We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out!”
Review of Knockaloe Beg Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed for a week in 1 of the self contained units.Found it to be a home from home!Full size bathrooms,fully fitted kitchen.Only thing missing was black pepper!!But that's personal taste!
Idyllic setting with the Tor behind the farm.Lovely breakfast with everything you could wish for.
Peel with it's Castle,beach front,etc only a short walk away.Be going back 1 day for sure!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlosQigong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Knockaloe Beg Farms Bunkhouse 5 days during the IOM Sea Kayak Symposium. Very friendly atmosphere from Fiona (the owner), we enjoyed our stay very much! Very affordable! I rekomend this place to all who wants a good and simple stay at the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Daniel_046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in the well appointed Stables for a self-catering week. Everything we needed on hand, including a welcome pack of local produce. Enjoyed the farm tour and opportunity to feed the animals. On-site owner was helpful and not intrusive. We tended to go out to other parts of the Island each day. Fairly centrally located, so travel by rental car easy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Saxon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We didn't think Knockaloebeg Farm quite lived up to their website promotion. We felt that families with children were better catered for than we were. A lot of time and effort was made by the hosts to ensure children interacted with the animals and what the farm had to offer, whereas we felt no time was given to us as far as farm activities were concerned.
The room was very comfortable but a little noisy due to the timber floors on the first floor. Good view over the fields though.
I didn't enjoy the breakfast as the toaster did not work properly and I am just a toast and coffee person. I think there should probably be 2 working toasters available due to the number of people staying at one time.
This B+B is not for us as we like a little more attention for what we paid. We are probably more suited to a town setting.

Room Tip: There are self catering cottages that may have been more suitable for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Owner at Knockaloe Beg Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have many adult guests who help feed the animals after breakfast and we would have been delighted to take you too had you asked us. We never force helping with the animals!!
I have taken your comments on board about the noisy floors and we now have carpet on the stairs and attic bedrooms which has cut out most of the noise. I have also bought an all singing dancing new toaster... thank you for your comments, I hope you return sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for one night while on holiday in the isle of man. Lovely rooms clean and tidy and loved all the lottle extras that went with the room. All the family that we met were really friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back and stay for longer next time. Lisa and Mark

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were a group of four couples visiting the IOM for the first time. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown our rooms. All very clean and nice. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in the Bunk House, good cheap place to sleep. We termed it Luxury Camping. Worked perfectly for 4 blokes doing the End2End MTB race, owners were great about the bikes and provided excellent storage.

Not only would I go back, but I'd happily take the family to stay as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patrick
9.6 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#8 of 37 in Douglas
157 reviews
9.9 mi away
Glen Mona
Glen Mona
#12 of 37 in Douglas
94 reviews
2.2 mi away
Langtoft Manor
Langtoft Manor
#3 of 5 in Peel
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockaloe Beg Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockaloe Beg Farm

Address: Knockaloe Beg Farm Knockaloe Beg Lane, Patrick, Peel IM5 3AQ
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel > Patrick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Patrick
Price Range: £71 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockaloe Beg Farm was rebuilt in 2007 as a modern, energy efficient building with a traditional feel. It has 5 en-suite double or twin bedrooms and a lovely private guest lounge with wood burning stove. It is part of our working farm where we milk 200 cows and breed from 800 ewes so lambing time is very busy and exciting! Our bedrooms all have really comfy, super king sized, zip and link beds with goose down duvets and large showers or baths. Breakfasts have gained a 'Breakfast Award' for being high quality as well as local, homemade, fairtrade or organic. We pride ourselves on our environmental awareness.The house is up a private farm lane so is very quiet with stunning views across open countryside and only a 20 minute walk to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Knockaloe Beg Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing