We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday lunch”
Review of The Leather Bottle

The Leather Bottle
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Mattingley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$52
Cuisines: International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Food and service very good. Prices are cool for the larger family gatherings

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sarajanemalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    142
    33
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sadly gone down hill”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Leather Bottle has been a firm favourite of our family for some years now. It used to be a Blubeckers and although it took a while to get established, it became a great place to eat, with a fantastic menu. Then the group was disbanded a couple of years ago and we were sad, but the menu remained good and we went a couple of times a month. Sadly over the past few months the menu has deteriorated, the service is not as friendly and efficient as it used to be and at our last visit last week we were really disappointed in our meal. The twice baked soufle was as hard as can be and the fishcakes came with a supposed tomato salad. This consisted of 3 slices of tomato and some watercress. Such a shame that a restaurant with great ambience has been allowed to slip slowly downhill. If the owners should read this, please bring back your Blubeckers menu and staff - it was a recipe that worked!!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Place fo Dinner with you Love.”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The pub of 1700's just get's better every visit, Great service, Great Food, Great environment. What more do you want?

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allysor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spoilt for Choice”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Well, this could become a favourite! Lovely decor, good beer and a menu that made it hard to choose. The food did not disappoint at all - pub favourites were well presented and flavourful; vegetarian options were intriguing and very acceptable and there were some interesting novelties that sparked the tastebuds.

Some shaky service from very young staff but all were friendly and we will be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MeicSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A local favourite”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I've been to the leather bottle many times over the last ten or so years, having worked in the area, and my parents live nearby too. It's a firm favourite which only improves over time. The food has always been great, and in recent times they've been really accommodating to the needs of my toddler daughter, who has food allergies, too. I love the little nooks of this extraordinary old building which is filled with charm and comfort. The roaring log fire is a warm welcome on a cold day, and the staff are always friendly and attentive. Definitely one of the better pubs/restaurants in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yellabrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Leather Bottle also viewed

 
Hartley Wintney, Hook
North Warnborough, Hook
 
North Warnborough, Hook
 

Been to The Leather Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing