We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you want to experience the magic of Puerto Rico without the paying the higher prices in San Juan then you should stay at cofressi.I have been going to rincon for a number years.the experience and the beauty blends well with this place.take the word of someone who has been in most of the hotels in Puerto rico,For the price the location and atmosphere you cant beat it.The area around the villa cofresi has a little for everyone,horse back riding on the beach in agudilla,surfing in lajas a great beach on the weekends called crashboat,a casino in mayagues,diving nearby,great food nice people.You can take a 45 min ride to cabo rojo and see gorgeous beaches like buje,combate,and playa sucia,party in the streets of boqueron on the weekends,great food music and dancing,and its safe,also a great time to visit pr I recommend feb,march,april,may. less bugs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tra711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for writing this review about Villa Cofresi, we really appreciate it. It is our pleasure to serve you always and value your patronage. Thank you for referring to us and Puerto Rico as magic. Our beautiful beach and surroundings really help, but it is complemented by our facilities, atmosphere and most important, our service. Yes, there is plenty to do and you mention most of them. We hope to see you again in the very near future. We will continue to do magic for you and all our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This place has the perfect location. Is not a fancy 5 start hotel but is clean and the service is much better than a fancy hotel. The decor is not very modern but I loved that the room was very clean. This is not a boring hotel you will be entertained all day. I loved the location in front of the beach. you will wake up with the sound of the waves :-).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hola. We appreciate very much that you took your time to write a review about your recent visit. You experienced exactly what Villa Cofresi is all about. A family oriented hotel in the perfect location, right on the beach, clean, fun and down to earth. We are very proud that we will be celebrating 50 years in 2015. We hope you can come back to enjoy our celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

So this was my first time traveling as a couple and I wanted a place where the staff was attentive, since who knows what can go wrong. Even as I write this, I know a manager from the hotel will be reading this and replying to it. That is the precise reason I chose this hotel - they care about their customers and take our feedback into consideration.

First thing we did was get the Pirate special when we got there and sprawled out onthe beach. They provide you with room towels (TIP: though you must return them by 8 pm or you pay a small fine) and a beach umbrella. Also, when you leave "do not disturb" on your door, the cleaning staff will leave a bag full of resupplies hanging on your door...how nice! They give you more soap, clean towels, etc.

The complimentary breakfast is very good. Usually they have fruit, waffles, pancakes, bagels, cold cut ham and cheese, a waffle iron you can heat things up with, coffee, 3 types of juice, muffins. They also have a fully functional restaurant so you can order eggs as well. TIP: the coffee cups are kinda small. One recommendation I would make to the hotel: please make the cups larger. There were 2 mornings that the coffee was barely trickling out of the dispenser. Necesito cafe por la manana! Jaja.

The room itself was great. They provided us with a fresh plate of fruit and bottle of delicious Sangria that we took to Boqueron beach with us (highly recommend that beach..about 45 min south of Villa Cofresi). The room gets humid, obviously, since it's right on the beach. But turn on the air conditioning and you'll be okay. The waves crashing at night are very soothing. No elevator, so if you have heavy suitcases they will help you bring them up. Comfortable bed and pillows. TV has all the channels.

For the picky traveler that is looking for a fancy getaway with an absolutely flawless room, this isn't the place for you. If you ARE a couple or family (lots of those as well) looking for a very fun spot right on the beach with great amenities, this is the place for you. Simply put, there is a reason this place has so many reviews and sustains such a good reputation. Muchas gracias and I will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Wow! I am so thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations. Those words are music to any owner or manager's ears! And yes, we do care about your feedback and take action on it. We respect your privacy, for us that is very important so it's nice to know you value our system. Thank you for your suggestion about larger coffee cups. I will bring it to our next meeting. I feel empathy, I also need my café en las mañanas. We hope to see you again with us in the very near future and wish you the best for you and your family. Gracias for writing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect. Is located infront of a gorgeous beach. The beach bar is fabulous. The service at the bar and from employees was great. Awesome drinks and finger foods. The front desk very helpful and friendly. Next there is a shack were you ca rent jet skies, canoes and can practice many other water sports. There are supermarkets and restaurants without walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRL614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

I am glad to hear our facilities worked for you and that you found what you were looking for: a beautiful beach, great service, drinks and food, water sports and supermarkets close by. Thank you so much for writing about us. It's amazing how many people make decisions about vacations based on reviews from Trip Advisor. Yes, it is very subjective, but when there is consistency on what people write about a property, you can't go wrong. We hope you come back to Rincon in the very near future and we are able to serve you in excellence again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were booked for 4 days at this hotel, and ended up staying 2 extra days because of a minor medical emergency. The hotel bent over backward to accommodate us, including finding us a room in San Juan when we lost our original reservation due to the date change. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, and the food in the restaurant was delicious. The location is right on the beach, with amazing sunsets. If you are bothered by noise ask for a room in the south wing. The bar area is open in the center of the hotel and can be noisy at night, but we never heard a sound from our room, and the restaurant is enclosed with glass, and it was quiet as well. It was a lovely visit and I hope to return

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the central area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharonrpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

First of all, we hope you are feeling better after your medical emergency. That is the most important thing. It was our pleasure to have you and we hope you come back very soon. I am glad you are pleased with the way you were treated during your stay. Our staff did little things for you and I see now that you don't consider them small and really made a difference for you. I will extend your gratitude to all staff. Thank you so much for writing about your experience with us. We wish you health and many blessings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Enjoyed our six day stay very much, the staff was always accommodating and very friendly. The room was very nice and we had a beautiful view from our balcony.
The beach is very nice.
The pool was nice, but there was no shade at all, sun umbrellas would be nice.
The breakfast was yummy and we enjoyed sitting outside to eat, however there was a very pungent odor that made it one of the reasons why I could not give it an excellent.
The best dish they severed at the bar and restaurant was the fried fish appetizer, it was yummy!
The thing I enjoyed the most was that the ocean waves can be heard even with the air conditioner on at night. It was so peaceful! We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusyQ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for writing your review about Villa Cofresi. It is always our pleasure to serve you and we hope you come back very soon. For your next visit, please be aware that we do have beach umbrellas, available free of charge for our guests at the front desk. We will find out about the odor that you felt. We were not aware of it.
We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, your room and the view from your room, the ocean waves, our yummy food, our pool, our breakfast and our service. We wish you the best always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our room faced the inner courtyard, bar, ping pong and pool tables. Loud? Yes. Our room was dated and a bit musty too. Bar rocked until 2 am. We went to bed at 10 and it was noisy but not impossible to sleep. It's nice having an outdoor bar at the hotel and Rincon and the area around is so safe! We stayed our first two nights in San Juan on the 18th floor of a high rise hotel and we liked this vibe better. We traveled everywhere and never felt uncomfortable. The staff at Cofresi are great. The time on our two night stay was spent watching surfers at various local beaches north of the hotel during the day, returning at 5 and do cocktails and watch the sunset! It's a big tradition with many, many people coming from all over We would grab dinner at some local place and then return around 10 for a drink by the ocean. The ocean waves literally come right up to the courtyard wall. One night we sat on the beach chairs that sit up against the courtyard wall and had our drinks with the waves gently swirling around us. Would we go there again is my question? Price is good. Energy is good. Right on the water with sounds of waves. It was fine for my husband and me who were up and out the door early and could shut out the late night noise. Great ambience in a facility that doesn't pretend to be more than it is.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runamuk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for writing about your experience at Villa Cofresi Hotel and Restaurant. We hope you enjoyed your vacation in Puerto Rico. You are totally right. We don't pretend to be more than we are. We also hope you got to experience what Puerto Rico is all about and our culture, and our people. Yes, we are very different from a high rise in San Juan. Villa Cofresi is owned by a local family and we don't belong to a big chain, we are independently operated. The most important thing is that our staff treated you right, that you got to experience beautiful sunsets, that the price was reasonable for the offer, that the energy was good. We do have rooms on the very quiet side of the hotel. We would be thrilled if you come back to one of those. Don't question it! We guarantee another great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
24.4 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
431 reviews
106 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
75.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range: £88 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon
Villa Cofresi Hotel Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing