We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights from Jan.18,2014 to Jan 23, 2014. All in all it was a pleasant stay. We arrived late after the long drive from San Juan airport. The drive was awful, it took over 3 hours. Our plane arrived in San Juan an hour and a half late so we only had an hour or so of daylight. The road trip was exasperated by traveling in the dark. What few road signs there are, they were in Spanish, so we had a more difficult time way finding. All I can say is if you are driving from San Juan to Rincon, do it during the day and be sure to have a GPS on you phone, or rent one from the car rental. And if you do drive a rental be sure to purchase the e-express chip for your car. The first hour of driving is on Hwy 22 which is a toll road, the chip allows you to go through on the left side of the toll without stopping. You barely need to slow down. It worked great for us. The last two hours of the drive is on hwy. 2. It has stoplights every 2 to 3 miles, sometimes even closer. It was madding. Take highway 2 to 402 into Rincon. If you miss 402, you can always take 115.
We made it to Villa Cofresi shaken and stirred but all in one piece. When I made reservations I requested a quiet room. A week before we left on our trip, I called the hotel and specifically requested a quiet room. Once we arrived at the hotel, at check-in, I requested a quiet room. So what did they give us?... A room literally right over the bar and party room. The loud music played until midnight every night. We asked for a different room and was told that hey were booked up, so we suffered through it.This was frustrating considering the effort that we went through.

The room size was adequate and had it's own balcony looking over the bar out to sea, so that was nice. The room was clean and comfortable. We only had one key for the room door which was cheesy and the door itself seemed a little insecure. The bathroom was fine. The bathtub/shower had a hard time draining, so we left the plug out and that seemed to remedy the problem. The AC worked brilliantly and there was plenty of closet space. The refrigerator worked fine for our beer and snacks.

The housekeeping staff was great. They did a good job detailing our room unobtrusively and conveniently. The front desk staff were a little edgy, some were helpful and others seemed put out if you asked them anything. Very odd customer service at the front desk. The bartenders service was slow, the drinks were marginal and expensive. The rum punch was the best value and not too bad with a Medella beer. We tried he large coconut drink that they called the Pirate, we didn't care for it.

The hotel is right on the beach, which is awesome. The sunsets are fantastic every night. The bar is noisy, but after a few rum punches who cares!! There was a large young mid twenties and younger crowd hanging out there which was fun to watch. The hotel is cheap but it does have value. I recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget and to young singles, looking for a great time.

Other than the loud room we had a pretty good experience at Villa Cofresi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We really appreciate that you took your time to write a review about your experience with us at Villa Cofresi. We apologize, but we don't have a record of your request for a quiet room. We do have a request for a king size, non smoking. At the moment of your check in, we did not have a deluxe with a king size bed available located in the quiet side of the hotel. We work really hard to please all requests and we feel bad that we were not able to find a quiet room at your check in time. We are pleased you were satisfied with the room and housekeeping staff. We are so sorry you did not have a great experience with our front desk clerks and our bartenders, which is usually the case with most of our clients. We have been around for 49 years and we do appreciate you understood our value. We are a family oriented, happy place where people do have a great time like you mention in your review. We hope you come back to Rincon and Villa Cofresi. We will make sure you do get a quiet room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
There are newer reviews for Villa Cofresi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I haven't even gotten there and I am impressed! I called to make a reservation my family is traveling from MI and will be in the Caguas area. Since we've never been to Rincon, we want to drive there and take a few of our nieces from Juncos with us. I was concerned about having enough space for a couple, 15 year old and potentially 2 young women. After I reserved what was available, I received a call back regarding a more accommodating space for our stay! I was so happy. So, I just know the stay is going to be wonderful and perhaps my next visit, it will be for longer!
Thank you,
Mary Ann Santana

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We are waiting for you at Villa Cofresi. We guarantee you will love your two bedroom apartment, as well as all our facilities and our excellent Restaurant specializing in fresh seafood, the best Angus beef and Puerto Rican cuisine. Yes, you are right. We hope you come back, but for a longer period. Villa Cofresi Hotel will be your home in Rincon from now on and you will feel as part of our family. We are looking forward to meeting you and your family in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at the Villa Cofresi after it was recommended by someone at a coffee shop. We were pleasantly surprised. The amenities were awesome from pool tables, to ping pong and a great pool. Loved the bar area. It didn't feel like a big resort which is what we wanted but it felt secure and safe. Most of the guests were Puerto Rican which says something. The drinks were great and the staff was honest and reliable. We even accidentally left some money in our pockets when they did laundry for us and it came back with the bag. I've never written a review but that really impressed me.

Room Tip: Some of the studios are like apartments with complete kitchens.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you so much for writing this beautiful review about our hotel. You captured exactly what we intend to offer: fun activities, great bar, family atmosphere, safety, honesty, reliability, cultural diversity. We do hope to see you very soon with us again. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Our room had a balcony looking out over the ocean, and the sunset! The sunset was why we came to the Rincon area, and it was better than expected! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant food was very good.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank n5kur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Our sunsets are the best in the universe without a doubt. My personal favorites are the ones during the months of January and February. Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are always training our staff in customer service and the great service comes from the heart. Our Restaurant La Ana de Cofresí specializing in fresh seafood, the best Angus beef in the area and Puerto Rican cuisine makes our visitors very happy. It's traditional food, but with the best ingredients including the love the chefs put into their work and dishes. We hope to have you again with us in the very near future so we can enjoy more sunsets, friendly staff and delicious food. Life is too short!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Being the General Manager of a hotel in my resort hometown I know how hard the hospitality industry is, and therefore I have to give credit where credit is due! Upon walking into Villa Cofresi I was amazed at the open air layout of the lobby and bar and restaurant. The front desk staff was very nice and they even upgraded my girlfriend and I to an oceanfront room which was much appreciated. The room was very clean and the King bed was very comfortable. The beach out front was picture perfect, we rented some paddle boards one day which was fun! When I come back to Rincon I will most def come back to Cofresi. Oh and last but not least, try their signature drink! The Pirata! Thanks Villa Cofresi staff for a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not look down on the bar/restaurant, it oculd be noisy there when there is a b...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austin_Purnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you so much for writing this review about our facilities. When our guests walk into our lobby, we want them to feel like they are walking into the living room of a friend's house. The open air layout and the amazing view of the ocean helps a great deal. When it is combined with great service, rooms, signature drinks and fun things to do, you have the complete package. We are honored that Villa Cofresi offered all these things in excellence for you and your girlfriend. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Service was excellent, food and beverages, unbeatable. We went to celebrate the rehearsal dinner for my daughter. Guests from the United States were delighted with the food, the famous coconuts and the extraordinary service. The price is unbeatable for such a delight being there. The professional, extra mile is present in every detail. Will come back for other activities. That personal treat, delicious food and the all over extravaganza is not found in many places. Thanks for a wonderful, unique evening! Cheers!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are facing the beach and all of them are large and sunny!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuchyroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

We appreciate so much your comments about our facilities, food and service offered for the Rehearsal Dinner. For us, it was a pleasure to serve you and we are glad you, your daughter and guests enjoyed what we have to offer. We hope to serve you again in the very near future for another special event or a family vacation. We will always have many Pirate Drinks and Brujitas available for you and they will be served with a big smile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

value is great. everything at beach front as far as water sports etc.. except surfing are on beaches a few miles away. great tiki bar but it gets LOUD AT NIGHT DONT EXPECT TO SLEEP TILL AFTER MIDNIGHT dont know if any of the rooms escape the noise. pool is small, beach is small also but nice, if not a little rocky like most of the beached. restaurant simple but nice staff remembers you. in fact every one was nice. A CAR IS A MUST. only 2 taxis in town...long walk to town.

Room Tip: ask about avoiding the noise if possible... also people decide to stay up on terrace all hrs and tha...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for writing this review about Villa Cofresi Hotel and Restaurant. Here at Villa Cofresi you get the best of both worlds. If you want to party, the wonderful beach bar goes until midnight, but if you prefer peace and quiet you can also get it. We do have rooms that are very quiet and you don't hear the music from the bar. Just ask for these rooms when you reserve. Service has always been our priority. Since we are a family run operation, our staff understands our mission and vision of service and family. Villa Cofresi offers everything, great rooms, pool, beach, water sports, continental breakfast included with most rooms, free WI-FI, banquet hall for conventions, close to many activities like horseback riding, sunset cruises, whale watching, Yes, we do recommend to have a car while in Rincon. Hope to have you again with us in the very near future. We celebrate 50 years in 2015. Look for special offers for this celebration. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
24.4 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
429 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
3.6 mi away
Rincon Beach Resort
Rincon Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anasco
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range: £93 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon
Villa Cofresi Hotel Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing