We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great impromptu night!!”

The Four Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional country pub serving traditional pub grub. Lunchtime menu and evening menu with daily specials. Now serving pizzas too Traditional Sunday Roast. Children and dogs welcome. Booking not always required. Skittle alley/function room available for hire Please see website for menus.Please note: Food service opening times differ from pub opening times
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Fabulous evening at the pub - great staff, scrummy food, good price and fab company!
Met friends for a summer evening drink and Lyndsey (new'ish landlady) told us about the new chef and menu. Had a look and next thing we're ordering food! We were not disappointed. Fresh and well cooked food. The homemade curry was delicious and the haloumi salad lovely. Lots available for both meat eaters and vegetarians - I'm having the haloumi salad next time for sure! We were so pleased we've booked Sunday lunch for this week as heard from a local that's well worth it too! I was surprised to see the review about dirty chips, etc as ours was nothing like that. Plus they have a good house wine for a spritzer unlike other local pubs. So looking forward to my lunch on Sunday with homemade Yorkshire puds!!

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank SpritzerBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanH1957, Owner at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. See you on Sunday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Starters, Sunday roast and puds were fabulously yummy and really reasonably priced.
4 of us were fed well plus drinks for under £80.00, marvellous it was
Only complaint was wife didn't have enough roast spuds (she does like her spuds)
Defiantly going back to this one.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanH1957, Owner at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you taking the time to write your review. PS extra spuds are available on request!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We have known this pub for over 20 years under various landlords and had booked a meal knowing there had been a change in the people running it, which we now understand are mother and daughter. They were not there when we arrived - apparently don't work on a Saturday. However we were greeted by a very friendly and attentive manager who did his best to make us feel valued and welcome - he was first class. We didn't want to upset him by moaning about the food.

However, the food was awful. It is simple fare, decent sized portions but just badly cooked. Chips were a dirty dark brown colour and oozed with fat - when they should be golden and inviting. Scampi was also dark brown with a crisp outer coating which made eating them like breaking eggs . Peas were bullet hard. Eggs on the gammon were so old the whites were paper thin. All in all very disappointing.

Why we were so disappointed was not just because we had a bad meal but because we are acutely aware that pubs like this are the only amenities in the countryside and they have to fight for survival - and if this sort of food is served, this pub will join the long list of local pubs which have closed in recent years.

Please new landladies - we wish you all the best in the world, but you owe it to us locals to keep this pub going - make it one where we can look forward to visiting or we will be losing another.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OldPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanH1957, Owner at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your review of The Four Horseshoes. Please can I correct you on two points please, that my daughter and I work most weekends, Saturdays and Sundays, we were just not working that evening, also we have been running the pub since October 2015 so hardly 'new' now

I have had the opportunity to look at the comments made made and have fed back to the staff working that night to understand what may have gone wrong. I apologise if you felt the food served was substandard however it is very rare for us to receive such negative feedback and in such detail especially as I understand every effort was made to ensure that you were left satisified at the time.

If you felt so strongly I am suprised as to why you did not feed back to the bar manager when the food was served, when a check back was made, at any time during your meal or when you came to pay your bill?

I believe he had picked up on your dissatisfaction and offered to take money off the bill as compensation but this was refused? I also understand that you left a tip?

You state that you wish this local business to do well however posting such detrimental feedback on a public and world wide website such as Tripadvisor can only do us harm - the time that it took to write this review may have been better spent giving us a telephone call to discuss your concerns.

Regards
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Very successful event. Too successful, we arrived mid afternoon and no sausages left!! Had a burger instead. Ciders were ok, but would have preferred more traditional ciders than flavoured ones. Live band were lively. Ice cream van a bonus!!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank csmdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanH1957, Owner at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review as feedback is always appreciated. As you point out the event was far more succesful than we anticipated and we will make sure there are more sausages next year!

Jan Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Had an awesome visit. Very welcoming and the food!! Great chicken and mushroom pie and burger had and some excellent beverages!

Worth a visit!!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanH1957, Owner at The Four Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon

Best wishes
Jan Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Four Horseshoes also viewed

Sherfield On Loddon, Hampshire
Sherfield On Loddon, Hampshire
 

Been to The Four Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing