We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility of Mazzorbo island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venissa - Wine Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mazzorbo
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tranquility of Mazzorbo island”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This was a very different experience to central Venice. The beautifully tranquil, verdant island of Mazzorbo is home to the Venissa estate, a walled vineyard that holds a chic hostel and 'destination' restaurant. We stayed in the 'certosa' room - 2nd floor in the eves with a beautiful view overlooking the canal. The Vaporetto stop is only a hundred yards away and it is an easy stroll through the vineyard, across the bridge into the livlier tourist island of Burano. Room and bathroom very chic but could have done with a little more guidance about how everything worked and a fridge/minibar would have been nice. Also the rooms are not soundproofed and all sounds do travel! Nice squashy sofa at the back in the sun to lounge about on and admire the view surrounded by lavender, rosemary and other herbs. Breakfasts are superb - realy fresh juice, yoghurt, fruit, gorgeous warm croissants/breads and apple cake. Keeps you going for the rest of the day. I will go back just to try the award winning restaurant as my husband got sunstroke and was too ill to eat!!

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook the canal or the vineyard - each room is individually priced and all are diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MazdaGirlBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    27
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
59
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

What a beautiful place to stay! I'm female in my mid-twenties and visited with my mum. The island setting is so peaceful - perfect to relax in between trips into busy Venice. The hotel & restaurant are set in a vineyard, and is conveniently only a few steps from the vaporetto stop that will take you into Venice. The island of Mazzorbo is joined by a footbridge to Burano, which is very pretty with its brightly coloured houses but gets crowded with daytrippers from mid-morning to evening. Fortunately most of these do not make it over to Mazzorbo!
The room we stayed in was comfortable, clean and simple - perhaps it could do with a few extra touches, e.g. a hairdryer. The restaurant is the star of the show - amazing food & wine. They even managed to cater well for two vegetarians. And the breakfasts are very good. The hosts are very friendly and seemed willing to help everyone make the most of their stay. I'm very keen to visit again and would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geranibub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Styria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We found the Venissa based on a recommendation in the Decanter wine magazin. it was rates highly, however, our expectations were exceeded. We stayed there from May 10th to May 13th 2012 and it was a wonderful experience. It is not cheap but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaizerStyria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent a spendid weekend at Venissa last April. We only stayed overnight for one night while waiting for our apartment rental, but have dreamed since then of returning. The room was lovely with a view of the canal, and great appointments. The restaurant was closed for the evening beasue of a special party, but Paola, the chef, graciously offered us salad, bread, and beverages in the breakfast room. We were happy and felt pampered as we were tired from a tranatlantic flight and did not want to leave the grounds for dinner. As we ate our dinner, periodically a member of the waitstaff brought us treats- a sublime risotto, a delightful piece of fish, etc. Three tired american sisters shared the bounty of the private party, unsolicited. Seldom have I been made to feel more welcome than I was at Venissa from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Venissa offers unparalled hospitality and superb food in a location that is a beautiful dream. What nice, talented people.
Alison Pols

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

A hidden gem in the calm of the lagoon away from the crowds of San Marco. A relaxing environment and laid back service a gentle 35 minute boat ride from Venice and a 5 minute walk from Burano over the old wooden bridge. The garden and vineyard offer a perfect environment to relax and unlike any other. The restaurant is superb, the service relaxed and friendly and the price an absolute steal. Without a doubt one of the best hotel experiences my partner and I have had.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sealey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at the Venissa for two nights. Our experience could not have been better. The room was huge and very charming. Modern without being sterile. The staff was very gracious and helpful. The grounds, which are a vineyard and farm, were gorgeous. Every time we looked out the window, the changing light made the view even more wonderful. The breakfast was to die for with marvelous breads and pastries, yogurt, delicious fresh fruit and fresh blended juices. We had dinner at the restaurant one night, and it was truly one of the best meals we have had in all of our travels, and my husband and I have had some amazing meals! It is a foodies' dream and not outrageously expensive, especially given Venice prices. i cannot recommend Venissa highly enough! Make sure and get the "Comfort Booking with Breakfast" to get the full treatment! Excellent base for exploring Burano and Torcello.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MFol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzorbo
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#25 of 385 in Venice
838 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,592 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#18 of 385 in Venice
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venissa - Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venissa - Wine Resort

Property: Venissa - Wine Resort
Address: Fondamenta Santa Caterina Mazzorbo 3, 30142 Mazzorbo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mazzorbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mazzorbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Venissa Wine Resort, located on the island of Mazzorbo in the Venetian Lagoon a mere 40 minutes by ferry from Venice, offers an abundance of options for travelers looking for a unique and entirely off-the-beaten-track experience. The estate's charming 6-room guesthouse is the epitome of laid-back, minimalist elegance. Located on the bottom floor of the guesthouse is a casual osteria serving delicious local fare, while across the grounds is Venissa's Michelin-starred fine-dining restaurant, which has become a sought-after destination for local and international foodies thanks to the chefs' creative, innovative take on the hyper-local ingredients used in their dishes, many of which come from the estate's beautiful heirloom garden. There is also a fascinating walled vineyard on the property: in fact, Venissa is best known for the white wine it produces from the Dorona varietal, native to the Venetian Lagoon but long forgotten until Gianluca Bisol, Venissa's owner, discovered and planted an abandoned vine on Mazzorbo nearly fifteen years ago. In addition to tours of the vineyard and guided wine tastings, visitors to Venissa have the rare opportunity to completely immerse themselves into Venetian Lagoon culture by way of boating excursions, rowing lessons with the Rowing Club of Burano, photography exhibitions, and private tours of largely undiscovered sites on the most ancient islands of the Venetian Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Venissa - Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing