We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A completely outdoor "Swiss Family Robinson" living experience with nature. You can't be shy..”
Review of Tropical Treehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tropical Treehouse
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A completely outdoor "Swiss Family Robinson" living experience with nature. You can't be shy..”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

If you are shy, you'll have to use the outdoor shower and toilet at night when it's dark. And don't forget to close the hatch after you climb the ladder to the top of the treehouse so you don't accidentally fall down through it!

Small leaves naturally continually fall down onto the sinks because it's outdoors, but the grit and rust around the sinks made it appear that they had not been cleaned in a real long time. There was a huge frog sitting by the spicket for our shower that was so big we thought it was fake! And a tiny frog was hanging out inside the toilet, but we never did hear the sound of any coci frogs in this area.

We had mailed our deposit 2 months ahead of time for the Sunset Hooch and our adult son had mailed his deposit for the Luna Hooch. We arrived too late to see the sunset because we couldn't find the place. They don't have a sign. We found the general directions to anywhere in Puerto Rico to be poor, at best. Eighty percent of the streets don't have street signs.

When trying to find the treehouses, we took the first sign for Hwy 115... Note that the directions to the treehouse say to take Hwy #2 coming from Aguadilla or San Juan and then take Hwy #115. There are 2 signs for #115 because it loops around and both ends come out on Hwy. #2.

Do NOT turn at the FIRST sign for #115, which also includes Hwy #111 and takes you through the town of Aguada.

The correct directions are for the SECOND turn onto #115! (If you are not paying close attention, though, you won't even see the first sign for #115.)

Also, the name on the sign of a small resort on the left side of the road just before the the treehouse is not exactly the same name given in the directions.

Jo was was a kind man very willing to let us use his electricity to recharge our camera overnight. However, he had a mix-up in our reservations. He was expecting our son for the Luna Hooch, but had lost my reservation for the Sunset Hooch and didn't know we were coming. Despite that, he reassured us that they sheets were clean. The next morning I found a t-shirt between the bed and the mosquito netting, so I'm not so sure sure....

Nevertheless, lying on the bed at the top of the hooch in the morning and just looking over the top of the forest at the ocean in the distance was an experience of a lifetime.

We stayed the night of Feb. 8, 2010 and it only got down to 74 degrees. We slept with only one sheet on top of us and we did not get cold. However, the water in the shower was cold and never got warm.

My husband has sleep apnea and has to sleep with a c-pap machine. He used a cigarette lighter adapter, which was a hook-up available in the Sunset Hooch. It did work the entire night without any problem.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    11
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

The other reviews mention a hot tub, I will just say I didn't see one anywhere. Also, be aware that the shower in the main "hooch" is COLD WATER only, and the after-dark lights are from a car battery so they don't last long. I can't imagine the smaller hooch is any different. I wish I'd known that before staying there. Otherwise, it's a great place. The view is good and the accommodations are definitely unique. It definitely has the "away from it all" feeling. Except when the neighbors blast their reggaeton!!!

Also, it's NOT a treehouse. In the sense of being supported by a tree. It's a house on bamboo stilts.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mass1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

This place is in a tropical bamboo jungle with a constant ocean breeze and a fantastic view. You sleep above the jungle floor in a treehouse or in a treehouse! We stayed in the mainhouse which has more amenities but next time we will stay in one of the tree house "hootches" (What Jo, the owner, calls them). We had no idea they were so cool! We particularily loved the view of the ocean from the hot tub. Explore the many acres of bamboo, listening to the natural click and clack of the bamboo or ask about surfing lessons from the owners son, Sam. We did both! All within our budget. Thanks Jo! And Sam!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daffydill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

A group of my friends and I had the pleasure of spending a few fantastic days in this beautiful and magical tree house in Rincon. I will definitely stay here anytime I come back to Rincon and HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who loves nature and fun!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkie3382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Ecologically beautiful and innovative. Peaceful and serene - - not for the frilly, spoiled types. Be prepared for nature at its finest, fresh mangoes right off the tree, and an amazing sunset (we stayed in the Sunset Hooch)! We only met Jo and Laura's son, Sam and he was warm and hospitable. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElnSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Its beautiful and the family that owns this is super nice. Theres a bathroom, no fridge, a little stove and sink and shower. Its really a "hippie style"vacation. I went with a friend and we took surf lessons in rincon and ate and stayed here and it was amazing. I loved that I wore flip flops the entire time. It outdoors so it gets hot,but its really really nice. Fun place. Beach is just down the hill. Get bikes or rent a car.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mettola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
0.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
787 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
201 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
5.1 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Treehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Treehouse

Property: Tropical Treehouse
Address: Barrio Pueblo | Calle Julio Soto, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have three treehouses located on 12 acres oflush tropical foliage, with fruit tree, 35 species of bamboo, and tons of privacy. Each "hooch" treehouse has a kitchenette with sink, solar hot water, two burner stove, dishes and utensils, and cooler. The bathroom has a sink, shower, and flush toilet. The upper penhouse suite features a queen size bed with mosquito net, and a killer view of the Caribbean sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Treehouse Hotel Rincon
Tropical Treehouse Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing