We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self-catering cottage in great location”
Review of Knockaloe Beg Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent self-catering cottage in great location”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My first trip to the Isle of Man and we chose this cottage as it ticked all the right boxes, near to the coast, remote, garden, woodburner etc. It is very well-equipped and comfortable and range cooker gave us ample cooking capacity. As a working farm there are plenty of animals to see and feed if you wish. Fiona keeps horses and the farm dogs and cats are very friendly (Manx cats with no tails!). A lovely walk up the hill brings great views of the Irish Sea with fabulous sunsets and Peel is just a lovely 40 minutes walk. Unlimited wood to burn with no extra cost is a bonus and if it rains a lot as it did during our week, the large ceiling mounted clothes airer will soon get your wet gear dried! It's a great base for exploring the island, walking, canoeing, cycling and I totally recommend it to anyone who enjoys a rural experience! Peel ain't the night life capital of the world but with a bottle or two of wine and the woodburner, no need to get out in the evening! Good TV for those who want it, plus a good selection of books and board games.

Room Tip: Choice of accommodation but the Stables is the one to go for as long as there are at least 5 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed for a week in 1 of the self contained units.Found it to be a home from home!Full size bathrooms,fully fitted kitchen.Only thing missing was black pepper!!But that's personal taste!
Idyllic setting with the Tor behind the farm.Lovely breakfast with everything you could wish for.
Peel with it's Castle,beach front,etc only a short walk away.Be going back 1 day for sure!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlosQigong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Knockaloe Beg Farms Bunkhouse 5 days during the IOM Sea Kayak Symposium. Very friendly atmosphere from Fiona (the owner), we enjoyed our stay very much! Very affordable! I rekomend this place to all who wants a good and simple stay at the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Daniel_046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in the well appointed Stables for a self-catering week. Everything we needed on hand, including a welcome pack of local produce. Enjoyed the farm tour and opportunity to feed the animals. On-site owner was helpful and not intrusive. We tended to go out to other parts of the Island each day. Fairly centrally located, so travel by rental car easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Saxon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camperdown
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We didn't think Knockaloebeg Farm quite lived up to their website promotion. We felt that families with children were better catered for than we were. A lot of time and effort was made by the hosts to ensure children interacted with the animals and what the farm had to offer, whereas we felt no time was given to us as far as farm activities were concerned.
The room was very comfortable but a little noisy due to the timber floors on the first floor. Good view over the fields though.
I didn't enjoy the breakfast as the toaster did not work properly and I am just a toast and coffee person. I think there should probably be 2 working toasters available due to the number of people staying at one time.
This B+B is not for us as we like a little more attention for what we paid. We are probably more suited to a town setting.

Room Tip: There are self catering cottages that may have been more suitable for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Owner at Knockaloe Beg Farm, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have many adult guests who help feed the animals after breakfast and we would have been delighted to take you too had you asked us. We never force helping with the animals!!
I have taken your comments on board about the noisy floors and we now have carpet on the stairs and attic bedrooms which has cut out most of the noise. I have also bought an all singing dancing new toaster... thank you for your comments, I hope you return sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for one night while on holiday in the isle of man. Lovely rooms clean and tidy and loved all the lottle extras that went with the room. All the family that we met were really friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back and stay for longer next time. Lisa and Mark

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 130Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were a group of four couples visiting the IOM for the first time. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and shown our rooms. All very clean and nice. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patrick
10.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
358 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
288 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sefton Express
Sefton Express
#1 of 1 in Ballasalla
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albany House Bed and Breakfast Peel
8.4 mi away
The Arches
The Arches
#1 of 10 in Port Erin
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockaloe Beg Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockaloe Beg Farm

Property: Knockaloe Beg Farm
Address: Knockaloe Beg Farm Knockaloe Beg Lane, Patrick, Peel IM5 3AQ
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel > Patrick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Patrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockaloe Beg Farm was rebuilt in 2007 as a modern, energy efficient building with a traditional feel. It has 5 en-suite double or twin bedrooms and a lovely private guest lounge with wood burning stove. It is part of our working farm where we milk 200 cows and breed from 800 ewes so lambing time is very busy and exciting! Our bedrooms all have really comfy, super king sized, zip and link beds with goose down duvets and large showers or baths. Breakfasts have gained a 'Breakfast Award' for being high quality as well as local, homemade, fairtrade or organic. We pride ourselves on our environmental awareness.The house is up a private farm lane so is very quiet with stunning views across open countryside and only a 20 minute walk to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Knockaloe Beg Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing