We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for surf and sunshine”
Review of Villa Playa Maria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Playa Maria
new hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect place for surf and sunshine”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We rented the entire villa and guest house for 11 of us. It was the perfect location located right on the beach. Great beach for surfing. Not really for swimming but we had the private pool. Felt very safe because it was a gated entrance. The villa was clean and beautiful inside. The grounds were kept up nicely.
The owner of the villa took good care of us and answered all our questions. He helped us find local restaurants, surf board rentals and other beaches to visit. Rincon is a perfect place for surfing and sunshine!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tparz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Rented the main house and the guest house for 14 members of our family. Eight adults, one teen-ager, and 5 between 10 and 4. Great place. Stu was an excellent host. The facilities were excellent. Did some fishing for tuna (ate it that night); sailing, snorkeling, jet sking; rented a kyack and a surf board (with paddle) for the week. Water is clean and the beach was almost ours 100%. Visited the Calypso cafe for rum punches and a couple of lunches. Stu arrainged a pig roast for us with all the trimmings one night (had left overs the next night). Stu also helped us with all of our transportation needs from San Juan to Rincon, so we did not have to rent three vans for the entire week. This trip takes about three hours and that is the only negative. Had a couple of bon fires on the beach; great for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tjautry1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

My son got married on the beach in front of Villa Playa Maria. It was a magnificent setting and a beautiful location. The Villa worked perfectly for both families. We have a two year old, several 20 somethings and both sets of parents along with other adult family members. The Villa and location offered something for everyone. Many of us chose to relax by the pool and enjoy the perfect weather and view of the ocean while others took to the water and went snorkeling or scuba diving. The Villa housed five couples comfortably and allowed for the grandparents to share our granddaughter in the lower level common areas.
Stuart, the Owner / caretaker was was quick to provide contacts and directions for our every need.
We used a local chef rcommended by Stuart to prepare the rehearsal dinner on site and it was fabulous. The gounds accommodated the tent and table for the reception and provided an ideal setting.
I would recommend this villa to anyone planning a destination wedding or a relaxing vacation. The only drawback is the 2.5 hour drive from San Juan but it is well worth it once you arrive.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoilerCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
playa hermosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

The management was excellent the property was astounding!!!
Stuart has the market cornered in every aspect !
A designers touch with an unparelleld LOCATION!
Truly a Surfers Dream come true!
A great location for any event!
My wedding was Incredible !!!

Muchos Gracias Senior!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riptidelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Agree with restauronteur's review of this beach home, except at this time of year this is NOT a good part of Puerto Rico for scuba diving or snorkeling. However, we did see whales while sitting on our beach chairs, which alone was worth the trip.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank arktrav_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We spent a week here with extended family and friends. Four professional adults (50-60ish)and our four young adult children (20-24). The property is beautifully landscaped and maintained by Stuart, the owner, who is very much hands on with attention to every detail. With the wonderful pool/swim up bar area and the beach at our back door, some of us never left the property. There was plenty to keep everyone occupied. We all enjoyed watching the waves and surfers on Maria's beach as well as the wonderful snorkeling on a short beach walk away at Steps Beach. The short beach walk in the other direction, to the lighthouse is equally as breathtaking. Sitting at the edge of the beach watching a beautiful sunset was a fabulous end to every day at this stunning property.
Being restaurant owners and Chefs, the kitchen and outdoor grill were very important to us. This one was well equipped with state of the art appliances with plenty of working and dining areas. Stuart was the consummate host and help, even procuring fresh lobsters for a wonderful surf and turf feast in our beautiful vacation home.
I would recommend this property to anyone wanting a restful, fun filled, vacation in one of the most gorgeous settings ever. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Restaronter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

A fantastic location. Clean and safe facility. Very comfortable. My husband, daughter and I had a fabulous time. We lived 20 years ago in and around the San Juan area for 8 years and did not spend much time in Rincon. This facility far exceeds what you expect in Puerto Rico. It has been built with much loving care and superb quality. We were thrilled with the accommodations and did not want to leave! This is not a hotel -- it is a private villa facility, perfect and private.

M. A. Young
Florida

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Florida_USATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
786 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dos Angeles Del Mar Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Casa Islena Inn
Casa Islena Inn
#4 of 19 in Rincon
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Playa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Playa Maria

Property: Villa Playa Maria
Address: 4413 km 2.8 interior Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico (Formerly Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located surf retreat on Playa Maria in Rincon, Puerto Rico with epic sunset views and access to the water. Two villas provide plenty of space for you and your family/friends to spread out and enjoy a killer time in one of the most chill surf locations in the Caribbean. The Ocean Villa has 5 bedrooms and 5 baths, an open living space with a gourmet kitchen and has easy access to Playa Maria as well as the saltwater swimming pool. The Garden Villa has 4 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms with a large balcony with sweet views of the property and Playa Maria. Each Villa can be rented individually or together to accommodate up to 24 guests. We are a full service rental, customizing each trip to whatever you desire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Playa Maria - The Villa On Maria`s Beach Hotel Rincon
Villa Playa Maria Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing