We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Knoclaloe Beg Farm " Brilliant and Welcoming"”
Review of Knockaloe Beg Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Knoclaloe Beg Farm " Brilliant and Welcoming"”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

After arranging a surprise 40th Birthday treat for my wife and two children , I can only have praise and thanks for the warm and friendly welcome from Fiona which we received on arriving at Knockaloe Beg Farm, a nice cup of tea with some home made Flapjack is good start for us. We were booked in for B n B room five in the loft with sea view, and open fields, a viewing window for the children at low level , the room catered for our needs ,with a cot for the our 15 week old and a single bed for our two year old with a super king size bed for us adults ,there was still room for walking round the bedroom with plenty of storage for bags , the bathroom had plenty of space , a large double shower, toilet and wash basin and a basket full of things you might not of packed but need, tea and coffee or hot chocolate was available and a t.v if needed,our option was a smaller room with a bath but glad we chose the shower as it was better for us with our two year old,we also had the use of a large lounge with comfy seating and a play space for her to play. Fiona was a great host and nothing seamed a task even having a go at baby sitting while we ate tea. The working farm was busy with Lambing season and we could watch on hand the Lambs being born with even an early morning session of helping to bottle feed the lambs which our two year old enjoyed, the farm holds many animals from pigs to chickens to goats and donkeys, cows and plenty of sheep our dough tear also help to feed the other animals.
With a short walk to Peel either by road or via the hill which you can walk with ease can be made in less than 30 minuets which leads you to the sea front harbour I can recommend any age group would be happy staying at the farm as you can chose from a varying range of accommodation , all would be well finished and clean n tidy. The farm also uses many Ecological energy saving products and strives to be more self sufficient in providing its own ground source heating for hot water and heating.all round great stay, thanks Fiona , John and family.
See you on Country File Soon.....

Room Tip: If elderly ask for a room on the first floor, or try the self catering chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We all had a great time on our 3rd visit to The Stables self-catering cottage at Knockaloe Beg Farm. The cottage is fully equipped, eco friendly and very comfortable. You will receive a warm welcome from Fiona on your arrival, including a fantastic welcome pack of local produce. Our children loved helping on the farm, including feeding chickens, lambs and pigs and collecting eggs. They also enjoyed playing with the kittens and spent time with other children staying in the guest house and bunkhouse. There are superb views from the cottage and a great walk up Peel Hill. There are lots of attractions and beaches to visit, and the farm is conveniently situated for visiting all parts of the Island.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Owner at Knockaloe Beg Farm, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We love having you coming back each year and seeing the children grow up. Glad you could experience lambing too in 2014. Looking forward to your next visit, bring the sunshine again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My first trip to the Isle of Man and we chose this cottage as it ticked all the right boxes, near to the coast, remote, garden, woodburner etc. It is very well-equipped and comfortable and range cooker gave us ample cooking capacity. As a working farm there are plenty of animals to see and feed if you wish. Fiona keeps horses and the farm dogs and cats are very friendly (Manx cats with no tails!). A lovely walk up the hill brings great views of the Irish Sea with fabulous sunsets and Peel is just a lovely 40 minutes walk. Unlimited wood to burn with no extra cost is a bonus and if it rains a lot as it did during our week, the large ceiling mounted clothes airer will soon get your wet gear dried! It's a great base for exploring the island, walking, canoeing, cycling and I totally recommend it to anyone who enjoys a rural experience! Peel ain't the night life capital of the world but with a bottle or two of wine and the woodburner, no need to get out in the evening! Good TV for those who want it, plus a good selection of books and board games.

Room Tip: Choice of accommodation but the Stables is the one to go for as long as there are at least 5 of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed for a week in 1 of the self contained units.Found it to be a home from home!Full size bathrooms,fully fitted kitchen.Only thing missing was black pepper!!But that's personal taste!
Idyllic setting with the Tor behind the farm.Lovely breakfast with everything you could wish for.
Peel with it's Castle,beach front,etc only a short walk away.Be going back 1 day for sure!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlosQigong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Knockaloe Beg Farms Bunkhouse 5 days during the IOM Sea Kayak Symposium. Very friendly atmosphere from Fiona (the owner), we enjoyed our stay very much! Very affordable! I rekomend this place to all who wants a good and simple stay at the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Daniel_046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in the well appointed Stables for a self-catering week. Everything we needed on hand, including a welcome pack of local produce. Enjoyed the farm tour and opportunity to feed the animals. On-site owner was helpful and not intrusive. We tended to go out to other parts of the Island each day. Fairly centrally located, so travel by rental car easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Saxon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camperdown
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We didn't think Knockaloebeg Farm quite lived up to their website promotion. We felt that families with children were better catered for than we were. A lot of time and effort was made by the hosts to ensure children interacted with the animals and what the farm had to offer, whereas we felt no time was given to us as far as farm activities were concerned.
The room was very comfortable but a little noisy due to the timber floors on the first floor. Good view over the fields though.
I didn't enjoy the breakfast as the toaster did not work properly and I am just a toast and coffee person. I think there should probably be 2 working toasters available due to the number of people staying at one time.
This B+B is not for us as we like a little more attention for what we paid. We are probably more suited to a town setting.

Room Tip: There are self catering cottages that may have been more suitable for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Owner at Knockaloe Beg Farm, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have many adult guests who help feed the animals after breakfast and we would have been delighted to take you too had you asked us. We never force helping with the animals!!
I have taken your comments on board about the noisy floors and we now have carpet on the stairs and attic bedrooms which has cut out most of the noise. I have also bought an all singing dancing new toaster... thank you for your comments, I hope you return sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patrick
15.3 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
8.8 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Sefton Express
Sefton Express
#1 of 1 in Ballasalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Cherry Orchard Apartments
#2 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Arches
The Arches
#1 of 10 in Port Erin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockaloe Beg Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockaloe Beg Farm

Property: Knockaloe Beg Farm
Address: Knockaloe Beg Farm Knockaloe Beg Lane, Patrick, Peel IM5 3AQ
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Peel > Patrick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Patrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockaloe Beg Farm was rebuilt in 2007 as a modern, energy efficient building with a traditional feel. It has 5 en-suite double or twin bedrooms and a lovely private guest lounge with wood burning stove. It is part of our working farm where we milk 200 cows and breed from 800 ewes so lambing time is very busy and exciting! Our bedrooms all have really comfy, super king sized, zip and link beds with goose down duvets and large showers or baths. Breakfasts have gained a 'Breakfast Award' for being high quality as well as local, homemade, fairtrade or organic. We pride ourselves on our environmental awareness.The house is up a private farm lane so is very quiet with stunning views across open countryside and only a 20 minute walk to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Knockaloe Beg Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing