We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cottages AT the beach, but otherwise very simple” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cottages AT the beach, but otherwise very simple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We enjoyed the location of the cottages, which were AT the beach. The beach was narrow, but the waters were calm and perfect for swimming. It's not the picture-perfect Carribbean beach, though. But there are hardly any other hotels around, so you'll mostly have the beach to yourselves.

The beach was accessible directly from our porch, but it wasn't our private entrance. The porch doesn't provide a lot of privacy and the fact that the beach entrance is right in front of it makes it somehwat public. I think if there are a lot of guests, you can feel very exposed. The cottages are clean, but simple. No warm water in the shower on most days and you're asked to place your used toilet paper in a bin next to the toilet. There was no house-keeping on the weekend, which meant the used toilet paper was in the hot and humind bathroom all weekend long.
WiFi is not existent, so don't count on that if you need wifi for planning purposes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria_10085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LemonTree, Owner at LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed Lemontree's oceanfront view and the calm and beautiful beach. The sunrises and sunsets on Lemontree's beach are breathtaking. Our natural beach, while narrow, is fun to walk and explore as taking a walk almost always yields a pretty shell or piece of tumbled and colorful, seaglass. Our beach does not have other hotels, only private beach houses, so the density of people using the beach is very, very low.

Lemontree has daily room refreshment seven days a week. The housekeeper visits each suite. Sometimes, as in the case of your room on Saturday, guests do not answer the door, and thus she cannot service the suite. If someone does not respond it usually means they do not wish to be disturbed. If you had only come and let us know you were ready, your suite would have been serviced. The custom of putting waste paper in the trash can instead of the toilet is common throughout Puerto Rico and Florida, in places where the water table is high. We provide plenty of additional plastic bags, to be used as needed.

As for the hot water in the shower, the water heater is an on-demand hot water heater. Water is heated when the tap is turned on. It can take some moments for the water in the line to warm up, thus, hot water may take a little longer to arrive than you are used to. As a green hotel we are committed to conserving energy and thus we do not have large tanks of hot water sitting around. Again, if only you had come and told us of your concern and we could have explained the hot water system, and you would have had a more enjoyable stay.

Finally, the gate and walkway to the beach near the suite's area is not a public beach entrance but one only for the Lemontree. Most folks want close access to the beach and this suite has that. The suite also has a large covered outside space with Adirondack chairs and a picnic table. As the rest of the Lemontree, this suite is up off the beach on the Old Spanish wall so there is privacy from the beach, yet there is the direct view of the ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    46
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
116
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Lemontree was perfect for us. A bit off the beaten path so very quiet and private. You can't get a better view from a room. The owners are right on site if you need anything. We switched places to stay (planned our trip that way) so we could experience different parts of town, but if we ever come back with a bigger group of people, we would definitely come back to Lemontree.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

First off I loved Rincon! So small and beautiful and easy to get around. I was very appreciative for the staff staying up late to greet me as drove in from San Juan. I loved my stay at Lemontree. They were gracious enough to connect me with a amazing local masseuse Vivianne who helped me relax every morning with a massage on my terrace. The crashing ocean, the croqui frogs were all harmonizing noises which helped me relax! My room was clean, relaxing and spacious. Very cute, very charming. I think the Lemontree is a beautiful place and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a perfect place to relax and unwind, far from the madding crowd. It is great value, with beautiful rooms looking onto the ocean and an uncrowded beach. Rincon was even protected from summer storms while we were here. This is the perfect place if you want to unwind. You'll need a car since the town is not within easy walking distance. One of the best vacation rentals that we've ever had. We'll be back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Excelente lugar para relarse y salir de la rutina. Habitación limpia. Cuarto privado. Cocina para no gastar en fastfoods. Excelente lugar!!
Perfect place to stay far from the rutine. Clean room, the beach is outside your balcony, very bright and private, own kitchen, beautiful beach!!

I stayed in the Banana Suite for 3 nights with my husband and was a perfect honey moon place to relax and enjoy the beautiful nature of the Caribbean Island of Puerto Rico.

Highly recomend this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francheska_Hernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June/July 2013. It is a calm, peaceful, and charming property! You will drift off to sleep to the sound of ocean waves and coquis. We stayed in the Pina suite which is upstairs. The property is very well maintained, the rooms were very clean, and the balcony is enormous - if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway, consider the Lemontree! You definitely need a car to get around if you want to go into town, which isn't far. It was nice to drive around for the day, see other parts of Rincon (see the lighthouse, visit the Calypso bar, and grab a delicious Pirate coconut drink at Villa Cofresi!), and then head back to our suite to relax. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is not your all inclusive resort! It is quiet, relatively secluded and very laid back.
It's all about the decks over the water and the peaceful little beach in front.
The full kitchens allow you to grab local produce from the markets and keep beers and wine cool so you don't have to leave that deck.
Town is a drive away not a walk so make sure you rent a car.

Room Tip: Get the upstairs rooms, We had Mango which is the best of the 6 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merceruk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
2.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
5.0 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 8 in Rincon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
20.0 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rincon Beach Resort
Rincon Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anasco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages

Property: LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages
Address: Carr 429 Km 4 1 | PO Box 200, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private and directly on the beach, our eight oceanfront suites build vacation memories that stay with you for a lifetime. You will live by the sea, in tune with the natural rhythm of the sea and sky without time and pressure. Our beach is tranquil and our lifestyle is relaxed. This place is that "low door in the wall" which opens a space for grownups looking to reawaken their spirits. The beach here at the LemonTree is calm, swimmable and walkable. Private terraces and kitchens make the suites economical and fun. Each suite has its own charm and amenities so be sure to check out each one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemontree Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Rincon
Lemontree Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Lemontree Waterfront
LemonTree Oceanfront Cottages Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing