We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, fun hotel-why all the bad reviews?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful, fun hotel-why all the bad reviews?”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

When we arrived at Vila Cofresi, we were greeted by a courteous and helpful staff, parking was easy and plentiful, even on Saturday night when they had a wedding and a birthday party. Property is close to other area beaches, restaurants, liquor store and shopping. The room was quite large with a comfortable king size bed, and a great balcony overlooking the ocean. We were in room 316, away from the pool area. The restaurant has great lunch and dinner, the breakfast though was sparse, even for a continental breakfast, but it was good enough for an early morning coffee and muffin before exploring. The bar staff was great and so were the drinks. The bar has music and/or karoake all week until 11pm. The one night we turned in early, we couldn't hear it with AC running. Fri-Sat they have Karoake and other entertainment until 12pm. We had so much fun at the bar, the beach and exploring Rincon. I would go back 100%.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you go to bed early. Deluxe rooms are on 3rd floor, no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekgri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    233
    72
    31
    14
See reviews for
260
256
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

The efficiency room had a kitchen with a few dishes and one pan (one is better than none!). The room was located in a separate build outside of the entry to the main hotel building.
This was my second stay @ Villa Cofresi. The bar area is one of the more lively spots in Rincon. Beach is great for swimming and hanging out. Also very very safe to enjoy walks up and down the shore.

There is a superb liquor store across the street and a laundromat in the parking lot by the store.

This place would be great for families and people of all ages. There are televisions at the bar playing sports all of the time.

Even if you don't stay here you can still come and enjoy the beach,bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Michele3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel was perfect for what we wanted - clean rooms with an oceanfront location. We were really impressed with all of the staff with whom we interacted. We needed to check in and out very early in the morning (essentially overnight) and were assisted by the very helpful security staff. We had three wonderful servers at dinner (we ate in the restaurant twice - we found the food to be fine but especially loved the friendliness of the servers and the view overlooking the water). We also had many interactions with the front desk / front office staff and found them to be more than accommodating in answering our questions and helping us with our reservations.

We stayed at Hotel Villa Cofresi at the beginning and end of a week-long trip around Puerto Rico. We originally had reservations for the least expensive rooms - the efficiencies that don't include breakfast. They are in a building across the street from the main property. While they were clean, we definitely got what we paid for - no frills and, since we were not at the main property, we did not feel like we were on a beach vacation. I also found the room to be a bit noisy, though it's not on a busy road. When I requested that we be moved to a room that was quieter, the front desk staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. They upgraded us to an oceanfront room and even took us to see two options and let us decide which would best suit our needs. The manager then made a point to provide us with the same experience at the end of our trip, offering a room of the same quality for a very small increase in rate (we thought this was worth it and highly recommend spending an extra few dollars to stay at the main property).

Before booking Hotel Villa Cofresi, we read the reviews on TripAdvisor and were somewhat concerned about the reports of noise from the bar. The bar does play music into the evening. However, we were appreciative of having a bar/restaurant on the property to provide some entertainment, enjoy the sunset, etc. Given our positive interactions with the staff, I would think that they would do their best to honor requests for a quiet room whenever possible. When we moved to the oceanfront rooms, we were in a wing of the hotel that did not overlook the bar and could not hear any noise. We came to the beach to relax and still found the bar / restaurant area to be more of an amenity than a detractor.

Why not 5 stars? The hotel is by no means "luxurious", but it has all of the amenities we needed for our vacation at the beach (clean rooms, great view, nice pool area, etc.). We really enjoyed having the beach right in front of the hotel, but several of the chairs on the beach are broken and should be replaced. During our second stay, we also had a problem with our toilet (the tank was very slow to fill so it functioned but was inconvenient). We called several times, and maintenance came several times, but the problem was never really resolved.

Despite these two minor issues, we had a great stay at Hotel Villa Cofresi. For me, customer service is critical to my experience as a guest, and Hotel Villa Cofresi really excelled in this area. (And the view can't be beat!) If we were to return to Rincon, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebugg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Incredibly accommodating staff and unmatched location in Rincon - you are literally meters from the surf.

I was greeted by Rita, who owns the hotel with her family. She offered a room tour and facility walk through and was very informative about Rincon. You're really going to enjoy your stay at Cofresi.

I'm already planning my next business trip to PR and Villa Cofresi.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The hotel is certainly a fun tropical getaway - complete with karaoke, live music and drinks served in fresh coconuts. Entertainment also includes a mini arcade, pool tables and a zumba class offered once during our stay. The staff is friendly, courteous and very accommodating. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, laid back beach vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moneta, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Nice hotel if you are ok with just the basics. Clean and steps away from the beach. My only issue was the slow response we received when there was an issue with the cable being out in our room. I was given a blanket response ‘it’s out for the whole town’. However cable was working two streets down when we went for dinner’. They assumed it was the town and never placed a call.

I know who comes to a beach hotel and worries about cable. But it was a rainy day and I was traveling with a 7 year old. 

Room Tip: Room 224 is one of the lower rated rooms, but right on the edge of the hotel with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosi0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
24.4 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
690 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
202 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
0.1 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Property: Villa Cofresi Hotel
Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon
Villa Cofresi Hotel Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing