We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, Misleading, Overpriced....”
Review of Lazy Parrot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lazy Parrot Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing, Misleading, Overpriced....”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I booked a standard room with 2 queen beds for one night, two months in advance; at the time of check-in, I was given what seem to be a handicap equipped room with two full beds. I went back to the counter and told the counter clerk that there was some kind of mistake, since the room did not meet the description of the room I booked for which I paid a lot of money. To my surprise the counter clerk told me that they were completely booked and it was the only room available, and by the way, there was no manager available to handle my situation. I followed up with a phone call the following week, and spoke to the manager, Jahbiek Gomez, who told me that they were not going to give me any kind of compensation (discount or credit); because I got what I paid for, a standard room with 2 full beds. The manager brushed me off by stating that they had informed hotel and travel online booking outlets that they do not have rooms with 2 queen beds.

My experience was misleading; they should not be offering what they can't deliver. Disappointing, the room was in bad shape and outdated, the door was so fragile that anyone could force open; not to mention that anyone could look between the door and the doorframe. The small refrigerator in the room was rusty on the inside. The closet door was an old and smelly curtain. The beds were all beat up, we could feel the springs on our backs. The toilet had a rusty handicap bar around it, which could not be removed, making it a challenge to sit on it. The restaurant bathroom was right across the room door; you must imagine what an awful experience that was. The Jacuzzi was not working, and it was full of dirty water. The restaurant was supposedly closed for renovations, bar was closed all weekend, which made it very inconvenient to get in the car and go look for a restaurant. By the way, it is not even close to the beach, it is one mile away from the beach, which is a 30-minute walk. All that makes it overpriced, it cost me twice as much than one night at the Howard Johnson in San Juan right across from the beach. Basically the hotel is a guesthouse, since it has no amenities whatsoever and no staff services after 5:pm. They give you a phone number for any maintenance issues you may encounter, which by the way was not able to help us when we called because we had no hot water.

To sum it all up, we have traveled to several countries and states and had never pay over $150 for a room in such conditions. There are no words to express how disappointing this experience was to us.

Attached are some pictures taken of the outdated and unpleasant conditions of the room for the amount of money we paid for a one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlitod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Although we try and accommodate every guest, sometimes we just don’t meet someone’s expectations. As we clearly state in our write ups, we do not claim to be a chain hotel nor do we want to be.

Anytime someone is unhappy with their accommodations we make every effort to rectify the situation, however sometimes due to maximum occupancies, we can’t move or upgrade the client, as was in this case.

This guest booked their 1 night stay through an online reservation site and with that comes a guarantee of a room to be available in the chosen category. When guests have special needs or requests, as certain bed size, location, etc., it is imperative that you book directly with the hotel, so that those needs/requests can be addressed.

Although the pictures do not show the state of the room when this guest arrived, he never mentioned that it wasn’t clean or the amenities weren’t provided. No other guests have reported any issues with the quality of our beds and no where on TripAdvisor will you find that either. We will be replacing the mini fridge, something we do often in the tropics. Our handicap room is required by law and outfitted with those requirements, even though most guests are not.

We are in the process of upgrading our facilities at this time (which I might ad is posted on this online site). Renovations are never fun but the outcome is and we are very excited about this season and the new additions to our restaurant family.

The Lazy Parrot prides itself on customer relations and quality accommodations. We can’t make everyone happy all the time but I promise, we sure try.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    122
    49
    17
    16
See reviews for
108
189
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Lazy Parrott is a great place to stay in Rincón. I stayed in a poolside room which is fully remodeled. The qualities of the materials used for the renovation were top quality. Beautiful décor and even the bed quilts looked new. The AC also seems to be new. It was very quiet and it worked well to keep our room cool. Our 3rd floor balcony had ocean and sunset views. The Inn is up a hill and the breeze in the pool area is very nice. The restaurants and bar in the Inn are currently under renovation so I cannot comment on those. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR-Nature-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review and recent stay! We are so happy to hear you noticed the details. Hope to see you again soon!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

It's just perfect the ambiance, cleanliness, best thing of all location. Rincon its the perfect place to go if you looking for a relaxing but cool place. Lazzy Parrot has it all. Beach view but with the perfect combination of town-country-beach place. Pool was in need of some care, but they said that they going to give some maintenance in September this year.

Helpful?
Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Yes, the pool has been repaired (on schedule I might add) and our Lazy Parrot logo on the bottom is just as beautiful as ever. We are still working on the remodel of the Rum Shack and the new Brick Oven is scheduled for delivery today. I promise you won't be disappoint with what we have in store for this season. Our goal is to always keep the Lazy Parrot new and exciting! Thanks for all your support and noticing the details we work so hard on!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Lazy Parrot is a cute house secluded in the beautiful mountains of Rincon. Here you are the characteristics of the hotel:

Advantages:
- Beautiful scenary.
- Quiet and relaxing atmosphere.
- Original decorations.
- Swimming pool.
- Little bar with happy hours.
- Little souvenirs shop inside.
- Nice breakfast.
- Television, fridge, micro-waves, free wi-fi and bathroom in the room.
- Free car park.
- Clean

Disadvantages

- It's not easy to find if you don't have the route.
- You need a car to go.
- It's 10 minutes by car from the beach.
- We had difficulties to find someone to obtain our keys when we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaESpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
We thank you for your review! I love your Amazing Spot description! We are located on a main road however roads in Puerto Rico are winding and narrow and thus you don't drive very fast so it always seems to take longer than it actually does. We are only about 3/4 mile to the closest beach so if it took you 10 minutes you must have gone to a beach much further from the hotel.

Depending on how you book your stay with us determines how much information you have before you arrive. If you are arriving after 5 pm, give the hotel a call so you are apprised of late check in procedures.

Again, thank you for your review!
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel previously ( approx. 1yr ago) and I hate to say it has really gone downhill, the rooms were fine, except ours was missing the AC control, which apparently had been noticed a couple of weeks ago., no action taken, room was uncomfortably cold during our stay. My biggest complaint was the Bar/ Restaurant area, almost two thirds of the items on the menu either had been eliminated, or they had run out, dinner was a bust, chicken over cooked, fake shrimp, cook had the attitude that he really did not care, Hot Tub was very cold and cloudy ( dirty) unfortunately there is really no other place to eat nearby, so if you don't like to have an early dinner, you are stuck with the mediocre food. Quite a shame, because it is really a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank montyl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
I am so sorry of your disappointment in the Lazy Parrot. We strive to give exceptional service and accommodations. This past weekend was the last weekend of operation for the Rum Shack and with it a close out of food and spirits. Labor Day we began our extensive renovation of the pool as well as the space that will now become Mi Familias Pizzeria. We are very grateful for all the business we get and we give back by keeping the place fresh however there are only certain times of the year that we can shut down and make those upgrades.

As of today, the water is going back in the pool and the parrot mosaic is a beautiful as the first day he flew here. We hope you will come back and check out our new restaurant space and enjoy a dip in the newly finished pool.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is close to the beach and restaurants. It is very cozy but I can't give it a more favorable rating since I just stayed this Labor day weekend and the pool was dirty (they are about to renovate it though) , the restaurant was closed, the continental breakfast is very continental. It was as if they couldn't wait for this weekend to pass so they could close or something. The Hotel was clean and the staff friendly. Could use a little renovation and it was pricy compared to what we saw. If I had to stay there I probably try other places before I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We thank you for your response! I can't deny that the pool was not up to par, thus the scheduled repair that began as guests were checking out from the holiday weekend. As long as the weather holds out, the pool repair will be completed on schedule.

I am a little confused by the restaurant closure comment since our Rum Shack Poolside Restaurant was open all weekend. If you are commenting on our other restaurant that is seasonal, that will be re-opening in November as always.

Not only are we repairing our pool but we are remodeling the Rum Shack to accommodate our newest restaurant member to the Lazy Parrot, Mi Familias Pizzeria, which will be opening in October.

When ever we have major repairs or remodeling we understand it is an inconvenience for guests, if we made you feel like we couldn't wait to get started, we apologize! We hope you stop back in next month or so and check out our new poolside area!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luquillo, PR
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Nothing new to report. Hotel staff is as awesome as always. Hotel needs a little paint here, a tile fix there. Nothing to worry about. After staying there at least 10 times, we'll probably stay somewhere else next time... But we always say that and always end up staying at the Lazy Parrot.

Room Tip: Rooms 10-11, or any room in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puertoricosigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review and of course your numerous stays! You have given me the perfect opportunity to tell you all that is in store for the Lazy Parrot this year.

Beginning, September 2 our remodeling begins....pool repair and Rum Shack remodel (those loose tiles didn't go unnoticed). It is always a challenge to schedule repairs without limiting guest services or disturbing a restful vacation so most of the time we have to wait for September to roll around.

This fall the Lazy Parrot will be welcoming Mi Familias Pizzeria to our restaurant family. The brick oven is scheduled to arrive soon and pizzas will be flying out of the Rum Shack before you know it.

So now I have given you at least 2 more reasons to stay at the Lazy Parrot.....hope to see you again soon!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
2.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
795 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
1.3 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
2.2 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
26.6 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Parrot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Parrot Inn

Property: Lazy Parrot Inn
Address: 4.1 Carr 413 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677-2108, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lazy Parrot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Room inn with 2 restaurants and bars nestled in the mountain overlooking the valley and ocean below. 1/2 Mile to 2 miles from several beaches, swimming, surfing, snorkeling, whale watching and many more activities available in Rincon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lazy Parrot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Parrot Hotel Rincon
Lazy Parrot Rincon
Lazy Parrot Inn Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing