We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks Better Than It Actually Is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sinabung Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pondok Brastagi
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Looks Better Than It Actually Is”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Typical of some Asian hotels where money is spent so that the exterior still looks good BUT rooms are ignored and ends up old and run down. Stayed only 1 night where we arrived in the evening and had to leave after breakfast the next day so we were not too fuss about the condition of the room as the beds were comfortable enough.

But the kids were extremely disappointed that they did not get to swim in the inviting pool. I have got to say the gardens were very well kept and the pool very clean. So, having our meals at the restaurant overlooking the gardens was such a delightful experience. Ours was a tour package so we had a chinese dinner with soup and 5 dishes with rice which was tasty enough. Breakfast was simple consisting of fried rice, fried noodles, fried chicken and fried egg with tea/coffee/juice which was sufficient.

The free wifi at the lobby was also handy and since there were ample chairs to sit in the huge lobby it did not look crammed at all.

The big problem we had was that we got no sleep at all. The room had no air-cond or even a fan but that was not a problem at all as it was nice and cool. The disgruntlement was due to the inconsiderateness of a huge tour group of young people. The walls were extremely thin and you could hear every single sound. They chit chatted till the wee hours of the morning and finally when we managed to go to sleep about 3am we were awakened at 5am when they got ready to have their early morning exercise session ! I am surprised that the hotel even allowed this to happen.

The hotel needs a refurbishment badly and it definitely needs to have a soundproof indoor meeting room capable of housing 200+ pax. The tour groups can do whatever they please then within the confines of that room and the rest of the visitors will have a very pleasant stay.

And oh, they also need to make sure there are spoons and cups/mugs provided with the tea/coffee. What we got were 2 glasses instead !

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mjail5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    21
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
13
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I spend one night in the resort. The staffs are well manner and professional in service. Room is clean and open out to beautiful floral landscape with a swimming pool. Because of its highland location, the hotel is cool at night and in the morning.We also arranged thru the counter for a tranditional indonesian massage lady in our room. And my mum loved it. Breakfast was also included.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaunesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.

This hotel is located on higher grounds overlooking a well maintained garden and swimming pool with vast grounds. From our balcony the view of the grounds is truly breathtaking. To top it up we could also see Mt Sinabung and another Mount at a distance. Views aside, the rooms although very spacious is spartanly furnished and tired-looking to say the least. There was an electric kettle for us to make tea/coffee but no tea cups or teaspoons. We had to request for them. No hotel brochures or writing materials provided in the room which explains why this hotel is not known by its actual name but rather different names found at different websites.

Bathrooms spacious but in need of makeover very basic and old looking. Basic toiletries provided but no hair dryer. Towels are not very clean.

We were the only guests on 22nd August and were given "special" treatment ie a complimentary Chinese dinner. My request to borrow a knife from the restaurant to cut fruits purchased from the fruit market earlier was rejected but the staff offered to do it for us. For that we were charged a whopping 20,000 rupiah! Buffet Breakfast is complimentary and quite simple. Fried rice and noodle, fried eggs and fruits. Coffee and tea.

This hotel mostly caters to the locals. It was full on 23rd Aug which was a Friday. In short it is not so popular with independent tourists compared with other similar standard hotels around Berastagi which were all full on the dates we were there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed for only one night in lovely cottages with interconnecting rooms. Rooms were of good size, spacious bathrooms although the furnishing and furniture were old. There are no fans nor air conditioning in the rooms but it is still very cool and comfortable. The water heater was not working in one of our rooms and we found ants in the bathroom.
The resort is secluded and not within walking distance to any shops. The best thing about this resort is the beautiful gardens and flowers blooming everywhere. The beautiful views of lake toba is breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight in a cottage on 22 Jun. Hotel is old with basic room amenities . We had Chinese dinner in the restaurant and the dishes served too plain and tasteless . Overall our hotel stay is satisfying because of the cool and beautiful surrounding areas ...

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Nice hotel..... The condition of the room is beautiful and clean. Recommend to those who want to feel cool environment and nice morning view. However the one thing not good is the cafe hotel. Not much a variety of food and taste (uikss not good).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shah08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubrique, Spain
Level Contributor
377 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The gardens and grounds are magnificent (10 gardeners). The staff could not be more friendly. The restaurant is average quality and average price. The rooms have everything that a room should, although the colour of the water coming out of the hot tap was curious. If you overlook the gardens and have a little balcony then the view is splendid. There was a hint of a lack of electricity at some point during the night.

The public areas, stairways and rooms need a make over badly. They are tatty. Apparently the swimming pool is only heated at week ends when, allegedly , visitors from neighbouring countries flood in!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pondok Brastagi
1.2 mi away
Mikie Holiday Resort
Mikie Holiday Resort
#1 of 8 in Berastagi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sibayak International
0.9 mi away
Grand Mutiara Hotel Berastagi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hotel Deli River
Hotel Deli River
#2 of 71 in Medan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tiara Bunga
Hotel Tiara Bunga
#4 of 7 in Samosir Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sinabung Hills Hotel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinabung Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinabung Resort Hotel

Property: Sinabung Resort Hotel
Address: Jl. Kolam Renang, Pondok Brastagi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Pondok Brastagi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pondok Brastagi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinabung Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Sinabung Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing