We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location / beach,paddleboard, snorkling, etc..”
Review of Villa Playa Maria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Playa Maria
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location / beach,paddleboard, snorkling, etc..”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I go for a weekend and it was perfect. The complete decoration of the house is awesome. The view is superspectacular. The beach it's so close to you, with 10 ft its there.
You can rent a paddle for $50 all day, your private pool and a bar inside de pool include stools.

The only problem is the A/C in the rooms, you can't chg the temperature and its comfortable but with a temperature outside 95-100 degrees its bad inside.

But for everything else, its perfect.

I loved and for sure I will came back soon with other friends.

Highly recommended. Plus the owner Stu it will be your best friend. ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsantiago05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Make no mistake this villa is beautifully maintained and decorated with many amenities. The location is spectacular, right on the beach. Personally I felt Stu was too visible during our stay, letting himself into the home while we were onsite and offsite. I could see his visiting us a few times during our stay ensuring we were enjoying our stay but he was there every day.

He's a nice enough guy, not rude or condesending however if you're opening to advice Stu it would be to keep a lower profile during folks' stay. You provide contact numbers in the event you're needed ...your constant presence was distracting to say the least.

Room Tip: This is a privately owned home, there's no fitness center or room service. The villa is beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank skipd961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our family had the pleasure to spend an entire week at Stu's place. From the moment we arrived we felt as though we were in a 5 star set-up. The Villa is situated directly on oceanfront property with it's own PRIVATE access to the beach. Our family enjoys the laid-back beach lifestyle and this villa offered every amenity possible to make us feel as though we were in paradise. The lush landscape and overall grounds are manicured with great detail. On the inside of the villa are surf and coastal inspired paintings and decorations from local artists. Our family really loved the panoramic view from the villa that showcased the Puerto Rican coastline. Of course our girls loved the pool and its warm water. The villa is perfectly wrapped around the pool for ease of access from all sides. Oh yeah, the surfing. Did I mention the surfing? Everyday! Mellow waves the entire trip. All in all a truly relaxing vacation in an amazing property. Thanks Stu. We are already making plans for our return later this year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We couldn't ask for anything more, it was perfect. It was more than we expected when we arrived. The house is kept in immaculate condition. We stayed on the ground level and the kitchen was huge and even stocked with basic condiments. The grill outside is super clean and large. The pool is warm and right by the kitchen entrance and has a swim up bar. NICE restrooms available outside by the pool as well as showers. Stereo system available to play music inside and/or pool area. More than enough clean towels provided. Bathroom is awesome! Washer and Dryer available.

Stu is extremely helpful and super nice! Trust me you wont want to leave! Location is perfect, close to everthing. We even took a day trip to Mayaguez to eat at Gonzales Seafood.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

After looking for Hotel rooms and condo's I stumbled upon this gated Villa on the water at Maria's beach. We rented top and bottom floors with luxury and privacy that were unmatcheable. We could not have been happier. We were central and short walks to food(Calypso Cafe), Bar(Calypso Cafe/El Bohio) and surf and swim beaches. Although the surf was on the flat side at the end of the season(we came May 13th) both my boys(19 and 13) had a blast. We felt safe to let them roam all day and explore. Taking a car ride up in the neighborhoods is a must. People watching is a great sport and stopping at little bars or hole in the wall food joints is always great to meet some new characters. Lastly, our main character and host was Stu. Stu was helpful, friendly and while always around was not intrusive; more like part of the experience. Great stories. We will be back, but probably January-February to enjoy the surfing more. Thanks and see you soon, Stu! Dan & Noel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just returned from a week in Rincon staying at Villa Playa Maria with my wife and our 6yr old and 6 month old boys. We rented the ground floor of the main villa and it was great. Right on the beach with a awesome pool. It is also gated and felt very safe. Practically right next to Calypso Cafe and centrally located between Domes and Sandy Beach (Tamboo) to the North and Steps Beach and Villa Cofresi to the South. Only a 5-10 minute drive anywhere including the grocery (Edwards). Our typical day was spent surfing in the morning, snorkeling in the afternoon and then swimming in the pool and grilling out beachside, pretty sweet. While the waves are small in the summer it was perfect for my six year old and made snorkeling in Tres Palmas ideal. We spent a day up in Aguadilla at Surfers Beach (near Table Top) which was about a 45 minute drive but was the best surfing day for us. We did not however make it down to Playuela (Cabo Rojo)...but we will be back so we will get down there next time. Stu was around to answer questions about the villa or Rincon and was generally a cool guy, living out the dream of living on the beach and surfing everyday while handling the business and maintenance of the villa and navigating the challenges of living on a island in the Carribean.

Thanks bro we will be back!

Biggest negatives: 1) mosquitoes and ants (but you will have that any where in the tropics this time of year) 2) I was disappointed the Puerto Ricans do not take more pride in their beautiful island we saw way too much litter

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leo60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peabody, ma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We are heading back to Maria to celebrate our 5 Year anniversary. We cannot wait! Thanks Stu for being a great host. Our friends and family cannot wait to be back! See you next year!! M&M

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank velozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
789 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dos Angeles Del Mar Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Coconut Palms Inn
Coconut Palms Inn
#5 of 19 in Rincon
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Playa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Playa Maria

Property: Villa Playa Maria
Address: 4413 km 2.8 interior Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico (Formerly Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideally located surf retreat on Playa Maria in Rincon, Puerto Rico with epic sunset views and access to the water. Two villas provide plenty of space for you and your family/friends to spread out and enjoy a killer time in one of the most chill surf locations in the Caribbean. The Ocean Villa has 5 bedrooms and 5 baths, an open living space with a gourmet kitchen and has easy access to Playa Maria as well as the saltwater swimming pool. The Garden Villa has 4 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms with a large balcony with sweet views of the property and Playa Maria. Each Villa can be rented individually or together to accommodate up to 24 guests. We are a full service rental, customizing each trip to whatever you desire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Playa Maria - The Villa On Maria`s Beach Hotel Rincon
Villa Playa Maria Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing