We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Knockaloe Beg Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We (grandparents, parents, two-year old) stayed in the self contained three bedroom cottage, which worked really well for us. The place is only a couple of miles from the attractive town of Peel, approached along a private road, which gives it a remote feel. Being on a working farm, there are lots of animals around, which certainly entertained our youngster, who was bottle feeding lambs within hours of arrival. Our hosts, Fiona and John, were very welcoming and helpful, and we can certainly recommend the farm (which also does b&b) as a quiet location which provides an excellent base from which to explore the Island.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank JennyWhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during practice week for the TT.

Farmhouse located up a winding narrow lane with a couple of passing places. Sign to accommodation from main road is small and on a black background so not easy to see when arriving at night after disembarking from the late ferry. Sign on opposite side of the road to lane entrance.

Friendly greeting by Fiona. Shown guest lounge with real fire and large round dining table used for breakfast everyday. Asked to complete a 'tick list' for breakfast each day so that its prepared and minimises food wastage and time. Breakfast is a good opportunity to discuss the days plans with other guests due to the fact that everyone is sat at the same round table.

Fresh milk and little thermos flasks available in the lounge so that you can have fresh milk in your room for hot drinks.

Room clean and comfortable.

Have booked again for TT practice week next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelLover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I live only a few miles away so I haven't stayed in their accommodation. However I have visited there several times as well as walking on their land.

Its a great location in the countryside to the west of the island. There are plenty of animals around the property (which is a working farm) so kids will love it.

At the back of the property is a walk up the back of Peel hill with fantastic views of the Island, Peel, and out over the Irish sea.

Whenever anyone asks me for a recommendation for somewhere to stay on the west of the isle of man - this is where I always tell them to try first.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights before travelling onto Ireland for the Northwest 200 travelling on our motorbike we worried slightly being on a farm the track would be unsuitable but no problem. Our room a double en-suite had all you needed, tv, hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel not only tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biccies too and the bed was huge with lovely crisp linen and so comfy. The breakfast set you up for the day and was so yummy on the morning of our departure we were catching the early sailing so Fiona made us a packed lunch which was very much appreciated. Should we ever travel to the Isle of Man again we would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gazandval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed for a week in the Stables self-catering cottage. The location is superb, one of the prettiest parts of the island and absolutely stunning views from the cliff top walk nearby. We were very impressed by the generous welcome pack, the best we've ever had. Have to agree with a previous comment that the narrow winding track up to the farm is a downside. The passing places were very muddy and it was full of unavoidable potholes, ok if you have a 4x4, but not so good for us. Although the cottage was obviously originally built, equipped and furnished to a high spec I have to say it is now beginning to show signs of wear and tear and was a bit grubby - hence the four star rating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurplePinkUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

An excellent base for our first trip to the Isle of Man. Hospitality was first class without being intrusive, Very friendly. Breakfasts set you up for the day ahead ! On a clear day you can see Snaefell from the front windows. A short walk gives fabulous panoramic views of Peel and the coast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VillagePeople6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Six of us on a walking holiday stayed for 5/6 nights in the guest house which was a real home from home as, besides the lovely bedrooms with kingsize beds in the doubles, we had sole use of a very large, well equipped and comfortable residents' lounge. This lounge was a real bonus for the group as we could easily spend evenings and even daytime together if the weather was wet.

Fiona was a mine of useful information and advice as well as helpful touches, such as a small individual thermos of fresh milk for the bedrooms. The accommodation very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts substantial with an extensive choice of menu. The location is very quiet but convenient and only a mile or so from the restaurants, shops and pubs of Peel and the pub in Glen Maye.

This working family farm has a long and interesting history and we were even invited one breakfast time to witness the birth of a calf. This is a holiday and location we will remember with much pleasure

Room Tip: Room 4 was very spacious but it and Room 5 are attic rooms and thus have only a small low window plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walker01684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patrick
10 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
356 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
9.6 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#9 of 37 in Douglas
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Glen Mona
Glen Mona
#11 of 37 in Douglas
94 reviews
10 mi away
At Caledonia
At Caledonia
#20 of 37 in Douglas
97 reviews
10 mi away
The Town House
The Town House
#1 of 10 in Douglas
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockaloe Beg Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockaloe Beg Farm

Address: Knockaloe Beg Farm Knockaloe Beg Lane, Patrick, Peel IM5 3AQ
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel > Patrick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Patrick
Price Range: £70 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockaloe Beg Farm was rebuilt in 2007 as a modern, energy efficient building with a traditional feel. It has 5 en-suite double or twin bedrooms and a lovely private guest lounge with wood burning stove. It is part of our working farm where we milk 200 cows and breed from 800 ewes so lambing time is very busy and exciting! Our bedrooms all have really comfy, super king sized, zip and link beds with goose down duvets and large showers or baths. Breakfasts have gained a 'Breakfast Award' for being high quality as well as local, homemade, fairtrade or organic. We pride ourselves on our environmental awareness.The house is up a private farm lane so is very quiet with stunning views across open countryside and only a 20 minute walk to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Knockaloe Beg Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing