We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful floral garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sinabung Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pondok Brastagi
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful floral garden”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I spend one night in the resort. The staffs are well manner and professional in service. Room is clean and open out to beautiful floral landscape with a swimming pool. Because of its highland location, the hotel is cool at night and in the morning.We also arranged thru the counter for a tranditional indonesian massage lady in our room. And my mum loved it. Breakfast was also included.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaunesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    22
    31
    9
    8
See reviews for
31
15
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.

This hotel is located on higher grounds overlooking a well maintained garden and swimming pool with vast grounds. From our balcony the view of the grounds is truly breathtaking. To top it up we could also see Mt Sinabung and another Mount at a distance. Views aside, the rooms although very spacious is spartanly furnished and tired-looking to say the least. There was an electric kettle for us to make tea/coffee but no tea cups or teaspoons. We had to request for them. No hotel brochures or writing materials provided in the room which explains why this hotel is not known by its actual name but rather different names found at different websites.

Bathrooms spacious but in need of makeover very basic and old looking. Basic toiletries provided but no hair dryer. Towels are not very clean.

We were the only guests on 22nd August and were given "special" treatment ie a complimentary Chinese dinner. My request to borrow a knife from the restaurant to cut fruits purchased from the fruit market earlier was rejected but the staff offered to do it for us. For that we were charged a whopping 20,000 rupiah! Buffet Breakfast is complimentary and quite simple. Fried rice and noodle, fried eggs and fruits. Coffee and tea.

This hotel mostly caters to the locals. It was full on 23rd Aug which was a Friday. In short it is not so popular with independent tourists compared with other similar standard hotels around Berastagi which were all full on the dates we were there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed for only one night in lovely cottages with interconnecting rooms. Rooms were of good size, spacious bathrooms although the furnishing and furniture were old. There are no fans nor air conditioning in the rooms but it is still very cool and comfortable. The water heater was not working in one of our rooms and we found ants in the bathroom.
The resort is secluded and not within walking distance to any shops. The best thing about this resort is the beautiful gardens and flowers blooming everywhere. The beautiful views of lake toba is breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight in a cottage on 22 Jun. Hotel is old with basic room amenities . We had Chinese dinner in the restaurant and the dishes served too plain and tasteless . Overall our hotel stay is satisfying because of the cool and beautiful surrounding areas ...

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Nice hotel..... The condition of the room is beautiful and clean. Recommend to those who want to feel cool environment and nice morning view. However the one thing not good is the cafe hotel. Not much a variety of food and taste (uikss not good).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shah08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubrique, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The gardens and grounds are magnificent (10 gardeners). The staff could not be more friendly. The restaurant is average quality and average price. The rooms have everything that a room should, although the colour of the water coming out of the hot tap was curious. If you overlook the gardens and have a little balcony then the view is splendid. There was a hint of a lack of electricity at some point during the night.

The public areas, stairways and rooms need a make over badly. They are tatty. Apparently the swimming pool is only heated at week ends when, allegedly , visitors from neighbouring countries flood in!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed there only one night.But this place is very interesting for me.I saw live volcano with smoke,cozy climate,beautiful flowers,plants,fresh fruits and interesting local peoples.My favourate place in this city is Golden Lumbini Buddhist temple.
Hotel is only 3 storeys building with nice garden,beautiful swimming pool and attractive view.
Hotel staff are friendly and helpful.But hotel haven't lift.Wifi can use only at lobby area.
Mainly disadvantage is old furnitures,fade wall paint and dirty spots on the wall.My room 320 is also suite room with king size double bed.but mosquito net is very old and bed sheets are a little bit yellowish.Birth tub and toiletries is very very old and should change immediately.
Hotel garden and swimming pool are nice and beautiful with flowers,green grass and trees.
Morning breakfast is very basic only for Asian.Only Fried rice,fried noddle with Indonesian style,coffee,tea,juice,fried egg and fruits that's all.
For my suggestion is should renovate for new guests.Otherwise hotel's image will be negative sign.
Price for room is acceptable,but I feel like not safe due to easy to climb from other room varandas.
Generally, hotel is only suitable for short stay.If hotel is newly renovated,future incoming guests will happy and satisfy for their pay money.Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TUN1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pondok Brastagi
1.2 mi away
Mikie Holiday Resort
Mikie Holiday Resort
#1 of 8 in Berastagi
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sibayak International
0.9 mi away
Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#2 of 73 in Medan
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
#4 of 7 in Samosir Island
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sinabung Hills Hotel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinabung Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinabung Resort Hotel

Property: Sinabung Resort Hotel
Address: Jl. Kolam Renang, Pondok Brastagi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Pondok Brastagi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pondok Brastagi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinabung Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sinabung Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing