We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Roast ”

The Four Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional country pub serving traditional pub grub. Lunchtime menu and evening menu with daily specials. Now serving pizzas too Traditional Sunday Roast. Children and dogs welcome. Booking not always required. Skittle alley/function room available for hire Please see website for menus.Please note: Food service opening times differ from pub opening times
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food, generous portions, great service.. Save room for pudding! Had the chocolate brownie with raspberry coulis. Heavenly.

Date of visit: January 2017
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanH1957, Owner at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Warm and welcoming but unfortunately the decent food was, at best, lukewarm served on cold plants. The staff did respond and reheated my wife's salmon but her vegetables were still cold.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank cjabbott10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanH1957, Owner at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you felt that you could only award us one star on this occasion. This would be after the situation had been resolved and that a discount had been given on the salmon meal at our instigation as a good will gesture; the lady saying the discount wasn't necessary as she had still enjoyed the meal?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Soon after moving into the area we thought we would give this place a try and we were not disappointed. Good selection of beers, very friendly service and good food. It was a Sunday and we had a choice of roasts and they were tasty and plentiful.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Tazza2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanH1957, Owner at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Thank you for lovely review. Much appreciated and we will see you again soon I hope
Jan Holden
The Four Horseshoes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved the food! Quick polite service. Lovely country pub atmosphere.
Only negative was that I wish there had been more choice on the menu.
Would highly recomend!

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanH1957, Owner at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Thank you for your review. Much appreciated
Jan Holden
The Four Horseshoes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

16th century pub. Unspoilt and full of character. Staff friendly and accommodating. Excellent pub lunch very reasonably priced, (£7 including coffee) with unexpected extras. Ladies WC/ baby changing area amazing for a small country pub. Spotlessly clean and well equipped with fresh paper hand towels, and even a basket of emergency nappies and ladies items for those that needed them...... will definitely return if I come this way again.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanH1957, Owner at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. See you again soon
Jan Holden
The Four Horseshoes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Four Horseshoes also viewed

Sherfield On Loddon, Hampshire
Sherfield On Loddon, Hampshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Four Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing