We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Potential, Bad Management, Mediocre Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bambara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bambara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felsotarkany
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Potential, Bad Management, Mediocre Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel does have great potential, but doesn't live up to the expectations. It's an epic fail.

We left the hotel more exhausted then we arrived, which is not good at all considering a wellness hotel.

One thing is certain, the hotel needs a new management as there is no care for Customer Experience and no competence on how to measure and manage it.

Here is my summary just on the limited issues realized on our two days visit.

African Theme Experience: 3/5
The Bambara hotel is advertised and positioned as an African theme wellness hotel. The issue is that it is much more African from the outside then the inside. There African theme doesn't end up at all in the gastronomic portfolio, neither in the music played in the wellness or in the evenings and also you might miss it a bit in the rooms (for instance there is no sign of it in the shower). You come to this hotel, to get a bit of Africa, which you unfortunately will not really get. There is one moment I can recall when the hotel wanted to remind you about Africa when two black guys started to play on the drums in the wellness. It was super annoying as you were trying to have a sleep on the deckchair and suddenly woken up by the loud drums which did go on for at least 30 minutes. Pointless.

Room Experience: 3/5
Our room was the 152. There is no welcome chocolate or sweetie to welcome you. The room was super noisy in the evenings and during the day, all the sound from the bar and the corridor clearly ended up in our bed. We just couldn't sleep before 11:30 PM because of the bar and got waken up at 7 AM as the neighbor slapped the door. The lavatory is an ergonomic disaster as it so freaking small. The TV is really small (you do get small TVs in hotels, but this is just not fun to watch from your bed!) and you have a very limited number of Television channels, specially missing English speaking ones. There is also not enough light in front of the bathroom mirror, which makes it really hard to shave or do your make up. The linen is worn-out, while the quality of the pillows are so bad you will have a pain in your neck the next morning. Other difficulty could be that the beds are separate, but fit together with very small width (it's not 200 cm for sure, possibly 160 cm). So there goes your sleeping experience down the drain. One very important problem is that the bathroom and the room is not separated at all, which means you will wake up your partner every time you go out during the night. Don't look for hotel slippers as there are none in the room. The minibar is unrealistic expensive, you pay 600 HUF for a 0,33 l water, which is 1800 per liter. The room balcony is very small. We left two towels being crumpled at the basin, but they were not changed neither folded up by the cleaning staff.

Reception Desk Experience: 2/5
The reception desk is really giving the minimum attention possible. It was our first time and they didn't give us any sort of guidance about the hotel programs, excursions and so on. We tried to change our room after the first night as we could barely sleep. They promised we can do that and should come back to the desk in the afternoon. We spent the day in the spa and when checking back at 4 PM at the desk, they said we are late and should have come earlier. Also after spending two nights sleepless we asked for a late-check-out to have some rest before we leave. It was not possible, neither did they offer to let us stay in the wellness area. We also got 1 room card for two mature, which can be elaborate to manage. What we also realized at the reception desk is that all your consumption was charged with a 10% service fee. This was never brought to our attention and was a bad surprise. We would have asked for the same goods anyway, but at least you don't feel like being tricked.

Wellness Experience: 3/5
The wellness could be great, but again there are some annoying problems. It's a children friendly hotel, but why do they allow children in the steam, sauna and other more mature places? I was sitting in the steam for 20 minutes and during this time the door was opened, kept open and the whole steam experience ruined at least 10 times by small children. For them it's a fun place, not a wellness place. I strongly believe it's good to allow children in the pools and in the wellness-cave, BUT not in areas where they really should not go for health reasons as well. Note that here is a separate mature wellness area, but that really lacks facilities you will not enjoy. Other problem is that the food & drink is not healthy at all you can get in the wellness bar. You have lemonade with heavy sugar syrup and sandwiches with white bread. There should be salad and refreshing shakes and pure fruit juices. There is also a dark silent room with rest capsules, where you may lay inside and listen to relaxing music. The only problem is that you can't fit if you are taller then 160 cm! There is also a panorama sauna, but you can only reach it via walking outside the balcony in the cold and the view is nothing special that would worth it. There is also no crew in the outside warm pool located in the garden, so when we arrived a couple was just having sex in the evening next to us we realized after some time. Also when reaching this pool the ground was really slippery, but no sign alerting you about this. The towel & sauna sheet changing is extremely circumstantial and you will have to pay after a free change a day. When the hotel is full the wellness is super crowded, you will have difficulties finding a place to put your towels and lay down for relaxation.

Gastronomic Experience: 3/5
Except the breakfast the food is just fine, nothing special. You have a really small choice of main dishes and the pastry is terrible. Also you will not find the drink menu on the tables, which is quite inconvenient. The waiters don't ask whenever taking away your plates if you are finished with them. You can have a half full plate on the side to finish later, it will just disappear before you notice. The space between the buffet lines are really small, you hardly fit when there is a bigger crowd. When the waiters change the food in a serving dish / bowl, they just take it away instead of bringing a new one full. Just imagine you are waiting in a queue for a salad, and when it's your turn and there is still way enough for a few people, the waiter takes it away and disappears for 5 minutes. Personally I have been missing pancakes as well, which you expect in hotels like this. Whenever you reach out for some food in the buffet table there is a protective glass on top of the table you have to look through and the optical delusion makes it troublesome to grab whatever you have in mind. There is no lactose-free milk available.

As a summary the hotel has great potential, but the management doesn't have a clue about how to manage the previous experiences and make sure you will have a good time, not just leave it up for the coincidence.

I am sure families with Children might see it another way, but this is not supposed to be only a BABY HOTEL.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrGourmetBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szabivan, Manager at Bambara Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Bercinho,

Thank you for your critical feedback, we always appreciate guests' comments. In our direct mail we have replied to all your remarks.
We are sorry to read, that some of our services hasn't met your expectations. It would make us happy if the Bambara Hotel could welcome you again in the near future.

Ferenczi Tímea
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    29
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
72
54
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
508 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hotel location is great, right in the middle of a forest, but not far from teh beautiful historical city of Eger.
Parking was difficult, they would need a bigger parking lot.
They are building a kind of adventure park which can be partly used now and seems to be a great fun for kid in the future.
Food was good, spa area is nice, our apartment was great, although I do not like when the bathroom door cannot be closed - it is not fun with kids.
Staff was kind, helpful and polite, except a bartender guy who cheated on me once.
The merkats living in the hotel (separated of course) are really cute.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pengemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szabivan, Director of Sales at Bambara Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Pengemex,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with your family in the Bambara Hotel.
We hope that we can welcome you as our guest soon.

Best regards,

Ferenczi Tímea
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rákospalota, Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Fantastic adventures.Watched the feeding of the Suricatas.
The newly opened wellness park with a cave pool is simply brilliant for kids and for adults as well.
The staff and ownership are warm-hearted and service-minded
We are going to come back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szabivan, Manager at Bambara Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Diana K,

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
We are happy to read that you had a wonderful time with your family in the Bambara Hotel, we are pleased to get compliments like yours.
We hope that we can welcome you as our guest soon.

Best regards,

Ferenczi Tímea
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have a great experience in Hungarian 4 and 5 stars wellness hotels and my old dream is to visit the new Bambara Hotel. Seraching on the Hotel home page and looking for a weekend package my impression was that the Hotel is too expensive compared to other similar quality hotels. This week finally I had the opportunity to visit the Hotel together with my collegaues for team building days.
The building is under construction, there is annoying noise all day. The african patterns inside are strong. The rooms are clean and new but nothing special. Too little balcon, too little and narrow beds. The service in the bar is too slow. The fried eggs at the breakfast are cold. the pearl barley for lunch was uncooked. The wellness section is quite good wit special sauna and other experience elements.
All in all the hotel service and the feeling is average. Numerous 4 stars Hungarian hotel provide the same or better quality service with more competitive price. It is not worth for me to take a private visit there in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saliga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szabivan, Director of Sales at Bambara Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Saliga A,

We are sorry to understand that some of our services haven't fully satisfied your needs. We will take your observations into consideration. We are sorry that the construction near to the hotel disturbed your stay, we are happy to inform you that the expansion of our services have been finished.
We hope you will return to the Bambara Hotel and we will have the chance to introduce you our brand new innovations, like the cave-spa and the theme adventure park.

Kind regards,

Ferenczi Tímea
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is laying in a beautiful forest next to Mountains of Bükk. The hotel was made by

Middle African style and idea. Its name also has come from here. Every room has particular spirit

and they are so beautiful and well-equipment (LED TV, hairdryer, mini bar, nice built shower,

separated toilet, balcony, beautiful piece of furniture, air conditioning, cosmetics articles by

Bambara). In the bathroom in front of the washbasin there is heated floor. As the hotel is in a

nice forest the room are quite peaceful (In the hotel the constructors have not built yet!!!!!! That

say to earlier contributors.)

I bravely recommend this hotel for families and couples. In the wellness there is a kid pool

behind the experience pool. In front of the restaurant there is a kid playing room with TV and a

lot of good toys. Daily kid program consists of feeding Suricata twice a day.

On the top floor there is the "Szahel Wellness” with beautiful view for guests who want to relax,

meditation and rest. Bellow 14 years not be allowed to enter there! This area’s other name is

“Silence Space”. This area includes a relaxing room, open air Jacuzzi, and a big sauna with nice

view to the mountains.

In the other wellness which is the in the ground floor there are some saunas, particular

experience aroma showers and cabin. This wellness isn’t too big, a little noisy because of children,

but very nice. In this area there is a special room, its name is black relaxing room. Inside is dark

and soundproof and there are some white leader capsule beds with a few soft pillows. In all of

them there are adjustable loudspeakers and we can listen to soft relax music in there. This is too

rest because my wife was sleeping in five minutes after she had laid into the capsule.

I absolutely recommend for romantic and honeymoon couples the Kanaga Love room which is

available for extra charge. In this special room there is a big bed with baldachin, a light therapy

Jacuzzi for two persons and a steam cabin. The wellness crew always prepares champagne

for guests into the Kanaga Love room. The crew asks the guests what kind of champagne

will be prepared into the room. This room is so amazing and I think who try it they won’t be

disappointed.

The restaurant is beautiful, it was also made Middle-African style with amazing view to the forest

and mountains and the big garden. In the garden there are some open air swimming pools,

beach bar. The foods are very delicious and beautifully served. Next summer will be finished an

adventure park for brave children in the garden among the trees.



In all common area we can listen to soft music by African style.

In conclusion I recommend this hotel for people who like the particular things.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szabivan, Director of Sales at Bambara Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Imre V,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time in our hotel.
We hope that we will see you soon in the Bambara Hotel, and you can enjoy our new services.

Best regards,

Ferenczi Tímea
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked this hotel as being positioned high quality and in a picturesque forest and hill area. High quality is right. Rooms were clean and nicely furnished, staff is helpful and nice, food is great, wellness area is perfect, evening animation for children is very enjoyable, meerkats are cute.

BUT! The hotel forgets to mention neither on their website, nor during booking process, that they are under construction in 2013. This means noise of a construction from 8 am till 8 pm, big cranes, drilling, grinding, and shouting of workers the whole day. Hotel does not have a "garden" or park, as all is closed because of the construction works. Only place we could go out for walking with our little children after dinner was the car parking places. Small garden area next to the "beach" (outside pools") but this is closed after 8pm.
If we know this in advance, we definetely choose another hotel. So I recommend only to book this hotel in case you would like to spend your free time in a construction area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szabivan, Director of Sales at Bambara Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear ppv77,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Bambara Hotel and staying with us. I am glad that you were satisfied with our services.
The expansions of the hotel have been finished in December 2013, giving the opportunity to our future guests to enjoy the innovations like the cave-spa, the children's' playhouse and the theme adventure park. The park lies in a spacious forest area, where there is possibility of having a nice walk or spend adventurous hours with your kids.

I hope you and your family will soon return to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ferenczi Tímea
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaposvár
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel built in African style, where the furniture and the food too is the same as in Africa! The hotel there is a big place (zoo), where live 4-6 suricatas. They are very sweet! We visited this place several times a day. The room is nice and specially, the breakfast and the dinner is high quality. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is expanding, so a little noisy. If you visit there, you will get a free night with half pension.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip13HKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szabivan, Director of Sales at Bambara Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Tulip13HKV,

Thank you for choosing the Bambara Hotel and staying with us. I am glad that you were overall satisfied with our services.
We are happy to announce that the expansions of the hotel have been finished in December 2013, giving the opportunity to our future guests to enjoy the innovations like the cave-spa, the children's' playhouse and the theme adventure park.

I hope you will soon return to the Bambara Hotel.

Best regards,

Ferenczi Tímea
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felsotarkany
23.0 mi away
The Residence Ozon Conference & Wellness Hotel
12.5 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Palota
Hunguest Hotel Palota
#1 of 1 in Lillafured
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
6.0 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Szalajka Liget Hotel
Szalajka Liget Hotel
#1 of 2 in Szilvasvarad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#1 of 1 in Demjen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
5.7 mi away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#2 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambara Hotel

Property: Bambara Hotel
Address: Buekkerdo setany 2-4, Felsotarkany 3324, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Felsotarkany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felsotarkany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bambara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bambara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing