We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay...”
Review of Chateau de Palaja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de Palaja
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderfully restored building in the middle of some breathtaking countryside and a lovely quaint town just 5 mins from Carcassonne. Owners were really friendly and helpful, just a shame we had only booked the one night. Would definitely recommend this place...

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Hopkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Rooms are gigantic. The whole experience was awesome. An "hacienda/chateaux" with all the carccassonne flavor. The place is owned by an incredibly nice couple that personally take care of you and really make you feel at home. We arrived very late at night and they were waiting for us to welcome us. This is a truly full Carcassonne experience.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank othon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Highly recommended: we stayed in a great family room - perfect for a family of four. The setting was lovely and the hotel is convenient for Carcassonne (great alternative to staying in the centre, especially if you have a car).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Arrived with a party of cyclists to the warmest of welcomes. Free safe parking was particularly appreciated and a relaxing drink in the beautiful grounds before settling in to exceptional accommodation was wonderful. We all enjoyed an evening meal of outstanding quality before retiring for an uninterrupted nights sleep. We were sent on our way after a substantial breakfast all agreeing to return. If you are visiting Carcassonne, this is the place to stay, located away from noise and traffic but convenient for all there is to see. A truly beautiful setting and friendly English speaking staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francotel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Can only be recommended. Great service and very friendly and nice atmosphere. Rooms are spacious and very nice. The area is quite, nice pool and garden. Great place to visit la cite in Carcassone. The restaurant next to the chateau is great too!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Heandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a find! We were so glad to have chosen the chateau for our stay to explore the area. Our family of four stayed in two separate rooms, both vast and really comfortable. Ours, "Font-Froid", was closest to the wide, easy staircase, helpful to the elderly, although our bags were quickly taken to our rooms by the friendly, insisting staff. The room itself was vast and glorious, with a lovely view from two windows onto the garden and parkland below. The bed was huge and cloud-comfortable.
Our granddaughter looked longingly at the lovely pool but, mid-June, it was still a little too cold for a dip.
Our hostess (Cathy?) was superb. We enjoyed our chats about the beginnings of this venture, which was a great challenge for her family. How proud they must be now!
The restaurant next door was unmissable - delicious food, charming setting.
We travelled easily from here to Carcassonne, Limoux, Lagrasse (markets) and Rennes les Bains - each unforgettably impressive and within reasonable distance.
This boutique hotel deserves to be a must for all travellers to this area. Fabulous!

Room Tip: Can't imagine any would be a problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bevvygran2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The owner Remy made sure we new about everything on arrival. Her welcome was wonderful, completely fluent in English. Being a business owner myself I love seeing the passion she had for her customers making sure everything about our stay was covered: the code to get back in, her mobile number just in case of problems, taxi numbers, unlimited coffee and tea - we even had a choice of rooms which she showed us both before we made our minds up. Our suite was as big as a house. Set about 5km or 18 Euros away (each way) in a taxi from Carcasonne (if you wanted to have a drink), Chateau Palaja is a beautiful place, wonderfully restored. It also has a lovely looking restaurant next door (not under the same management) but we only had a night and wanted to experience the medieval city by night. Would not hesitate to recommend this Chateau and commend Remy for her welcome and professionalism.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Itsmesmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaja
2.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
321 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
792 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
781 reviews
17.1 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Palaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Palaja

Address: 7 Barri del Castel, 11570 Palaja, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Palaja
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Price Range: £89 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Palaja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Boutique hotel"very nice. 12 rooms for 2 people or 3 or 4 people. spacefull rooms. 5 mns driving from the old city of Carcassonne. homemade renovation . very nice welcoming. huge park, free parking, outdoor swimming pool, free access sauna and fitness. collection of 1200 graphic novels. wellness massages with reservation. very good breakfast as a buffet inside or in the garden. best price on our site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de Palaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing