We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great experience!”
Review of Pools Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pools Beach
Ranked #16 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Rincon
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at Pools Beach's LoveShack. We were so pleasantly surprised when we got there. This house is on a little street of several houses and driving down to the house has the most amazing view! The house itself is studio-style but has a full kitchen, a living room area, a table/chairs and bathroom. The best part, however, is the deck. Two hammocks, several chairs, a table, a grill... and the view!
Short drive into town or VERY short walk to a bar/restaurant up the street. Very relaxing place to stay- we'll be booking here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank lulaholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Let me first start by saying if you are doing a Internet search for places to stay in Rincon LOOK NO FURTHER!!!!! "The Love Shack" went above and beyond our expectations. The quaint, well decorated and cozy villa was exactly what my fiancé and I were looking for in terms of a fun, well priced and romantic getaway. It has a full kitchen so we could spend one of our nights cooking in (we made steaks on the grill out on our private deck) we even forgot to pick up salt and pepper at the market so Dennis (the owner) brought us some to borrow. Picture laying on a hammock, listening to music on the iPod dock they supply for you, waves crashing and birds chirping in the background....heaven!! Then waking up in the morning on a comfy bed and looking out ur window...u almost feel as if ur in a tree house surrounded by the lush green forest and gorgeous blue sky's. Sushi at the pool bar was amazing (and the crab wontons, yum!!!) To say this was an amazing stay is an understatement. We will be returning and plan on only staying at Pools Beachs' "Love Shack" -Samantha and Ronnie

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamanthaSantee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Let me start by saying that overall we had a fantastic vacation in Rincon. Pools Beach Cabanas was not a cheap place to stay and we went expecting certain amenities for the price and from the photos it looked very nice. I'll begin with the positives. Pools Beach Cabanas is in a great location; just minutes from town, across the street from the beach and just down the road from some great dining and shopping. We stayed in the lower cabanas, down from the pool. Its decor was very cute. The 'cabana' was spacious, equipped with a kitchenette, modern furnishings, and a nice patio and grill outside. As for the negatives...first off: bugs, several roaches coming in from the laundry room. I understand this is a tropical island but these were very large cockroaches, multiple, without a single roach motel or sign of bug control around. The facility itself was ill-equipped. For the price you would expect at least toilet paper, dish soap, grill utensils for the grill etc. to be provided. What was missing we had to buy which is annoying because when you book a place because it has a kitchen, you don't expect to have to furnish it yourself. There is no stove, only a hot plate which barely got hot enough to cook eggs. Customer service was non-existent, in fact we never saw or talked to anyone who actually ran the place the entire time. Again, for the price, you expect something of a greeting and some pointers on local attractions to see and do. In addition, for an international vacation, you expect a check-in and check-out procedure. The pool was more a separate business than an amenity for hotel guests, which is not explained on the website. If you go expecting to take a dip, also expect to feel very awkward with restaurant goers there to watch and probably get angry that you're splashing them. The staff here at the pool was friendly and helpful though. All that being said, we won't be staying here again on our vacations to PR. There are plenty of other options and good deals to be made. We left feeling refreshed from a great vacation on the island but taken advantage of by our lodgings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

If you like surf this is the place to be. It needs maintenance but overall is really good if you like to feel the adventure. Lugar muy bonito, Los cuatros necesitan mantenimirnto y mejor limpieza, las camas no tienen sabanas. GREAT SUCHI. DELISIOSO SUCHI Y CERVEZAS ARTESANALES.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffolemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

First off, the positive: Pools Beach has a great location across from a surf-able beach, amenities such as pool and restaurant, and overall relaxed vibe. If you have a rowdy crew, no one is going to complain about you being too loud or drunk, for sure. We rented the A-frame which was secluded and spacious. The negative: this hotel is in need of serious TLC. When we arrived at about 4:30 AM (due to our flight time) we found less than 1/2 a roll of toilet paper for 8 adults. This was a cause of great concern and one person even used coffee filters for TP before we raided the restaurant's outhouse the next morning. Additionally there were no sheets for the pull-out bed. In the morning we awoke to the sound of waves breaking, which was awesome, but upon looking around the rooms we wondered if they had even been cleaned before the previous occupant. There were cigarette butts in an ashtray, chewed up gum on a night stand. etc. The kitchen drawers nearly fell out when we tried to open them, and the screen door in the loft kept falling out of the frame. The first person to take a shower thought they were crazy when an electrical current was felt while adjusting the water temperature... but this feature was later confirmed by all guests. Scary and dangerous! It was confusing who to ask for help/service as the pool bar and restaurant are run separately from the hotel and management is essentially non-existent. The woman we booked the room with was away and her husband and daughter were hard to come by. When we did find the husband or daughter, they were definitely enjoying themselves at the bar and our requests were obviously not urgent to them! We purchased our own TP and after a few days of exploring, we found the pull-out bed sheets in a dryer. We ate at the sushi bar one night and enjoyed it, although the Tuna didn't taste as fresh as we were used to. The pool/bar is quite the hot spot after dark and the music (live recordings of Classic Rock repeated nightly) can be heard at full blast until at least 2 AM. One downfall of a sushi bar being at the pool is that if you choose to go swimming, you end up performing a dinner show for all the guests of the restaurant. Check in/out is non-existent so we sought out the owner to settle our balance on the last night. Upon voicing our concerns, we were given a $150 discount, which was fair. Overall, we had a great time at Pools Beach cabanas, were able to laugh off the inconveniences of the place and the discount made it easier to swallow. If we had been traveling with children, we probably would have left. Hopefully the owners can fix this place up a little - it wouldn't take much at all - because it really is a diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milesandcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My husband, my 8 year old and I stayed for two wonderful nights in "The Love Shack".. which was like staying in a big private treehouse with panaromic views of the ocean. (please check out my photos!) Its just a short drive up the hill from the rest of the resort...it is also possible to walk. There is a huge veranda with hammocks and just a great place to watch the sunset. The owner Dennis was welcoming and warm and gave my husband good advice on the various surf spots ...the waves were unbelievably large for the time of year- great for the hubby however the shore break was minimal and my son was able to enjoy the water as well. Rincon is a beautiful town in which I see us returning to as soon as possible!! I definately recommend Pools Beach Cabanas..you can't go wrong..great location and the food in their restuarant was some of the best sushi we've ever had! We spent the day at pools beach located just across the street from the main resort, which has a pool and great to rinse off after a day at the beach.

Room Tip: The love shack.... it is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkrhiannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

My husband and I took our 13 and 4 yr old and had a wonderful relaxing time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
801 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
3.1 mi away
Rincon Inn
Rincon Inn
#18 of 19 in Rincon
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
430 reviews
3.2 mi away
Coconut Palms Inn
Coconut Palms Inn
#4 of 19 in Rincon
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pools Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pools Beach

Address: Box 4287 HC 1, Rincon 00677-8729, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Rincon
Price Range: £76 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Pools Beach Hotel Rincon
Pools Beach Puerto Rico/Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing