We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”
Review of Knockaloe Beg Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

When we arrived, we were immediately given a very warm welcome and made to feel part of the household. The location is idyllic, well off the beaten track, the sort of place we really love! Every aspect of Knockaloe Beg Farm is fabulous - there was nothing we didn't like.

Every night we slept really well - it is just so peaceful - just what we needed to recharge our batteries after the long journey from the south of England. In the morning, the breakfasts cater for all tastes with a very wide range of choices available - cereals, fruit, yoghurts, smoothies, then right through the traditional cooked breakfast options, extending even as far as offering the delight of Eggs Benedict - delicious!

Our bedroom was spacious, airy and comfortable, full of genuine farmhouse character, and the ensuite bathroom facilities were excellent.

Knockaloe Beg Farm and the surrounding area is steeped in history, making it even more fascinating for anyone who stays there. And with this being a real farm we even had the fun of joining in feeding the animals!

Fiona and John and their family obviously really love their farm and this shines out in so many ways. We are just so pleased that they want to share this absolute gem with their many visitors! Staying at Knockaloe Beg Farm has been the perfect holiday for us - just wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Whilst Knockaloe Beg Farm is a nice place to stay we found nothing to really lift it from average three star accommodation. The main problem is that the guests have to work round the farm and family making it at times feel a little institutionalised. Guests have to vacate the lounge by 2230 and are asked to keep quiet between 2230 and 0700 so as not to disturb the family. As there is only one chair in the bedroom it would have been nice to be able to sit in the lounge and read after 2230.
Breakfast is limited to a 45min. Slot between 0815 and 0900 during the week reduced to 0800 to 0830 on Sundays. Breakfast has to be pre ordered on a hospital type from on the previous evening.
I can understand the butter being reused each day for economy but it was disconcerting to have the jam remnants left in from the previous days users.
We had room 3 which faced the hills but the window was so badly in need of cleaning it always looked misty until it was opened. You are also asked to limit the use of the heated towel rail to 2 hours during the morning.
The floor is uncarpeted to accommodate the under floor heating but this makes it very noisy when the people in the room above are moving about especially early in the morning. Having under floor heating means that you have no control over the room temperature and on one night of our stay we found it very cold and could have done with some low heating. A car is essential as there are no eating establishments within reasonable walking distance.
Although Knockaloe Beg Farm is very nice I would not rate them as 4 star with a silver award.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Owner at Knockaloe Beg Farm, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I think you have misinterpreted the quiet times. We encourage our guests (and family) to keep fairly quiet between 10.30pm and 7am so as not to disturb each other, nowhere does it say not to use the lovely sitting room between these times. Many guests use it til late at night.
Cooked breakfast is between 8.15 and 9am unless a different time is requested, continental breakfast is available at any time, as is a packed breakfast for those leaving on the early boat. We find nearly everyone happy to have breakfast in these slots, if not we arrange a mutually convenient time, as in TT week when it is at 7am!
I can only apologise for the butter and windows, that was an oversight and has been actioned.
We encourage our guests to care for the environment which is why we have a 2 hour setting on the towel rails and thermostats in all rooms. This dries all but the wettest of towels which we would replace with dry ones anyway.
Following a couple of comments on noisy floors we carpeted the top floor and stairs this winter which has cut out most of the noise.
One of our unique selling points is our isolated location which we see as an advantage but does mean a car is useful, although we have lots of walkers and cyclists staying with us.
I hope you come and see our improvements one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

From the second we arrived we knew we had chosen the right place to stay. The peace and tranquility was just what we wanted. Our welcome was lovely and we enjoyed the tea and homemade cakes after our long days journey. We breakfasted like a King over the 4 days and Everything was perfect. You can order a picnic lunch for a small price. It included, a choice of sandwiches, homemade cakes, fresh fruit tea /coffee etc. we certainly would get one from them again. The bedroom had everything we needed and more and we loved the idea of the loo being twinned with one in Bangladesh! A caring touch we thought. There is no doubt we will recommend this place to other family and friends when visiting the Isle of Man and we will certainly stay there again. Many thanks Fiona and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ascott80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Everything about this establishment is good or excellent. Fiona, the landlady, is friendly without being intrusive and her main objective is the satisfaction of her residents. This is an exceptional B&B! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room I think everything about this establishment is good or excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Owner at Knockaloe Beg Farm, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for those kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We (grandparents, parents, two-year old) stayed in the self contained three bedroom cottage, which worked really well for us. The place is only a couple of miles from the attractive town of Peel, approached along a private road, which gives it a remote feel. Being on a working farm, there are lots of animals around, which certainly entertained our youngster, who was bottle feeding lambs within hours of arrival. Our hosts, Fiona and John, were very welcoming and helpful, and we can certainly recommend the farm (which also does b&b) as a quiet location which provides an excellent base from which to explore the Island.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JennyWhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribble Valley, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during practice week for the TT.

Farmhouse located up a winding narrow lane with a couple of passing places. Sign to accommodation from main road is small and on a black background so not easy to see when arriving at night after disembarking from the late ferry. Sign on opposite side of the road to lane entrance.

Friendly greeting by Fiona. Shown guest lounge with real fire and large round dining table used for breakfast everyday. Asked to complete a 'tick list' for breakfast each day so that its prepared and minimises food wastage and time. Breakfast is a good opportunity to discuss the days plans with other guests due to the fact that everyone is sat at the same round table.

Fresh milk and little thermos flasks available in the lounge so that you can have fresh milk in your room for hot drinks.

Room clean and comfortable.

Have booked again for TT practice week next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelLover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I live only a few miles away so I haven't stayed in their accommodation. However I have visited there several times as well as walking on their land.

Its a great location in the countryside to the west of the island. There are plenty of animals around the property (which is a working farm) so kids will love it.

At the back of the property is a walk up the back of Peel hill with fantastic views of the Island, Peel, and out over the Irish sea.

Whenever anyone asks me for a recommendation for somewhere to stay on the west of the isle of man - this is where I always tell them to try first.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patrick
10.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
290 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Arches
The Arches
#2 of 11 in Port Erin
122 reviews
9.7 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
9.6 mi away
Raymonds Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockaloe Beg Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockaloe Beg Farm

Property: Knockaloe Beg Farm
Address: Knockaloe Beg Farm Knockaloe Beg Lane, Patrick, Peel IM5 3AQ
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel > Patrick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Patrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockaloe Beg Farm was rebuilt in 2007 as a modern, energy efficient building with a traditional feel. It has 5 en-suite double or twin bedrooms and a lovely private guest lounge with wood burning stove. It is part of our working farm where we milk 200 cows and breed from 800 ewes so lambing time is very busy and exciting! Our bedrooms all have really comfy, super king sized, zip and link beds with goose down duvets and large showers or baths. Breakfasts have gained a 'Breakfast Award' for being high quality as well as local, homemade, fairtrade or organic. We pride ourselves on our environmental awareness.The house is up a private farm lane so is very quiet with stunning views across open countryside and only a 20 minute walk to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Knockaloe Beg Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing