We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MR. C has Built a Fisherman's Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Panama Big Game Fishing Club
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MR. C has Built a Fisherman's Oasis”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

For any one who has been going to Panama for a fishing getaway and has not been to Panama Big Game Fishing Club you are missing out. Your days of roughing it are over....Not sure where to brag first---the boats, the gear, the captains and crews blew away what we have experienced in the past--all top rate....The accommodations were unbelievable---the pics do not do the place justice...The food, The top shelf booze, The pool bar, the electronics, the videos, the hot tub---this place rocks...but the true rock star is Mr. C....this guy is a game changer in hospitality and fun....

Mr. C, see you next year....my best to you and your family.

Rich (Ganz Group)

Room Tip: There is not a bad room at the place....but for a bit of fun cocktails with Mr. C at the pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
20
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have been FISHING THE WATERS off PANAMA for over 15 years, been to 8 different lodges and can finally say "Some one has figured it out" and its name is Pamama Big Game Fishing Lodge". I was there with a large group of my fishing buddies last Febrruary and by the end of our trip, we already booked our excursion for next year. OVER DELIVERED IN EVERY CATEGORY....Over delivered in every category..... accommodations, food, drinks, equipment, boats, state of the art technology, and even the daily laundry service. The friendly and helpful staff, experienced captains, hard working first mates were the best I ever came across. BUT the BONUS PACKAGE WAS THE PASSIONATE OWNER WHO HAS INVESTED SUBSTANTIAL FUNDS INTO PBGFC WITH THE GOAL OF MAKING IT THE BEST FISHING RESORT ON THE PLANET. I WOULD say HE HAS SUCCEEDED AND LOOK FORWARD TO MANY YEARS STAYING AT THIS LUXURIOUS FISHING LODGE. I hope THIS REVIEW HELPS MY FELLOW FISHERMAN. SINCERELY JIM LYONS (PART OF THE INFAMOUS GANZ GROUP)

Room Tip: all rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLy0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hypoluxo, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our trip to Panama began in late March in Panama City where we were met by the travel specialists who handled our arrival in the airport , customs, luggage & transportation. Aura, from Panama Big Game Fishing Club then provided assistance with city tours & and anything else we needed. After enjoying all the sights of the city & the canal etc. we were whisked away by plane and then a boat shuttle to the island of Boca Brava where we were greeted with a beverage and escorted us the top of the island which presented spectacular views of the waters and a tropical jungle with howler monkeys and hummingbirds. The staff was welcoming and helped us get settled in our very spacious and comfortable rooms. Each evening began with appetizers and drinks poolside, followed by delicious meals in the clubhouse which was a terrific way to wind up your day after being on the water fishing - and what great fishing there was. The captain & crew (communication was a problem - they only spoke Spanish ) took us out to the Hannibal Bank with much activity of pods of porpoises & where we caught a 50 lb. rooster fish and 6 yellow fin tunas ranging in size from 50 - 200 lbs. over a 3 day period - everyone getting their chance with the rod & reel. We would like to thank everyone at the Club for going out of their way to make this a trip of a lifetime..

Room Tip: all the rooms were very nice with front porches to enjoy a relaxing view of the property and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is truly the worlds best fishing lodge, to say I have tried many and none have come close. Please say if you know better I am more than happy to test?This is my second time at the club and it has gone from strength to strength. As had I said before it was fantastic they have taken it to another level again, everything is new and updated again.
There is a new sports bar and so much more. The new chef is a in another leauge his food is to die for! I tried the new black fin boat called the legend on a hot day with AC it was bliss to cool down between fish.The team stand on there head to give you the very best. The fishing is like no where. I can not say more other than I have already booked again. Thank you to all the team and I hope to beat 3 more personal fish records again next year. Russ.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We visited Panama Big Game Club the first week of April. The resort cottages were nice for 2 couples or families to share. A rustic decor with a large updated bath and walk in shower. We were able to sit on the porch and enjoy the natural forest atmosphere. The Howler Monkeys and the Hummingbirds kept us highly entertained. The trip started in Panama City where we were met by the Panama Big Game Travel Specialists. They took charge of our luggage, customs, and travel to the island of Boca Brava. Panama Big Game Club is high on the island with beautiful views of the water through the trees. It was also a great trip for fishing as we were hoping for Tuna and the captains found them. Our boat caught 6 yellow fin tunas from 35-150 lbs and a large rooster fish. At night we enjoyed appetizers by the pool with drinks at the swim up bar before a wonderful dinner in the clubhouse. The staff Victor, Sherry, Aura, Wan, and Ray, to name a few tried to accommodate all of our wishes to make this an extraordinary vacation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Annspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The lodging and fishing is 5 star quality. My husband has fished in many regions of the world but his passion for big game fish has brought him back to PBGFC over and over again. My husband has fished at Panama Big Game since 2010, before Trevor Gowdy and Guy Harvey featured them in their magazines and on Monster Fish!

On our first trip, my husband reeled in a 700lb Black Marlin, several tuna in the 150 to 200 lb range and snapper. I just got back from my third visit, and again, the fishing was amazing. We reeled in sailfish, tuna, amber jack, rooster fish, cubera snapper, and a record 45lb mullet snapper!!! There were days in our visits that the fishing was not the best, but that is why it is called fishing.

When you get back to the lodge from your long day of fishing, you are greeted by Rey the bartender who has concocted the “Drink of the Day” and a cold wash cloth to help cool you off. You jump on the “train” which takes you up to the lodge were you can walk straight into the infinity pool and cool off. At the pool, there is a fantastic fully stocked bar where in you can order any refreshment, listen to music, eat a small snack and tell your fishtale of the day and watch the amazing sunset.

Howler monkeys inhabit this island. You can hear them first thing in the morning, and watch them migrate to bed down when you get back from fishing. They are very boisterous and animated which adds to the wonders of this lodge.

Cabins are quiet, modern and comfortable with every amenity you can imagine. Feeling sore after a long day of pulling up giant fish? Schedule a massage! Yes, they will bring in a professional masseuse for you.

The staff at Panama Big Game treats you like family and strive to make everyday better than the last. Victor Archbold attends to your every need, making sure your wish is met. Whatever you want, from food to drink to an extra amenity in your room, Victor makes it happen. This lodge would not be the same without Victor. Because I love cooking, I even got to take over the kitchen for a night! Last but not least, there is a wonderful lady that works behind the scenes to make your stay extra special. Her name is Darlis (sp). Darlis makes sure your room is tidy when you get back and any laundry you need washing is taken care of. But incredibly, she does more. I had a hankering for empanadas one day, made mention of it, and the very next day, she had the best lobster empanadas I have ever had, cooked and waiting for me when I came back from fishing. Mouthwatering! She is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

OK this place is good but not great. It can be great but they need to pick up their game. First, we had a communications glitch. Upon arrival, one of my friends on a different flight wasn't picked up as expected - that turned out to be his own fault having listed incorrect flight information. However, when I called the club, their voicemail was full. I would expect them to monitor phone calls especially when they have new arrivals. Sherri apologized and said they would fix it.

Next, we booked a tour in Panama City which got cancelled unexpectedly. The reasons provided were all sound but it should have been communicated in advance, not "BTW, be ready in the lobby at 5:45 AM, instead of the previous agreement in the afternoon." Once again we got apologies and they did make things right on the return.

The lodge is really nice. Beautiful views and very nice accommodations. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Victor, Rey and Sherri all rock. They'll go out of their way to make you feel welcome. However, they had staffing challenges, i.e.: they had to get a new cook. The food was OK but it wasn't great. I felt the lunch and dinner could have been done much better.

We came to fish and fish we did. We caught some big yellowfin, sail, a dorado. I love the fact the mate properly handled the sail, reviving it in his release. The fishing grounds are quite stunning with little archipelagos jutting out from clear blue waters. We saw large numbers of dolphin and many other beautiful forms of wildlife during our stay. PBGFC can be a world class fishing destination but the management first needs to make some improvements in the area of customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JonTon102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Boca Brava
23.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 5 in Boca Chica
473 reviews
23.1 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 5 in Boca Chica
191 reviews
24.2 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Roxy Fishing Lodge
Roxy Fishing Lodge
#4 of 5 in Boca Chica
36 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Boca Brava
Hotel Boca Brava
#1 of 3 in Isla Boca Brava
233 reviews
18.8 mi away
Las Lajas Beach Resort
Las Lajas Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Big Game Fishing Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Big Game Fishing Club

Property: Panama Big Game Fishing Club
Address: Isla Boca Brava | Near Boca Chica, Isla Boca Brava, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Isla Boca Brava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Isla Boca Brava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panama Big Game Fishing Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded a Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013,2014 and 2015 by Tripadvisor, the first and only fishing resort ever to be honoured with this award. Our upscale waterfront jungle location is abundant with wildlife. These natural wonders help make this sport fishing lodge equalled by few places left on the planet. We are able to provide dream vacations where you can fish the big game fish, relax in a tropical setting and enjoy gourmet dining. The Club is located on the Island of Boca Brava and has proximity to the famous fishing grounds of Hannibal Bank, Isla Coiba, Montuosa and many other islands dotted throughout this area. Fishing is good year round with a lot of that due to the many sea mounds and banks that bring the bottom up from a Thousand Meters to less than Forty Meters. These areas hold a lot of baitfish. Inshore and offshore fish species include: black marlin, blue marlin, tuna, sailfish, wahoo, mahi mahi, cubera snapper, rock snapper, mullet snapper, yellow snapper, rooster fish, amberjack, crevalle jack, blue jack, horse-eye jack, sierra mackerel. Our sportfishing packages are all inclusive: accommodations, fine dining, open bar, Infinity pool with swim-up bar and Spa and local air and land transfers. The resort has undergone a multi-million dollar upgrade completed in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Panama Big Game Fishing Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing