We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish minimalism”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venissa - Wine Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mazzorbo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stylish minimalism”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was a wonderful way to get away from the crowds of Venice for a few days. We stayed in one of the first-floor (second-floor to North Americans) rooms overlooking the water. Our room was outfitted with a stylish minimalism -- the furniture was handsome, whitewashed wood, and the bedsheets, curtains, even the towels, were a rich, heavyweight linen. The hotel only has six rooms, and one of the pleasures here is enjoying the public spaces around the hotel in some privacy, since most tourists don't make their way to Mazzorbo. A walk through the vineyard and farm (watch for mosquitos during the summer, though!), an hour or two spent reading on the covered terrace behind the hotel, a five-minute stroll over to Burano. My only reason for withholding a star has to do with the breakfast, which is included as part of your stay, but which is itemized at 20 euros pp.; the service was always attentive and gracious, but the fruit was generally unripe -- something of a scandal for a hotel whose restaurant is Michelin-starred! Perhaps the bad weather this year has thrown the usual seasonal offerings off, but in this case, I think that something else, not hard pears and pale strawberries, ought to be offered instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    27
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
59
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This our fourth visit to Venice, illustrated another, darker aspect of life on the Veneto; la acqua alta. We stayed four nights at Venissa in the midst of a six night stay, during which time some areas across the lagoon recorded their highest ever water levels. We ended up as the only guests; the weather forcing others to cancel. At the height of the flood which saw 2' of water on the pavement immediately outside, the staff were superb; Rebecca and Franco keeping us constantly updated, with Paola and her brigade even preparing us the same outstanding breakfast to our room whilst helping to remove 2" of water from the entire ground floor. Due to the water issues we only got to sample Paola's cuisine once, but both the food and service were outstanding; Stefano ably guiding us through some very exacting courses, including crab which, when in season were completely edible, shells et al -delicious!

All in all a very enjoyable stay, made entirely by the warmth and sheer hard work of the staff, from the top down.

Grazie voi mi amici!

Room Tip: We stayed in Burano on the top floor, combining views of the sunrise over Burano with acres of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickeywhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We spent the most amazing long weekend at the Venissa Hotel, Mazzorbo. The rooms are elegant, comfortable and immaculately clean. The staff are wonderful and the restaurant is just fantastic. Everything we ate, breakfasts and dinner, fantastic. Mazzorbo is such a lovely tranquil place. A short work over the bridge and you are in Burano, fantastic for a stroll, some shopping, a drink or to eat. A truly memorable and romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal are lovely, but book early as there are only 6 rooms if you have a parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have just returned from staying here for two nights as part of a party of nine to celebrate a birthday and can really only say Wow Wow Wow. Everything was perfect. Paola and Franco did everything they possibly could to make sure our stay was the best it could possibly be. The surroundings are inspirational with manicured lawn, lavender, wooden decking and a sedum garden. We had the most delicious meals outside in the garden with views of the vineyards and the 13th century tower or under the shade of the 'dependance'. The rooms are large and airy with everything you need and with comfortable beds and fast wi-fi.
Don't hesitate to book this as there is no way that you won't absolutely love it.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - some overlook the garden and vineyard and others overlook the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This was a very different experience to central Venice. The beautifully tranquil, verdant island of Mazzorbo is home to the Venissa estate, a walled vineyard that holds a chic hostel and 'destination' restaurant. We stayed in the 'certosa' room - 2nd floor in the eves with a beautiful view overlooking the canal. The Vaporetto stop is only a hundred yards away and it is an easy stroll through the vineyard, across the bridge into the livlier tourist island of Burano. Room and bathroom very chic but could have done with a little more guidance about how everything worked and a fridge/minibar would have been nice. Also the rooms are not soundproofed and all sounds do travel! Nice squashy sofa at the back in the sun to lounge about on and admire the view surrounded by lavender, rosemary and other herbs. Breakfasts are superb - realy fresh juice, yoghurt, fruit, gorgeous warm croissants/breads and apple cake. Keeps you going for the rest of the day. I will go back just to try the award winning restaurant as my husband got sunstroke and was too ill to eat!!

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook the canal or the vineyard - each room is individually priced and all are diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MazdaGirlBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

What a beautiful place to stay! I'm female in my mid-twenties and visited with my mum. The island setting is so peaceful - perfect to relax in between trips into busy Venice. The hotel & restaurant are set in a vineyard, and is conveniently only a few steps from the vaporetto stop that will take you into Venice. The island of Mazzorbo is joined by a footbridge to Burano, which is very pretty with its brightly coloured houses but gets crowded with daytrippers from mid-morning to evening. Fortunately most of these do not make it over to Mazzorbo!
The room we stayed in was comfortable, clean and simple - perhaps it could do with a few extra touches, e.g. a hairdryer. The restaurant is the star of the show - amazing food & wine. They even managed to cater well for two vegetarians. And the breakfasts are very good. The hosts are very friendly and seemed willing to help everyone make the most of their stay. I'm very keen to visit again and would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geranibub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Styria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We found the Venissa based on a recommendation in the Decanter wine magazin. it was rates highly, however, our expectations were exceeded. We stayed there from May 10th to May 13th 2012 and it was a wonderful experience. It is not cheap but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaizerStyria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzorbo
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#25 of 385 in Venice
838 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,583 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#17 of 385 in Venice
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venissa - Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venissa - Wine Resort

Property: Venissa - Wine Resort
Address: Fondamenta Santa Caterina Mazzorbo 3, 30142 Mazzorbo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mazzorbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mazzorbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Venissa Wine Resort, located on the island of Mazzorbo in the Venetian Lagoon a mere 40 minutes by ferry from Venice, offers an abundance of options for travelers looking for a unique and entirely off-the-beaten-track experience. The estate's charming 6-room guesthouse is the epitome of laid-back, minimalist elegance. Located on the bottom floor of the guesthouse is a casual osteria serving delicious local fare, while across the grounds is Venissa's Michelin-starred fine-dining restaurant, which has become a sought-after destination for local and international foodies thanks to the chefs' creative, innovative take on the hyper-local ingredients used in their dishes, many of which come from the estate's beautiful heirloom garden. There is also a fascinating walled vineyard on the property: in fact, Venissa is best known for the white wine it produces from the Dorona varietal, native to the Venetian Lagoon but long forgotten until Gianluca Bisol, Venissa's owner, discovered and planted an abandoned vine on Mazzorbo nearly fifteen years ago. In addition to tours of the vineyard and guided wine tastings, visitors to Venissa have the rare opportunity to completely immerse themselves into Venetian Lagoon culture by way of boating excursions, rowing lessons with the Rowing Club of Burano, photography exhibitions, and private tours of largely undiscovered sites on the most ancient islands of the Venetian Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Venissa - Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing