We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smiley's Restaurant”
Review of Lazy Parrot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lazy Parrot Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Smiley's Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 April 2008

We didn't stay at the hotel, but ate at the attached restaurant. It was, by far, the best meal we had in Rincon. The atmosphere is very romantic and the service was great. OUr meal took a little longer because of a big party and the waiter bought our drinks. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a more romantic night out.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank magpiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    121
    49
    17
    16
See reviews for
106
187
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

My best friend and I just returned from staying here for 4 nights. We had a very good stay at the Lazy Parrot. It is simple and clean with suitable food options on-site and very friendly staff. I had found a deal on Expedia on our room and so we were in the older section of the hotel which is probably more budget friendly. We did not have any problems with it and were happy with our accomodations. A few things to be aware of, the "balcony" for our room (room 9) was actually just a wide entry way with a couple chairs and our room was right at the front of the hotel so there was some noise from the road. Finding the office to check-in is a bit of a scavenger hunt when you first arrive as you have to wind up and down several sets of stairs and through the beautiful gardens to the other side of the hotel. Definitely leave your bags in the car until you find out where your room is located. While we are in our 30's, it appeared that several of the other guests were seniors and very much enjoying themselves. The breakfast was good, mostly just danishes and toast though and once things run out they aren't readily replaced. The mornings we were down earlier there was some yogurt, fruit and coffee cream, some of the other mornings, there was not. The hot water situation can be a little bit annoying...after a day of beach-going or hiking a warm shower can be nice and only 2 of 4 of my showers included warm water. Overall though, we were very happy with our stay here and would easily stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StillWithWanderLust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Lazy Parrot during January of 2008 for 5 days. We stayed at the Rincon Beach Resort for the first part of our stay because the Lazy Parrot had no availability for those days. In our opinion, the Lazy Parrot wins, hands down. It is a very good value for your dollar kind of place.

The good:
- Nice clean spacious room. Good bathroom. I really liked the balcony/patio outside of our Panoramic room.
- Continental breakfast in the morning. Always fresh and fully stocked. It was nice even to go sit out by the pool in the morning and have a cup of coffee.
- The Rum Shack. Love love love that place. Reggae night was a whole lot of fun.
- Smilin Joes. Great food even though it's a bit overpriced.

The Bad: (nothing really bad, just wanted the contrasting title)
- The roosters across the street. They woke me up at 4am our first night there. Second night had no problem with them
- The only other bad thing is that I am not there right now.

Some other Rincon highlights.....
- Tamboo. Good food, good people, good bar, great view, good times all around
- Rock Bottom. Awesome place to hang out
- Panderia Libonese. Best breakfast sandwiches in town.

Other than that, just rent a car and go explore. There is so much to see and do on the island.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lambert13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

I just returned from Puerto Rico where we spend part of our trip in Rincon at The Lazy Parrot Inn. It is nestled in the hills and has views of the ocean. We stayed in the new building - our room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated with a large balcony overlooking the swimming pool. There is a casual, friendly feel to the place and it was a nice contrast to the large resort in San Juan where we had stayed. The pool is nice but the hot tub was cold during our visit. There are 2 restaurants, one outdoors by the pool which has a decent menu and good food. We did not eat at the restaurant upstairs which is a little more formal but the menu looked inviting. There are some lovely outdoor tables set in little secluded areas. There are 2 cages with parrots and love birds that our kids loved. Our stay included continental breakfast which again was eaten by the pool. While waiting for our dinner the first night, our kids played with other kids around the pool area while we chatted with other guests. It was definately relaxing for us and our children.

On the downside, when we arrived, we had already been in Peurto Rico for a week and had three big pieces of luggage. We had to lift them up a flight of stairs, then down a series of steps at the other side and then up two flights of stairs to our room!!! I asked if there was anyone to help with bags and was told no! On our departure, we discovered that we could drive down the side of the inn and bring our bags out by the bar but that still involved lugging them down two flights. Also, on our first night, the ice machine was out of ice and the blender to make frozen drinks was broken.

The second night we stayed, there was an engagement party by the pool and some other event going on and the place was crowded. We placed our order for dinner shortly before 8pm and at 8:40pm were told that they were out of one of the items that we ordered. I ordered a salad instead (thinking it would be quick) but by 9pm still no food and one of our kids had fallen asleep. At that point, we cancelled our order and went to our room. There was music blaring by the pool until 11pm which was right underneath our balcony. This may have been a once off - the waiter was really haried - but it might be worth checking with them if there are any parties scheduled during your stay.

Also, there is a small step-up going from the pool area to the breakfast area that is not that obvious and we noticed a few people trip over it. On the morning we were leaving, a woman fell over it dropping a glass plate and landed on a piece of broken glass that went into her knee. This is a definate hazard that could be easily rectified by painting the step up a bright color.

Pool hours are only from 10am to 6pm but did not seem to be strictly enforced. Our kids are early risers and bugged us from 8am to go in the pool but we did not permit them because of the rule. We were more comfortable with breaking it when other guests were swimming in the pool outside these hours. You also need your own towels to bring to the beach, which we did not know.

On the whole, we loved the ambiance and the casual laid back feel at the Lazy Parrot. I think we were unfortunate on our second night and that this may have been an anomoly. We would give it another try.

  • Liked — Laid back feel, conducive to socializing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SineadM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We were looking for a budget priced accomodation to rest our bodies for 5 nights so that we could enjoy the warmth of Rincon, Puerto Rico during the day time. The Lazy Parrot fit the bill perfectly. Our accomodations were simple and clean. Although the room was small and cozy, it was just right for my wife and I. Afterall, we didn't come to Rincon in the middle of the winter to stay in a room. We were there to enjoy the beaches, the sunshine, the people and the drinks! Booking the room over the Internet was easy. Franzia, the hostess answered any questions I had via e-mail. The check-in was easy. Considering the fact that we arrived at the Inn at about 1am, we had no trouble checking into our room as Franzia had given us instructions as to what to expect and where our key would be located. The Inn has a distinct tropical ambience to it. It has a quaint tropical setting, a nice pool and a soothing breeze, which always seemed to caress us any time of the day. The place was quiet during the day and a bit lively at night as it anchors a restaurant, Smilin' Joe's and a pool bar, The Rum Shack. We didn't get to sample the fare at Smilin' Joe's, but we did frequent The Rum Shack several times during our stay. We enjoyed their hot wings immensely.

A simple continental breakfast awaited us each morning and was just right to take us into lunch. Nothing fancy, but enough to suffice our appetites. For those travelers who are conscious of the environment, the Lazy Parrot is a Green Hotel. They do their best to conserve the resources with solar cells to heat their water, which brings to mind about the only slight inconvenience of our stay. Because one or two days were cloudy, for one day our shower water was not as warm as we would have liked it. And the hot tub wasn't that hot either. But we didn't need to use the hot tub and we took a quick shower. The remaining days our showers were hot.

To sum it up, if you are looking for elegance and pampering, the Lazy Parrot would most likely not be your style. But if you are a budget minded traveler, looking for a simple getaway mixed with some fun, in the hills of Rincon, you can't go wrong with this place. In fact, my wife and I hope to return there next winter.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The not-so-warm shower
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSimpleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, MN
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Although I knew the hotel was not directly on the beach, I was very disappointed to discover that my "ocean view" room did not have a view of the ocean unless I was using binoculars. I stayed in the new addition and the room was spacious, well decorated and had a large balcony. There are no phones in the room so communicating with friends in other rooms is near impossible unless you use cell phones or yell from one balcony to another. Although the bathroom was very modern, it lacked sufficient lighting to even wash your face and you certainly couldn't see well enough to put makeup on. There were no shelves, etc in the shower stall to hold soap or hair products. We were there for 3 nights and on the first day they told us the hot tub needed a part for the heater. It never arrived. We actually left a day early (and of course they wouldn't refund any money; in fact, when we checked in they immediately charged us for the balance of our stay before even showing us to our rooms) and went to Ponce for a night before returning to San Juan. The hotel had been given great reviews and I was totally disappointed.

  • Liked — The balcony
  • Disliked — No ocean view or beach without driving several miles
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RADAR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, 23 March 2008
As owner/managers of The Lazy Parrot, we always try to emphasize that our location is 'above the beach' on Rt. 413 and stress that a car is
necessary to reach Rincon's many beaches. Our website clearly states 'Our closest beach is just 1/2 mile away'. If you read somewhere that
beaches were closer than this, please let us know so that we can correct the listing or article.
We are very careful to refer to our new Poolside
Balcony rooms as 'views to the ocean" Again, if you
have seen references to ocean views that make it appear that we are closer to the ocean, please advise us where they are and we will have
them corrected.

Although feedback on our new rooms has been great, your comments regarding the bathrooms are very appreciated and we plan to add more shelves and lighting as soon as we can do it without disrupting our guests.

Our cancellation policy is standard for hotels in this area and cancellation terms are very clear on our website, confirmation letters and check-in forms.

As you mention, The Lazy Parrot receives many great reviews and we always work as hard a possible to make sure that guests enjoy their
stay - however, the main issue of the jacuzzi was outside of our control. The jacuzzi was repaired and back in service as soon as the parts were received - shortly after your departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
2.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
776 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
201 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
4.8 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Parrot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Parrot Inn

Property: Lazy Parrot Inn
Address: 4.1 Carr 413 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677-2108, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lazy Parrot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Room inn with 2 restaurants and bars nestled in the mountain overlooking the valley and ocean below. 1/2 Mile to 2 miles from several beaches, swimming, surfing, snorkeling, whale watching and many more activities available in Rincon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lazy Parrot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Parrot Hotel Rincon
Lazy Parrot Rincon
Lazy Parrot Inn Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing