We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect. Is located infront of a gorgeous beach. The beach bar is fabulous. The service at the bar and from employees was great. Awesome drinks and finger foods. The front desk very helpful and friendly. Next there is a shack were you ca rent jet skies, canoes and can practice many other water sports. There are supermarkets and restaurants without walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRL614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

I am glad to hear our facilities worked for you and that you found what you were looking for: a beautiful beach, great service, drinks and food, water sports and supermarkets close by. Thank you so much for writing about us. It's amazing how many people make decisions about vacations based on reviews from Trip Advisor. Yes, it is very subjective, but when there is consistency on what people write about a property, you can't go wrong. We hope you come back to Rincon in the very near future and we are able to serve you in excellence again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were booked for 4 days at this hotel, and ended up staying 2 extra days because of a minor medical emergency. The hotel bent over backward to accommodate us, including finding us a room in San Juan when we lost our original reservation due to the date change. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, and the food in the restaurant was delicious. The location is right on the beach, with amazing sunsets. If you are bothered by noise ask for a room in the south wing. The bar area is open in the center of the hotel and can be noisy at night, but we never heard a sound from our room, and the restaurant is enclosed with glass, and it was quiet as well. It was a lovely visit and I hope to return

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the central area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharonrpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

First of all, we hope you are feeling better after your medical emergency. That is the most important thing. It was our pleasure to have you and we hope you come back very soon. I am glad you are pleased with the way you were treated during your stay. Our staff did little things for you and I see now that you don't consider them small and really made a difference for you. I will extend your gratitude to all staff. Thank you so much for writing about your experience with us. We wish you health and many blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Enjoyed our six day stay very much, the staff was always accommodating and very friendly. The room was very nice and we had a beautiful view from our balcony.
The beach is very nice.
The pool was nice, but there was no shade at all, sun umbrellas would be nice.
The breakfast was yummy and we enjoyed sitting outside to eat, however there was a very pungent odor that made it one of the reasons why I could not give it an excellent.
The best dish they severed at the bar and restaurant was the fried fish appetizer, it was yummy!
The thing I enjoyed the most was that the ocean waves can be heard even with the air conditioner on at night. It was so peaceful! We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusyQ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for writing your review about Villa Cofresi. It is always our pleasure to serve you and we hope you come back very soon. For your next visit, please be aware that we do have beach umbrellas, available free of charge for our guests at the front desk. We will find out about the odor that you felt. We were not aware of it.
We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, your room and the view from your room, the ocean waves, our yummy food, our pool, our breakfast and our service. We wish you the best always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our room faced the inner courtyard, bar, ping pong and pool tables. Loud? Yes. Our room was dated and a bit musty too. Bar rocked until 2 am. We went to bed at 10 and it was noisy but not impossible to sleep. It's nice having an outdoor bar at the hotel and Rincon and the area around is so safe! We stayed our first two nights in San Juan on the 18th floor of a high rise hotel and we liked this vibe better. We traveled everywhere and never felt uncomfortable. The staff at Cofresi are great. The time on our two night stay was spent watching surfers at various local beaches north of the hotel during the day, returning at 5 and do cocktails and watch the sunset! It's a big tradition with many, many people coming from all over We would grab dinner at some local place and then return around 10 for a drink by the ocean. The ocean waves literally come right up to the courtyard wall. One night we sat on the beach chairs that sit up against the courtyard wall and had our drinks with the waves gently swirling around us. Would we go there again is my question? Price is good. Energy is good. Right on the water with sounds of waves. It was fine for my husband and me who were up and out the door early and could shut out the late night noise. Great ambience in a facility that doesn't pretend to be more than it is.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runamuk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for writing about your experience at Villa Cofresi Hotel and Restaurant. We hope you enjoyed your vacation in Puerto Rico. You are totally right. We don't pretend to be more than we are. We also hope you got to experience what Puerto Rico is all about and our culture, and our people. Yes, we are very different from a high rise in San Juan. Villa Cofresi is owned by a local family and we don't belong to a big chain, we are independently operated. The most important thing is that our staff treated you right, that you got to experience beautiful sunsets, that the price was reasonable for the offer, that the energy was good. We do have rooms on the very quiet side of the hotel. We would be thrilled if you come back to one of those. Don't question it! We guarantee another great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

i pay for ocean view and i really get i pay. if u go cheap u know what is going to happend . service super. my other half say from now on we come to PR to this hotel if no we stay home. nice peaple around . i was there on feb to march last year .

Room Tip: if u want something good pay for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

We appreciate your review. Short, sweet and to the point, but with plenty of information! What else do you need? Great ocean right in front of our hotel, super service and the conviction that this is the perfect place to stay. We hope to see you again very soon at Villa Cofresi Hotel. Our friendly staff awaits your prompt return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I love this property because it has something special for every type of guest or ocassion. At the most recent stay we enjoyed the lovely and spacious suite, unique sundowns and amazing dinners.
Even when they offer a great variety of water sports, we stayed laid down at the beach.
Each meal was an experience, not only because of the food and presentation, but also for the professional and friendly staff. The breakfast buffet is great and the price is below the standard. Picadera and drinks at the bar were delicious. We tried the red snapper filet and it was spectacular! Another night we tried the t-Bone Steak and it was simply excellent.
We always suggest this property because it is a hidden paradise!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IVBrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write about Villa Cofresi. We are so glad you enjoyed our rooms, our sunsets, our dinners, our waterports, our service Yes, definitely we have something for everyone. I live right here in Rincon and I tell everyone I live in paradise. We love sharing our paradise with the world. I hope you come back very soon. We wish you health and many blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This place was a lucky find that we booked the morning we arrived from Ponce. Price was fine for the awesome location. Decent room away from the bar which was important to us. Very large bar/dining area with 4 pool tables. Separate sparsely decorated interior dining room was air conditioned but we only saw it for the mediocre continental breakfast. Our first floor room with patio directly in-line with their gorgeous (but very narrow) beach. Just one night here in a 'king' bed. Two twins with a thin king pad - yes, there was a nasty gap. Slept with all the louvered windows open to the sound of soothing strong waves. The waves at high tide break just 6' from the patio. Plenty of beach chairs and several fresh water showers just off the beach. We there there on a Monday night which is called Gringo Night by the employees. It seems the ex-pats move from one hotel bar to
another each night of the week. We watched the sunset from our beach chairs below the action on the balcony right above us but it was pleasantly crowded and lively with a decent steel drum and sax playing until 9. There are many options in Rincon and we were happy with this last minute choice especially compared to the Horned Dorset Prima Vera (Relais & Chateau) for $675 a night. Same beach, same sunset, same bar scene. But there's no privacy on the beach and no shade. Although they do provide a small beach umbrella (no cost). On a beach walk to the north we saw a few hotels that were set back and had some shade and a deeper beach. Swells were very strong with a Championship that weekend that we sadly missed. The day we arrived there were about 250 surfers catching waves off the tip.

Room Tip: Get away from the bar: choose on the south side and the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbecker2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for writing this review about Villa Cofresi. You were here for Gringo Night. Our employees call it like that but the name, and the night (Monday) was the invention of the group of Americans that live in Rincon and the ones with second homes in Rincon during the winter. We love having them and they really have a wonderful time here also. We have lost some of our beach due to hurricanes and global warming, but it comes and goes. Yes, you are right. Our price is very reasonable for what we offer. I will check the mattress in your king size bed. We have real king size beds, no twins together, so it might be the mattress and I will bring it to the attention of the housekeeping department immediately. There are no private beaches in Puerto Rico, they are all public. Thank you for mentioning that we do provide free beach umbrellas for our customers, as well as plenty of beach towels It was great to have you and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
2.2 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
432 reviews
24.4 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
212 reviews
75.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
991 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range: £91 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon
Villa Cofresi Hotel Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing