We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely to stay somewhere different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Palaja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Palaja
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely to stay somewhere different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

A great place to stay for visiting Carcasonne. Very relaxing beautiful Chateau in the countryside and we had a lovely buffet breakfast.. Rooms were beautiful with extremely comfortable beds and lovely duvets and pillows. Could have done with a mirror in a better light as there were three mirrors in the bathroom and the lighting was very nice but dimmed so not suitable for putting make up on. Also the owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDuchessNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    82
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
101
246
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great great great hospitality! The family that owns the hotel are very friendly, they welcome you (event if you get there at midnight like us), they walk you through tthe hotel, they serve breakfast, they give you tips about what to visit, etc. If you want to visit Carcassone but at the same time have quiet time in the evenings....this hotel is perfect! Close to Carcassone (5 minute drive) and a unique hotel experience! We made the mistake to just stay there 1 night....it is such a nice place that it is worth at least a couple of nights to fully enjoy the hotel and Carcassone.

Room Tip: Every room is different in size and style. We were a big family travelling together, we split up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Family of 4 with two children...we all loved this Chateau; received a really warm welcome from hospitable hosts with very good English.
Chateau de Palaja is 5 minutes by car from Carcassonne, a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the town. Nice garden and pool, and the Hotel looks very clean, fresh and well presented. There is a restaurant next door (not owned by the hotel) which looks excellent, but you will need to book ahead if you want a table, it is very popular. However, 500 yards down the road there is a great restaurant with a mix of Spanish and French good value food; we dined there both nights and had great food.

Would have been 5 stars, but we thought the extra charge for the breakfast (very pleasant buffet breakfast) was a touch on the steep side; I hope they will forgive me for this, as we'll probably go back one day :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dafttea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A village château lovingly restored. Warm family welcome, comfortable bed and Italian shower in our room. Perfect for a night stop on a passing visit of Carcassonne.

Happy to have been further from the town which to me resembles a theme park and car park - but one of those places that needs to be seen.

Restaurant on site, we didn't eat there although looked inviting as did the pool.

Sadly breakfast not served until as late as 8.30am with no flexibility although you can help yourself to a coffee at the machine.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bermondsey_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

A haven of peace and tranquility, we stayed here for two nights and could happily have stayed longer. This small chateau has been tastefully renovated by the owners and has two separate gardens, a shady area for al fresco breakfasts, chairs for lounging, a swimming pool and a very good restaurant right next door, (reviewed separately). Inside on the ground floor are three public rooms, the reception, breakfast room with tea/coffee making facilities available 24/7, and library/sitting room. The bedrooms are on the first and second floors accessed by a curved stone staircase, no lift. Although modern, the furniture incorporates old wood which gives a feeling of continuity with the building. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the lawn; as the road is lower than the chateau it is very quiet here. The room has a shower and a separate, compact wc. Although close to Carcassonne, the village feels many miles away. I believe there is a pizzeria in the village so it may be possible to spend the whole day here just soaking up the atmosphere.

Room Tip: All are furnished to a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ge0rgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in July & would thoroughly recommend it
The rooms are excellent as are the grounds where you can enjoy the fantastic breakfast
It's a great place to base yourself for Carcassonne as it's only 10 mins away & is an oasis of calm after the hustle of the walled town, you can chill out in the garden with a bottle of rose' or use the secluded pool
The owner is great, she' s fluent in English & is always at hand to help/advise
Rooms are great with clean cotton sheets every day & excellent bathroom

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 5 nights at the Chateau. It is a beautiful place, exceptionally clean, comfortable and with modern decor throughout.
Despite the place being full,and residents constantly coming and going, we found our room, on the top floor , to be very peaceful and quiet.
We were warmly welcomed and the owner was constantly on hand to help any residents who required assistance.
When we booked, we understood that that the chateau is 5 mins drive from Carcassonne. This is clearly stated in all information about the Chateau. It is in a beautiful setting that would not be possible nearer to 'la cite'. Having explored the surrounding area,I can guarantee you would not find a nicer area unless you are inside the city walls ( some of the newer city is a bit grotty.) If you want easy waking access, then stay in the 2 hotels within the walls, but be prepared to pay a lot more money !
We would highly recommend the Chateau. It's a great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oopsmyparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaja
2.5 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Palaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Palaja

Property: Chateau de Palaja
Address: 7 Barri del Castel, 11570 Palaja, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Palaja
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palaja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Palaja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Boutic hotel"very nice. 12 rooms for 2 people or 3 or 4. 5 mns driving from the old city of Carcassonne. huge park, free parking, outdoor swimming pool, free access sauna and fitness. collection of comics. wellness massages with reservation. very good breakfast as a buffet. best price on our site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Palaja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing