12 rooms for 2 people or 3 or 4 people. spacefull rooms. 5 mns driving from the old city of Carcassonne. homemade renovation . very nice welcoming. huge park, free parking, outdoor swimming pool, free access sauna and fitness. collection of 1200 graphic novels. wellness massages with reservation. very good breakfast as a buffet inside or in the garden. best price on our site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de Palaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing