We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only use the pub - Good central location, but very average food and quite high pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wellington Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Sandhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Welly Arms is squandering its natural advantages of good location, significant outdoor space in garden and deck areas, and reasonable car parking, by now providing decidedly average food and service with above average pricing for both food and drink.

Their location, across the road from all major events in the town means that they would have to do something dramatically wrong to have serious drop in business but this just means they they seem to have lost the motivation to provide value for money and service. The food is OK, but way overpriced for what you get. Their drinks are similarly premium priced, charging as much as central London pubs.

There are better places to meet for food and drink in Sandhurst - try the Rose and Crown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Over night stay was over priced £80 and without breakfast, the bedroom was ok, however the bathroom had mold everywhere even the ceiling, and the shower curtain was full of black spots which must have been mold. I liked the pub and the food was good, a couple of the bar staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I used to use the Wellie at least once a week to meet people as it's in a great location. Unfortunately the new management do not allow tabs and it makes it impossible to use for any business person. The food is slightly down on the previous management, but generally not bad.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken-2many-Avios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I have visted the "Welly" as it's locally known for a number of years now. For a central local,it's the perfect pub & meeting place. However,over my last few visits it's all become a bit "samey"
There's not really much of an atmosphere,unless you create one yourselves:hence it's not that welcoming when you walk in. The staff are polite,but not what I would call friendly which is what you need in a local in my opinion!
Food is ok,what you would expect from a pub but needs updating. All in all,a handy,pleasant pub to meet friends in but needs that extra factor to make it stand out from the competition: it's definitely not what it used to be.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AndreaPutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My boyfriend and I met his family here one Friday for a casual birthday dinner and I was very pleasantly surprised. The decked area was very buzzy on a sunny Friday evening, and despite the large volume of people, the bar still managed to produce Pimms with fruit and fulfil all our orders.
The food took a while to come, but everyone was satisfied with their "pub grub" and we sat on our picnic bench and soaked up the warmth of the evening for a good few hours. A nice local and friendly pub.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank RachelMary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Visited for a beer and some lunch on a Saturday afternoon. Good selection of beers, nice food and pleasant interior. Staff were all very friendly. Very nice outside decking and gardens to enjoy a summer afternoon.

Also just over the road from the memorial park so we went for a walk around there afterwards!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mr_Iain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have enjoyed my stay its clean tidy.freindly staff im wel please with all aspects of this place :-)food is great.comfortable bed brill bathroom& shower.telly&kettle. I feel this should be 3&half or 4star.very please to have stayed at wellington arms.my thanks to ALL the staff for an enjoyable stay.**** top marks to you all

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy12357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Wellington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Arms

Address: 203 Yorktown Road, Sandhurst GU47 9BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sandhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sandhurst
Price Range: £58 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wellington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Arms Sandhurst, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing