We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flatbreads and gorgeous location”
Review of Lazy Parrot - CLOSED

Lazy Parrot
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: LPR, located in the Lazy Parrot Inn, has been offering Rincon visitors, a unigue dining experience for more than 20 years. This year we are making changes to our menu lineup that gives every budget an option during these economic times. We will continue to offer seafood and steaks but will be adding a new focus on Puerto Rican food as well as breakfast options. Open Thanksgiving through Labor Day. It's always squawking good!
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great flatbreads and gorgeous location”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It doesn't look like much from the front, but the outside dining area is surrounded by lush vegetation and includes a swimming pool. The menu is somewhat limited, but the flat breads were delicious (the veggie was my favorite). Service was excellent. Our group of 8 was quickly accommodated, and every staff person was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review! When the Lazy Parrot was started in 1989 it was originally a private home with only 50 foot road frontage. Over the years the Lazy Parrot property has grown to 21 rooms with 2 restaurants on 6 acres however we still only have 50 foot of road frontage. Although it doesn't look like much from the street, we promise your LAzy PArrot experience will include a tropical atmosphere, great food and good times!!!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nowhere near as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

In 2014, the Lazy Parrot offered us the best meal of our Rincon trip. It was so amazing, that we chose to go back for a second dinner despite the pricey bill.

Well, the price is still high... but the food is not worth it.

The same party of five went back in 2/2014, and we were all disappointed. Some of the drinks were watery, or downright yucky (the mamasita with jalapeno alcohol was gross). The peach drink was delicious, though. And our food was... fine. It was okay. And at $20 an entree, it should not be "fine".

The best plate at our table was the skirt steak. That was tasty. I ordered the fresh mahi mahi special, as did my brother, and my fish was as tough as chicken. The other two ordered the pork loin, which was fine, and the kebab appetizer as a meal. That was also fine.

We were so excited to go back to the Lazy Parrot. Now we're just irritated that we could have spent half the money on a meal that was 2x better...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lolavictrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
So sorry to hear of your recent experience. The Lazy Parrot strives to provide a quality dining experience but sometimes we fall short of expectations. We thank you for the review so that we may use your comments to better our establishment in the future.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wedding Rehersal Dinner”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

It was a very beautiful restaurant. I loved the drinks that they had. Food was very good and we had a lot of fun there. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lhinlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Burger Night”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

It is a restaurant at a small and nice hotel very well located. They have a Burger Night at half the price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lici3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food/Great Staff”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Lazy Parrot is just a fun place!!
We had my brother's rehearsal dinner there and everyone was awesome. They went out of their way to accommodate us. The food was awesome! We honestly had tons of passed appetizers while we hung out at the bar and then had a completely delicious meal on the covered restaurant area.
I would definitely go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SirinKiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazy Parrot also viewed

Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing