We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding location, outstanding service, food... meh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ode to the Elephants - CLOSED

Ode to the Elephants
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Ode to the Elephants offers authentic Thai flavors prepared by Chef Kevin Ngowusan. The restaurant overlooks Sandy Beach in Barrio Puntas, Rincon. A definite MUST dining experience in Puerto Rico.
NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, outstanding service, food... meh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was so immediately enamored of the place that I was hoping to go there every night. The location was incredible; the view was amazing. The wait staff was highly professional and really personable (perhaps the best in Rincon). But if you know Thai food, the quality really fell short.

Imo, if Ode could steal the chef from La Copa Llena (which is also in town), then the line at Ode would be out the door.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snuffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    77
    22
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVED THE FOOOD, but… the power went out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The food at this restaurant was quite delicious. I was so excited to get Thai food in Puerto Rico! However, My husband and I were a little disappointed when the power went out and they had to close down the place early. We didn't get to have dessert because, by that time, they had already packed up the kitchen. Eating by candle light by kind of romantic though!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morgan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely delicious food with the best environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I had to try this restaurant so many people had spoken to me about! Upon arriving the staff was so kind and really helpful with giving wonderful suggestions! The martinis are absolutely so delicious. The food could not have been more perfect, the serving size was right on. I cannot say enough positive things about this restaurant and the wonderful staff. i will be going back and can't wait to have another martini!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmy0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was a new place for us on this trip. It is tucked away but once you climb a few flight of stairs, the view is amazing. Too add to that the food is unbelievable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best martinis in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Sweet little place in Rincon situated at the top of a hill. Arrive before dark to really take advantage of the awesome view. Indoor & outdoor seating, simple Thai menu with reasonable prices, excellent martinis (some for $5), and a friendly, helpful staff. I have to eat gluten free and someone from the kitchen staff came out to talk to me about options that were safe for me, it is extremely rare for that to happen at a restaurant but very much appreciated. Overall a great find. Try the mandarin martini, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bare_soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ode to the Elephants also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing