We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find”
Review of Chateau de Palaja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Palaja
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Certificate of Excellence
Saunton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

From the minute we arrived until leaving the next day we enjoyed our stay. Enormous bathroom with both shower and separate bath was a welcome change from Somme very small rooms. The restaurant next door was excellent with attentive staff and super food. Would certainly stay again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    83
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
103
250
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The owners of Chateau Palaja have restored the place beautifully and turned it into a fine hotel. The place has both the friendliness of a small chambres d'hote plus the scale and facilities of a hotel. The rooms are big and comfortable but also retain individual charm and quirkiness. Breakfast was delicious.

I'd advise visitors who wish to eat at the hotel's restaurant to book in advance as place is small and popular. If you, like us, find yourself out of luck then there is another small restaurant in Palaja called "L'Arbre du Voyageur" - it offers more basic meals but they taste good and the onwers are friendly.

The cité of Carcassonne is a short drive away - or perhaps you could pick up one of the bikes offered for rent by the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rongorongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed there only for one night - unfortunately! The owners were so nice to us and made is feel really welcomed. The chateau itself was renovated by the owners themselves. They both worked in the construction industry, so everything is done very nice and charming. The rooms are quite big and everything you need inside. The breakfast was excellent!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bauer123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodnewton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

About 15 minutes drive from Carcassone the Chateau de Palaja is a nicely updated and decorated family run boutique hotel. Rooms are generously sized (at least ours was) and furnished with interesting pieces. Buffet breakfasts are excellent. If you understand French there's a great library of comic books (bande desinees). The restaurant next door (which is not actually part of the hotel) is good but not open on Monday. Ask for recommendations for places to eat in Carcassone because it's a bit of a tourist magnet.

Pool looks nice, but we did not use it as it was not quite the right weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I chose to stay at Chateau de Palaja as we are travelling by car; parking can be a nightmare, but not at Palaja. It is barely five minutes drive to the old World Heritage Listed town that tourists infest. Although not a real chateau, Chateau is a lovingly restored old mansion in a tiny village close to Carcasson. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was suitable for disabled folk, about the only one we have seen this holiday. It was spacious and the bed large and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge and well fitted out. Breakfast was much better than average. The Chateau has charm and is set in a semi rural setting with a very large garden and plenty of parking. We dined at a nearby cafe which was just OK.

Room Tip: Book ahead for the restaurant. It is popular and was booked out by the time we checked in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This small, lovingly restored mansion, has 12 rooms, and is set in a charming quiet garden about 15 minutes from Carcassone. We swam in the pool (frais!) and sat and caught up with emails over a glass of wine in the garden, although we could JUST access the internet in our room (Mirepoix). Dinner in the restaurant, a converted outbuilding, was absolutely outstanding and the the staff, both there and in the hotel, friendly and helpful. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Mirepoix is one of the south facing rooms overlooking the garden, a large comfortable bed, and inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiedevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Absolutely loved this little "mansion". Catherine, one of the owners was most welcoming, helpful and friendly and the rest of the staff were equally great. We loved her enthusiasm about the place and about providing great visitor service. She told us a lot about the whole conversion of the house, which was very run down when they bought it. "It was raining in the house!" Our room Minerve, one of the suites was large with superking sized bed and an additional sofa bed. The shower and bathroom were also roomy with great fixtures and fittings. The air conditioning was very welcome. The self service continental breakfast was sumptuous and extremely tasty with fresh croissants, brioche and bread, eggs, cheese ham, fresh fruits and cereals. The restaurant on site S Comme (not run by the hotel) was absolutely excellent with wonderful attentive service.

Be warned It's a good 10 minutes drive outside Carcassonne so you do need a car as public transport is virtually non existent. Also, the outdoor swimming pool is unheated and absolutely freezing!

Room Tip: Minerve, one of the suites was quiet, simple and luxurious. It is at the back of the hotel and does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaja
2.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Palaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Palaja

Property: Chateau de Palaja
Address: 7 Barri del Castel | 11570 Palaja, 11000 Palaja, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Palaja
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Palaja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Boutic hotel"very nice. 12 rooms for 2 people or 3 or 4. 5 mns driving from the old city of Carcassonne. huge park, free parking, outdoor swimming pool, free access sauna and fitness. collection of comics. wellness massages with reservation. very good breakfast as a buffet. best price on our site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Chateau de Palaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing