We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, good price, extremely noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, good price, extremely noisy”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

At first glance this hotel has it all. Beautiful location, on the beach, great bar with music, towel service, jet ski rental, full beach view, clean, and friendly. Sounds great and we definetely enjoyed ourselves however the bar noise can be unbearable. On weekends plan on not sleeping before midnight. It seems that the place is bar first and hotel second. We loved being on the beach and enjoyed the bar and restaraunt during the day but because of the night noise we will not be returning to stay.

If you want good service and beach front, this place can work but be aware of the noise. It seems there is one quieter building and we tried to ask for it but we were told our room would be quiet enough. Looking around I don't see how any of the rooms in the main building could be quiet.

I believe there are other great places to stay in Rincon and visit this hotel for the lively bar and beach atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    233
    71
    31
    14
See reviews for
258
253
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Junction, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We flew almost 3000 miles to the Villa Cofresi and we were not disapointed. Every request was met with a smile and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Steps from the ocean and a great bar. Our last day we got to watch 2 whales jumping out of the ocean right in front of the hotel for the better part of 2 hours. WE WILL BE BACK !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicho128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 10 day stay at the Villa Cofresi. To put it simply, we LOVED this hotel.
The room we stayed in was a deluxe ocean view king and I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. The room was very large and very clean, with a big balcony over-looking the ocean. One of the things that struck me was that there was no musty smell that you often find in hotel rooms when you travel to the Caribbean. Housekeeping was great and any requests from the front desk ( i.e. extra pillows) were handled promptly and courteously. We didn't have the problem with noise from the bar that some of the reviewers mention but that was becuase we were in the section of the hotel that is farthest away from the bar- it is definitely worth the $$ to book one of these rooms if you can.
Speaking of the bar- what a blast! The bartenders are really fun and friendly and the service was great. You must try the pirata special that everyone talks about- yummy and STRONG. We ate lunch every day at the hotel bar and the food was delicious. The more formal restaurant at the hotel is ok but there are so many funky, beachy places to eat in Rincon that we went off property every night for dinner.
The service at the hotel was top notch and we felt very welcomed and "at-home" from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. As many reviewers have stated, this isn't the Ritz or the Four Seasons. However, if you want a casual, laid back hotel right on the beach the Villa Cofresi is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CdnAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Three generations of our family returned to this most amiable hotel in early 2012 (age range about 80 to 23). We all enjoyed it immensely - because it offers a rich variety of prospects for relaxing or entertainment. The options are yours. Choose wisely and be flexible (in attitude - or posture, if you choose to participate in the free yoga classes). Because the seniors among us began to come here 15 years ago, we have witnessed and admired the development of this place -- improvements have been gradual, but meaningful. There is also a personality component to your enjoyment of this environment -- it's not for those seeking luxury. It is not your all-inclusive resort that isolates you from the local community - you have an opportunity to be a part of it. What continues to impress us is the number of returning clients who book multiple week stays year after year -- and then enjoy their reunions. Do peruse the TripAdvisor reviews. They offer meaningful advice that helps you to book in keeping with your tastes. Never be reluctant to make requests of the management -- their pleasure always seems to be to meet your needs. I once had a dead battery in a rental car, and they lent me a spare to use until the agency replaced it -- not your usual hotel service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I liked this hotel less the second time I stayed there. Originally I was charmed by the friendly, low-key atmosphere, affordable beachfront rooms, fun bar scene and spectacular sunset views. Those are the pluses. But for me the general condition of the grounds and bar area was a turn-off. It's just a bit too shabby and grimy... Tables and furniture that needed a thorough cleaning, the smell of stale food and spilled drinks in the bar, tiles with too much built up dirt. The public areas did not feel clean enough ( the rooms however were spotless). Not a disaster though, just distracting. The restaurant needs healthier food options on the menu, and the included breakfast had so much processed food that we ended up eating elsewhere. However for affordable beachfront it is a great option for a few days. Great for families as the rooms are large.

Room Tip: Bar area is fun but can be noisy. Ask for room away from the bar area. Also, rooms with oceanfront v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Rooms away from main building are really nice and peaceful.
Only problem in the entire weeks stay was the people at the reception desk.
They tried to totally ignore customers acting as if whatever was happening on their computer screens was more important.
Everything else was brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formerbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year, we thought it was great. The rooms were big, but remember that you are right on the beach so the rooms are a little musty, but that is to be expected. There is a beautiful beach bar on the beach of this property, it is open to everyone including locals, it becomes exteremely raucous and loud, we loved it and had a great time meeting and hanging out with the locals, however if you are looking for relaxation and quiet, this is not the place for you .

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the open air lobby and bar area. Ours was on the other side of the hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
24.4 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
426 reviews
77.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Property: Villa Cofresi Hotel
Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon
Villa Cofresi Hotel Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing