We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay”
Review of Chateau de Palaja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Palaja
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here en route to Nice. Lovely old building in pretty village close to Carcassonne. We only stayed one night, but had wonderful welcome from the owner, and an excellent dinner at the adjoining restaurant. Room was simple but very comfy with big shower in the en suite. Grounds are lovely, not vast, but plenty of space to have breakfast outside or enjoy the pool. We are considering staying again at the end of our holiday, and if not, then definitely another time when we are coming down to the south of France.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorelei6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night but wished we could move in. Gorgeous touches throughout, our own stunning pool to make noise, our three little boys playing boisterously on the lawn, a big delicious bath and then dinner at the restaurant next door.
Very special.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Portia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, with our three young daughters. The hotel owner, Madame Remy, was very helpful. Our family suite (Queribus) was perfect - three single beds in one room for the girls, a spacious bathroom with a good sized bath and shower, and a separate room for us. Reasonably priced, a nice (though a little cold) pool, beautiful garden. It is in a convenient location for exploring Carcassonne, but in a peaceful semi-rural location. Our girls were happy playing pétanque and running around the garden while we had dinner in the restaurant next door ("S Comme, highly recommended). A very pleasant couple of days!

Room Tip: Queribus has plenty of space for a family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwinTravelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is in a very nice area located and the garden and the house is really nice. The restaurant, which belongs to the hotel, is excellent.
The service at the font desk is very helpful and gives some good recommendations for Carcassonne.
The rooms are clean fresh renovated. Unfortunately our standard room doesn't fit our expectations, we had from the pictures seen before.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Schneido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The chateau has been entirely and extensively renovated by the owners. It is obvious they took great care and expense in the renovation maintaining the character of the chateau while blending both contemporary and rustic designs harmoniously. We stayed in the La Cite family room (family of four with two adult children) which was spacious (70 square meters) and was incredibly comfortable and relaxing after several hectic days of travel and staying in cramped rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast a European buffet was very complete and high quality of food to choose from. We were disappointed that we could not stay longer in order to enjoy the beautiful grounds and other amenities. I would strongly recommend the Chateau de Palaja.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Traci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This family put their blood, sweat and tears into a total renovation of this chateau! We were first thinking of staying within the walls of Carcassonne, but the logistics of driving, parking, luggage etc. made us look outside and we were glad we did. The hosts were delightful, the rooms sleek and beautiful artworks were throughout the rooms and public spaces. Gorgeous grounds, a pool
(though we did not swim in early May) and an excellent restaurant on site. Be sure to look at the photo book of the remodel project in the lobby. First class all around! Also good for corporate functions it looks like.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triplenickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you're visiting Carcassonne, this is the way to do it -- the Chateau is only about a 10 minute drive from all the medieval town craziness, but you get infinitely more for your money if you go that little distance. Palaja is a sweet little town, and the chateau is beautiful -- our room was large and beautifully appointed, and the grounds are lovely. One of the best features of the place is the staff -- to a person, they were helpful and pleasant, and spoke excellent English. The only thing we regret is not spending more time in the area so we could take their advice on wonderful places to visit other than the castle and medieval town -- ask them about the hike to the top of the castle ruin. We also appreciated that they recommended to us a restaurant that was nice and off the beaten path -- whereas many hotel owners in France (understandably) direct the American tourists to inoffensive traditional food, they Chateau staff sent us to an out of the way place that specializes in cooking with fresh organic produce. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoraxLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaja
0 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,620 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
330 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,452 reviews
0 mi away
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
Les Cabanes dans les Bois
#1 of 1 in Villalier
223 reviews
0 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Palaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Palaja

Address: 7 Barri del Castel, 11570 Palaja, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Palaja
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Price Range: £89 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Palaja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Boutique hotel"very nice. 12 rooms for 2 people or 3 or 4 people. spacefull rooms. 5 mns driving from the old city of Carcassonne. homemade renovation . very nice welcoming. huge park, free parking, outdoor swimming pool, free access sauna and fitness. collection of 1200 graphic novels. wellness massages with reservation. very good breakfast as a buffet inside or in the garden. best price on our site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de Palaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing